×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

August: Osage County
  • Alternative view 1 of August: Osage County
  • Alternative view 2 of August: Osage County
     

August: Osage County

4.0 34
by Tracy Letts
 

See All Formats & Editions

One of the most bracing and critically acclaimed plays in recent Broadway history, August: Osage County a portrait of the dysfunctional American family at its finest—and absolute worst. When the patriarch of the Weston clan disappears one hot summer night, the family reunites at the Oklahoma homestead, where long-held secrets are unflinchingly and uproariously

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

August: Osage County 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
pbekkerus More than 1 year ago
I saw this play performed in Des Moines, Iowa; I thought it was hilarious. But I also knew there was a deeper layer, too, so I bought this script. This story captures life in modern day rural America. It tackles issues like suicide, drug use, sexual harrassment, divorce and-most importantly-caring for members of "the Greatest Generation." The characters are educated but honest; loveable but flawed; humorous but grave. The distance between the generations are apparent, and handled realistically but also with social comment. If you get a chance to see the play, don't miss it! If you can't see it, read the play slowly, there are multiple layers of beauty woven into this Pulitzer Prize-winning play. The course language and adult themes are not for the feint of heart, and it is not appropriate for children or (IMHO) kids under 14.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not review before ordering. Did not realize it was a play. A waste of money for me. Very disapointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tracy Letts' 2008 Pulitzer Prize-winning play is a triumph, and one that certainly stands with O'Neill, Williams, and Albee for its relentless and unflinching treatment of family secrets, resentments, & retaliations. The dialogue is brilliant and the biting humor is not to be missed. This is an essential for lovers of theater and literature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was expecting to read a book, not a play.
thedramagirl More than 1 year ago
Tracy Letts weaves a twisted tale, indeed. This black comedy (with a running time of 3 hr. 20 min) is quite possibly the best piece of dramatic literature I have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked the content of the movie, however thought the ending was odd and abrupt. Wanted to purchase the book, so glad I read reviews first, and find its not a novel but formatted as a play. Will not purchase for this reason.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't know it was written in play form. The characters were a bunch of oddballs but that's what most families are made up of!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a recent play with very interesting characters to play with for Michael Chekhov work. There are many great monologues in it as well. It is indeed a dramatic play with comedic elements. It can be scary admitting you know people like the characters in this play.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did not know this was in playwright format so read the first 5 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When i read it as i think of a book but the play turn into the movie as i ead the play ad i read like a movie and get a picture in yor mind