×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Associate
     

The Associate

4.5 19
by Phillip Margolin
 

See All Formats & Editions

A poster boy for the American Dream, former blue-collar kid turned high-powered lawyer Daniel Ames is on easy street as an associate at Reed, Briggs, Portland's most prestigious law firm—until one man . . . and one case . . . change everything.

When a charismatic lawyer sues the firm's biggest client, a pharmaceutical company, for manufacturing a drug that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Associate 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
twiggyann More than 1 year ago
The story had enough twists that I never quite knew the solution to the mystery ahead of time. I first read one of Margolin's books when I downloaded it free. What a great way to hook a new reader. Off to purchase book 3 of his.
mktgyr More than 1 year ago
This is a really intriguing book. I found myself not wanting to put it down. I have read at least 4 other Phillip Margolin books. His books are always intriguing, suspenseful and can't put them down GOOD!! You will not be disappointed. There are Characters in his books that go from one book to the next. The continuation is very nice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not a great reader, I've only started enjoying books in the past year or so. So I'm not the best person to tell you what to read. All I know is that this book really grabbed my interest, And it helped me to really start enjoying reading again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!! THE TWIST AND TURNS IN THIS BOOK HAS YOU SITTING ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT-A DEFINITE CAN'T PUT DOWN BOOK!!!!!
BJ60 More than 1 year ago
This was my second read by this author. I was looking for something new and different. I was please with the storyline and the characters. I will continue to read his books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Good Story Line! Lots of interesting twists. My only advice is not to start reading this book at night if you have to go to work in the morning like I did.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the associate in less than 6 hours.. and all I can say is WOW!!!! Many twists and turns and definetely worth the money.. Looking forward to many more great reads!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Daniel Ames has a great job at Reed, Briggs-one of Portland¿s most prestigious firms, making more money than he ever could have imagined, but all that is about to change. Aaron Flynn enters Daniel¿s office and presents him with a suit being filed against Reed¿s biggest client, Geller Pharmaceuticals. The suit is naming Geller as the sole party responsible for manufacturing a drug that is causing birth defects in newborn babies. Daniel doesn¿t believe there is any merit to the allegation, so he begins an investigation, what he finds will shock him! Shortly after Daniel stumbles upon evidence of murder, and a cover-up involving Geller, he is fired from his job, and blacklisted from the law community. Several hours after being fired, Arthur Briggs, the man that did the firing, is dead, and Daniel ends up arrested. With the help of Kate Ross, and Amanda Jaffe (the star of `Wild Justice¿), Daniel races to clear his name, and in the process will uncover a trail of secrets that lead to a series of unsolved kidnappings from seven years earlier, secrets that someone is willing to kill to keep from being found out. `The Associate¿ is another UP-ALL-NIGHT-READ from suspense master Phillip Margolin. From page one, the carefully constructed plot grabs the reader by the throat and doesn¿t let go. Combining explosive legal thrills, cutting edge medical science, and heart stopping suspense `The Associate¿ achieves it¿s goal of being a scary, pulse quickening, entertaining read that will fly up the bestseller list¿s. After seven blockbuster bestsellers, Phillip Margolin has done it again¿he made this reviewer lose a night¿s sleep. A MUST read! Nick Gonnella
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not his best book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
With the help of her dying father, Ashley Spencer manages to escape from the man who invaded her home and killed Norman Spencer and her best friend, Tanya Jones. The police believe that it is the work of a serial killer, whose modus operandi is to enter the homes of families with teenaged daughters, where they are tortured and slaughtered before he ventures on into the kitchen for a midnight snack. But when the killer shows up at Ashley¿s new school, a private academy miles away from her hometown, Ashley knows that what happened in her home was not random. The murderer is determined to destroy Ashley and the worst part of it is that she doesn¿t know who she has to run from and why she needs to hide. The story jumps to five years later, when Ashley is forced to come out of hiding to return to Oregon with a truth that will shock those involved ¿ and place her in a vulnerable position where the killer is likely to strike. Philip Margolin conjures a tour de force of character and plot guaranteed to make you squirm in your seat ( or in your bed) as you race through the pages. Readers may have their suspicions as they are introduced to a myriad of characters the rich and powerful Van Meters, the has-been writer Joshua Maxfield who is in need of a new best seller, the unruly Randy Coleman who feeds on his wife, Casey Van Meter¿s wealth, and the attentive as well as attractive lawyer, Jerry Phillips, who captures the heroine¿s heart. But Margolin cleverly depicts these fictitious players, making them out to be believable and misleading, and readers will have to bite their nails to refrain themselves from yanking on the last page. This offering is guaranteed to bring you to an ending that is unexpected, leaving you with the fear that evil can lurk behind a compassionate and kindly demeanour.