×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Atkins for Life: The Complete Controlled Carb Program for Permanent Weight Loss and Good Health
  • Alternative view 1 of Atkins for Life: The Complete Controlled Carb Program for Permanent Weight Loss and Good Health
  • Alternative view 2 of Atkins for Life: The Complete Controlled Carb Program for Permanent Weight Loss and Good Health
     

Atkins for Life: The Complete Controlled Carb Program for Permanent Weight Loss and Good Health

4.0 39
by Robert C. Atkins
 

See All Formats & Editions

Taking it to the Next Level

Whether you've lost weight doing Atkins and want to make your success permanent or you're new to Atkins and are concerned about your health and weight control, Atkins for Life is for you. Filled with advice and tips on navigating the everyday challenges that come with eating low carb in a high carb world, the book provides a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Atkins for Life 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have not read the book listed with this review, as yet, but have been on the Atkins diet for 10 months. I have lost 53 pounds and have never felt better. My health is great, including my blood levels, heart, and the rest of me. I plan on staying on this diet for life, as I have tried every other diet imaginable. I am 66 years old and have never felt or looked better. Thanks Dr. Atkins.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started the Atkins diet in February of 2003. In six months, I lost 64 pounds. I have managed to stay at this weight for the past year without any weight gain, or without feeling food deprived. I will follow Atkins for Life from now on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Greatly reduced fat levels and vastly improved cholesterol levels, and all based on a commonsense understanding of the insulin cycle? What more needs to be said? There are individual anamolies, but none of Dr. Atkins' tens of thousands of successful patients has exhibited any of the dire symptoms so warned about by "experts". They say he can't be trusted because there isn't volumes of research to back him up, but the same is true of their warnings, which they pull out of thin air: "it must be dangerous because (your reason here)". His biggest detractors have been an entrenched US medical establishment and the American people themselves, long inculcated to believe the scientifically groundless theory of "low-fat", which thirty years of research has failed to support. Since low-fat started being preached, bad health has only grown to epidemic proportions. I gained 20+ pounds on a low-fat diet, and when I switched to low-carb, it all went away in a matter of DAYS. Don't tell me he's a quack -- that title now belongs to anyone still preaching low-fat. You don't have to be a radical no-carber like Atkins, but at least you will recognize the true culprit. Atkins has hit the nail on the head of the entire 20th century-spectrum of diseases: weight gain, hypertension, heart disease and diabetes have been caused by excess dietary carbohydrates, not fat.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been on the Atkins diet twice. I was a bad boy after the first time and gained everything back. However, that was my own fault for not following the diet for life method, documented in Atkins' earlier book. I'm back on it again. Lost 10 kilo (22 pounds) in 10 weeks. As was last time, my bloodtest results are the envy of everyone I know on a "more balanced diet". All of the doctors I know are beginning to highly recommend the Atkins Diet. Heck! Some of them are on the diet themselves! Atkins' biggest foes are the nutritionists. They keep parroting the same objections over and over in spite of contrary evidence. Yes, there are precautions. I pop various vitamins after breakfast and dinner. Drink a ton of liquids. Don't eat only red meat - you may get gout. If you're on constant medication or have existing serious health problems, consult your doctor or specialist first. Other than that, whoop it up! I will add that exercising regularly much improves losing weight. DUH! Well, just telling you couch potatoes - er - butterbars out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book from the perspective of wanting to lose weight and learn more about low-carb living. I thought that this book was not a good choice for someone wanting an introduction to Atkins. This book approached the topic as though you already had some knowledge and in fact were already on the diet. This book focuses on staying on Atkins as a lifestyle. Even as I decided to eat less carbs, I didn¿t find the recipes in this book especially helpful as they were not something that I would want to cook.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book as a person wanting to lose weight and learn more about low-carb living. I thought that this book was not a good choice for someone wanting an introduction to Atkins. This book approached the topic as though you already had some knowledge and in fact were already on the diet. This book focuses on staying on Atkins as a lifestyle. Even as I decided to eat less carbs, I didn¿t find the recipes especially helpful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A down-to-earth weight loss lifestyle that works. With sensible moderation at the core of his philosophy, Atkins has helped many lose weight and keep it off.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have dieted all of my life and never before found anything that I could follow and stay with for an extended time period. I have lost approx 40lbs since Jan and love it.