×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Audrey, Wait!
     

Audrey, Wait!

4.5 109
by Robin Benway
 

See All Formats & Editions

The wait is over for the paperback of this irresistible, fast-paced, hit-worthy debut!

When funny, charming, absolutely-normal Audrey Cuttler dumps her boyfriend Evan, he writes a song about her that becomes a number-one hit?and rockets Audrey to stardom!

Suddenly, tabloid paparazzi are on her tail and Audrey can barely hang with her friends at concerts or the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Audrey, Wait! 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 109 reviews.
GirlyBookWormKW More than 1 year ago
This is such a great book, i will be honest i started reading it and i got bored and it took me a year to try again and i got hooked! I can't believe it took me a year to sit down and read this, it is one of the best books i have ever read. I can relate to the characters cause  it is so real-life. It made me laugh, and even tear up, you will not regret this book, it is a GREAT read!
bGrEEnGaL5 More than 1 year ago
Benway really pulled me into the novel with exceptional, real-life characters and a great plot.  I laughed and teared up while reading this novel and this is a  great summer read or just something you want to read when looking for  teen fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hilarious! I read this in two days. I couldn't put it down! It's great for teen girls!
lovepassionbooks More than 1 year ago
First of all I want to tell everyone how much I loved this book! See my husband and I love music. We listen to more music throughout the day then anything. I do the weekly meme Tune in Tuesday from Ginger at GReads, and I also have my own weekly post called Glee song of the week....yes I am a gleek and I am proud of it. :) So when a fellow blogger told me about this great book that was about a fictional character that is a music buff, I was like...OH MY I HAVE TO READ IT!!! Then I got it for a bargain! You can't beat that?! So I gave it a chance and oh my was it worth it! You meet Audrey who is your typically average teenager. She wants to go have fun, see her friends, and enjoy life. But that can't happen. See Audrey was dating this guy and he was in this band. And on the day of a really big concert of his she breaks up with him. To get back at her, he writes a song called Audrey, Wait! It is about there break up. She doesn't even know how to take it. He life starts turning up side down while still being a teenager in high school. This is probably one of the best books I have read in a really long time. It had everything that you need in a book. Swoon, comedy, fighting, and some suspense. Well you want to know what it going to happen to her next.....lol This book is defiantly a book that I would recommend to any music buff that has a great sense of humor.
Love_makeup_and_reading More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. I bought this book on a whim because it had such great reviews on the back, I could not find on the front or back of the book a story plot summary. I was so pleased with how good the book was and wanted to read more. Audery is a sassy main character with a funny best friend, and cute boy in her life. I can't wait for Robin Benway to realse another awsome book.
CASTROCE More than 1 year ago
The hilarious novel Audrey, Wait! is a perfect choice for those mature adolescents who love and crave music and high school drama! When Audrey's newly ex-boyfriend writes a song about her, he AND Audrey both become the new celebrities in first their town, then the state and later the nation! Poor Audrey can not even turn on the radio without hearing "Audrey, Wait!" Concerts become crazy parties where paparazzi hide in bushes and school becomes a photo-shoot where everyone is trying to sneak a peek and pic of Audrey and sell it to tabloids! This novel is about teens adjusting to the crazy lives they live and finding who their true friends are. Will they still be your friend after you are known nationally for breaking a rock star's heart? I really like how Robin Benway keeps the lingo recent and helps the younger adolescent audience stay connected. All teenage girls can relate to the "evil girl at school who tires to steal your boyfriends!" However the text does have a downfall. There is more cursing and swearing than I think is appropriate for a book that is available to younger audiences. Not all teenagers can handle the references to sex, partying and cursing without reacting in an immature manner or without becoming offended. Teens should read this because it helps them to try and find the true friends in life who are going to last and will be your friend when you are just yourself, not famous. Overall rating: Is infinite stars an option?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So, after browsing at my local book store, I finally found a suitable book to read. I am very much into Chic-Lit, my new fav genre, and this defiantly takes the cake and moved into my top five favorite books. I finished this book within three days. I usually read a book in one to two days so it was a little unusual. I read some other reviews and they mentioned that it went slower for them too. The plot is thrilling and unexpected, a twist in every scene. I thought it was also unpredictable which made the book somewhat mysterious. I reccomend this book to anyone who wants a good, easy book to read. The main character, Audrey was very edgy and was very unique. She is herself the whole time, not trying to be fake and (SPOILER ALERT) when she did the interview with Evan on MTV, it took a lot of courage for her to come out like she did on live television. I know she is a fictional character, but after reading the author's blog, I applaud the meaning behind the teenage theme of the book. I also just wanted to mention that this girl on youtube, imabookworm13, said she was going to do a review on the book. She's done many reviews so if your looking for some more good chic-lit, check her out.
Sam Devptta More than 1 year ago
Find this review and many others on idobi.com! “You have to turn it up so that your chest shakes and the drums get in between your ribs like a heartbeat and the bass goes up your spine and frizzles your brain and all you can do is dance or spin in a circle or just scream along because you know that however this music makes you feel, it’s exactly right.” Basically: Audrey’s break up with Evan leads to an international hit song and the inability to leave her house without being chased by rabid fans. Robin Benway’s debut novel is a classic Taylor Swift song from the ex’s point of view. As music lovers, we’ve all wanted it at some point: to fall in love with a musician and have them write a song in our honour. Usually, though, we imagine the lyrics as eloquent testimonials to our very best qualities and absolutely not a song about how we screwed them over. That’s what happens to Audrey. She breaks up with Evan, he writes a song, and a few months later, it’s a number one Billboard hit. Worse, Evan’s new fanbase is obsessed with her, shining the spotlight on a reluctant Audrey who’s trying to stay sane in between making out with rockstars and studying for the SATs. Benway’s writing and realistic characters pull us into Audrey’s world like a whirling circle pit. Aud’s BFF Victoria is loyal and funny and the coolest girl in any room. Theirs is a beautiful friendship based on music, sarcasm, and unconditional love even when one—or both—of them are being unreasonable. Another standout character, apart from our music-obsessed protagonist herself, is Audrey’s mixtape-making (can we bring that tradition back, please?) potential love interest James. The epitome of the sweetheart boy-next-door, he works in an ice cream shop, which is reason enough to root for him because, hello, free ice cream. And did we mention the mixtape with the personalized case? Swoon! Descriptions of concerts feel like home and Audrey’s experience makes you wonder if the pros of dating a musician really outweigh the cons (Pro: backstage access. Con: tabloids, paparazzi, lack of privacy…). Each chapter starts with relevant lyrics from some of our favourite bands: Taking Back Sunday, The Academy Is…, Jack’s Mannequin, Anberlin, etc; it’s the bookish equivalent to a solid playlist. In the end: Read it! Like a catchy teaser for a new album, you’ll be equal parts exhilarated by what you have and anxious for more material.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Robin never fails to surprise me wth her witty jokes. This book was all in the right places with the romance and humor and drama. However, this book did seem a little hectic to me and out of place. There was so much going on it was a little hard to follow and understand. Personally, there was too much of the girl drama for me with the mean girl, the ex, the best friend, and the fights. Otherwise, a pretty good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Audrey, in the first chapter, finds herself the center of attention because of a song her ex-boyfriend wrote about her after she broke up with him. The song is called "Audrey, Wait!" the last two words he told her before she ran out of his house after breaking up with him. Audrey isn't just horrified of the publicity, but also annoyed that Evan would be so open about their relationship. Her friends calm her down because the song will fade away by itself. No one imagined that the song would bring Evan's band to stardom, topping the music singles charts in the US AND UK. Not only does Evan's band shoot to stardom but Audrey seems to forcefully get strapped along for the ride. Everyone wants to know who Audrey is. She started getting calls from all the major news agencies, magazines, newspapers, and even from sponsors and tv stations. To say it simply, Audrey has become a celebrity. This novel is about Audrey's struggle in the unwanted spotlight as well as trying to find her place and figuring out a way to live with all this publicity. I really loved Audrey's voice, she spoke to us directly. She was also very independent, vocal, and always spoke her mind. Her conversations and encounters with her parents as well as her humungous cat were very humorous. The new love interest (yes, Evan starts touring in Tokyo and all over so we don't see him) was cute, but again, he didn't leave a big impression on me. I have to say, with my super high expectations for this novel, I was glad that I enjoyed it in the end. Yes, I didn't love it, but it was very entertaining. For fans of: Meg Cabot's How to be Popular & Teen Idol and Lauren Conrad's L.A. Candy trilogy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you see this, go to "wait audrey" second result
wordforteens More than 1 year ago
My summary made the book sound a lot more serious than it actually is. <i>Audrey, Wait!</i> was definitely a fun, fast read that had me laughing out loud at parts and wincing in others. It's honest - you feel like you're there with Audrey, experiencing what she's going through and every annoying, funny, or twisted thing that's happening to her.What I like about Audrey and all of the characters were that they were fleshed out. Not one character fell flat - there was more to each of them than what you first glimpse, and they all have their flaws. Nobody's perfect, but they're all damned fun to read about.
Allison9516 More than 1 year ago
I remember reading this book a while ago. Audrey breaks up with her rocker boyfriend who then writes a break up song that becomes really popular. She has to deal with the unwanted attention and fame. The character is like a real teen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I defnitely reccommend this for anyone- someone who loves or hates reading. Audrey is a normal teenage girl who breaks up with her boyfriend- until he writes a song about her that becomes famous. Audrey is reluctantly thrown into the spotlight and deals with friends, new boyfriends, rock stars, and her very fat cat. Her voice was genuine and sounded like a real teenager. She seems like someone I would want to be friends with, which I like about a character. She's obsessed with music like me, and her favorite thing to do is listen to mix CDs with her best friend, which shows how normal she is. I definitely think you should read this book!
SunnyCali More than 1 year ago
I've related to all the characters its scary! I liked how there weren't alot of details to explain a point. Even though its your average Girl meets Boy, Girl breaks up with Boy, Boy writes breakup song,(Which all happens in the first chapter) its way more than that.I dont know why anyone would rate this one star! If I set down the book it made me crazy thinking about what would happen next because its easy to picture each scene in your head. If my review doesnt help then read the back cover of it,The whole back is full of reviews the the L.A. Times to famous authors!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago