×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Atrocity Archives (Laundry Files Series #1)
     

The Atrocity Archives (Laundry Files Series #1)

4.3 71
by Charles Stross
 

See All Formats & Editions

Bob Howard is a computer-hacker desk jockey, who has more than enough trouble keeping up with the endless paperwork he has to do on a daily basis. He should never be called on to do anything remotely heroic. But for some reason, he is.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Atrocity Archives (Laundry Files Series) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 71 reviews.
Quincy More than 1 year ago
For those that enjoy dark fantasy but have gotten overwhelmed by all of recent entries to the field. This book provides for a fresh view story that draws upon such authors as Lovecraft, Butcher, and Green. The author faithfully represents "real" spy work as being full of government forms and office politics that make actual hazards seem like relief. Combining a story line part Bond and part Cthulhu the characters are as deep as Butcher's with the action and pace of Green's Drood and Nightside series. I would recommend this for anyone that is looking for something out of the norm but extremely entertaining.
harstan More than 1 year ago
'The Atrocity Archive'. .The mission of the ultra top secret British espionage agency the Laundry is to defend the crown against occult attacks. The agency employs a variety of employees, but perhaps at the lowest rung is Bob, a computer repairman. However, Bob stops what could have been a nasty incident occurring during a demonstration. His reward is a leap into the cold to save the world from devastation from beyond that plans to snack on the universe once this essence pierces the once thought of impregnable barrier.----- 'The Concrete Jungle'. The country starting with the Laundry is in trouble as some big shot plans to change agents into zombies so that he can take over the country and ultimately the world. Only Agent Bob and local police officer Josephine stand in the way of stopping the zombie attack, but first he must explain why he failed to follow standard operating procedures when he called for backup during a deadly confrontation in which he failed to fill out the proper form and going through the chain of command. Saving the world does not stop a written reprimand and counseling as follow the rules not logic prevails.-------- Taking Get Smart into a technological paranormal world is what the novel (The Atrocity Archives) and the novella (The Concrete Jungle) is all about as Bob battles supernatural combatants and the bureaucracy with differing but always humorous results. Both tales are satirical fun as the espionage thriller goes through the rinse cycle as only officious government regulations would expect. Charles Stross writes a wild zany pair of occult spy escapades.------- Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
While this book contains some over the top 'Dilbert-esque' office politics - a lot of the idiocy rings true to life. While this book *is* very funny, it also contains a lot of cool ideas, and is much more than just a spoof. The main character is smarter than he should be, and starts to realize that he is in a purposefully dead-end job. As the story progresses, you realize this is true. It is easier for the government to employ (and dead-end) smart people with 'dangerous' ideas than it is to control the spread of those ideas. This is an overlooked book and a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. It took a lot of the old Lovecraftian horror genre and updated it to modern prose, then added a heavy dose of spy novel. Light hearted one moment and extremely serious the next, it was a very easy and fun read.
starmatrix More than 1 year ago
Combines espionage, bureaucratic comedy and otherworldly horror in a wonderfully entertaining way. Len Deighton and H. P. Lovecraft meet Dilbert!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an entertaining read, and involves Nazis, computer hackers, and the Great Old Ones! It's vastly amusing, and the brain-eaters and modernized magic make it even more so. Perfect for a cold, rainy night... The only problem is, it's a bit anticlimatic. But it's worth a read for the scenario alone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I look forward to the next novel in this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating concept for a series. Not usually what I like, but this was excellent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
oshvat More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Charles Stross for a while but when I first tried this book I made it through The Atrocity Archives story and never read the rest, and put my hardcover away. Wow was that a mistake, when I started reading and loving The Rook and kept seeing in the reviews Stross's books keep coming up I thought I would retry them and was delighted that I did. Some of the most fun reading I have done this year. Based on different spy writers and adding Cthulhu is one of the best things that could have been done. If you are fans of either of these genres you need to give these books a try. With the added comedy of did the paper pushers constantly coming after you not for any killing or country saving you might have done but about not filling out the proper paper work. You just know that is where all the problems would come from. Great book, and the start of a great series, I have the Fuller Memorandum left to read before the new book comes out this summer and can not wait. From reading Charles's Blog I know this is his favorite series of books and can not wait for more. If you like spies Cthulhu and some comedy in a wacky mix this will be a god read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago