×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Assassin King (Symphony of Ages Series #6)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Assassin King (Symphony of Ages Series #6)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Assassin King (Symphony of Ages Series #6)
     

The Assassin King (Symphony of Ages Series #6)

4.2 33
by Elizabeth Haydon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Praise for The Symphony of Ages:

Elegy for a Lost Star
*"Unlike most middle books of fantasy trilogies, Haydon's dazzling second volume of the second trio of her bestselling Symphony of the Ages series (Rhapsody: Child of Blood, etc.) inspires and thrills all on its own. The ominous rumble of the scheming intensifies in a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Assassin King (Symphony of Ages Series #6) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series, but unfinished. As of 2006, no information or anything about the next book is to be found anywhere. She dropped this series and moved onto a childrens series. As far as I'm concerned all her Symphony of Ages books should be pulled off the shelves. Its unfair to her readers. I would have never spent the money knowing it wouldn't be finished. I don't recommend any of these books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As another reader reported, I should have waited for the paperback. Nothing but talk, nothing settled, just set us up to buy the next book. Mitch Goldman Chicago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed. At least a fourth of this book is explaining the past books,so it can be incredibly boring if you have read the books before. The rest of the book was good,but not extraordinary. My only regrets other than the lost time was that I wish I had bought it as a paperback and I wish it was longer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the things that separates Elizabeth Haydon from every other fantasy writer out there is her attention to the intimate. I don't just mean details Robert Jordan can write three hundred pages about the color the sky. But Haydon has the ability to take events that span worlds, nations, and millennia, and make them personal. Even the thugs who serve to show what sort of abuse a new character endures are interesting and believable. This book is so refreshing. I've missed Achmed, Rhapsody and Grunthor as well as the rest of the gang so much! There is a return to the brilliant dialog that seems like you really could hear it in a tavern or if you were listening in on a conversation, without the nonsense usually fabricated in the genre. I love the rise of the new and familiar secondary characters, especially Melisande Navarn, and the interaction between the Patriarch, a former gladiator, and Anborn, who has always been my favorite character. I can't wait to see how this saga unfolds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The next book in the series comes out this year, 2014, so don't give up hope yet!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the series and am patiently waiting for the next book.   I  reread them at least once a year and will continue to do so.  Hopefully Elizabeth Haydon will finish the next installment of this wonderful series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth Haydons writing is genius! Complex, without being so complicated you get lost..full of action, adventure, heartache and romance..just a great fantasy series...i was sad when year after year she still hadn't released a new book in this series & had left her fans hanging for so long, but am ecstatic now that I've heard the next book in this series will be released in July!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this series and I understand that writing is all about what inspires you and gets your creative juices flowing but after 4+ yrs of waiting for your next book in this series.....youve lost me Ms. HAYDEN
aline83 More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of this series but not of this book. It was not near as good as the others. The other books in this series were fantastic. I would recommend!
luvnature98 More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent book along with the preceding books in the series. It sort of reminds me of Lord of the Rings with all the battles and the good vs evil scenario. I highly recommend it if you are into the fantasy genre.
Queenofbooks2010 More than 1 year ago
I liked this book alot but it did not go far enough into what was going on with the war in the mountains. I have waited for three years and still no new book is out yet, COME ON ALREADY!!! I really love this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wasn't as impressed w/ this one as others. She seemed to change her writing style until that last 100 pages or so which I didn't like. Need to read it to find out what happened though. Love the series, just not so much this book
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started reading teh first book, Rhapsody, last summer vacation and had finished it by the next morning. Elizabeth Haydon is my favorite author. If you've jsut started reading her books I'd suggest reading them in order. The serie's goes Rhapsody, Prophecy, Destiny, Requiem for the Sun and Elegy for a Lost Star. The first three are my favorite. I like the second two also, of course, but I liked the fourth one a little better than the fifth. I can't wait for The Assassin King and I asked my dad to preorder so I could read it as soon as it came out.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The death of Llauron has shook up more than just his dragon kin as the ancient wyrms know it impacts all species by leaving a void in protecting the earth. Dragons hold a rite of passage for Llauron and convene a meeting at the site of his horrific death to determine what to do. At about the same time, the F¿dor demons are resurfacing spreading their evil wherever they walk amongst humans. Talquist thinks the time is right for him to invade the northern lands so his realm can grow. Alliances are forming between the demons and the humans though neither side trusts the other especially once the conquest is complete. Rhapsody realizes her beloved Middle Kingdom people are in danger with the death of her dragon ¿father-in-law¿, from the demons and the southern armies. She and her spouse Ashe begin countermeasures as war is imminent by calling upon their allies of yore Grunthor and Achmed for help at a time her ¿mother-in-law' Anwyn the dragon wants her dead. --- THE ASSASSIN KING is a well written epic fantasy, but slower than the previous Symphony of Ages tales as much of the early pages recounts what has passed in other novels or the various sides preparing for war. The story line is character driven as the Anwyn, the F¿dor, Talquist, and Rhapsody know a confrontation is coming soon. Newcomers should obtain the previous tales (at least the last one - ELEGY FOR A LOST STAR), which is an interesting look at a fantasy war mostly from the preparation stages preceding the combat. Elizabeth Haydon is a master fantasist. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked this series up when it first came out. I read each book and just waited for the next one in the series to come out. They are wonderful mini masterpieces. Anyone into fantasy, and odd worlds.must read this series.
Khaavren More than 1 year ago
Awesome series. Have been waiting 7 years for a new one, and finally... a book for middle schoolers. What?! What about your faithful fans, Elizabeth? I can't believe you'd leave us hanging. Please, please finish this series. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago