×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Awake
     

Awake

4.4 9
by Dream Theater
 

See All Formats & Editions

Dream Theater's third studio release, Awake, marks a definite change in the band's tone. From the moment the guitars enter on "6:00," the first track, a darker sound is immediately evident, and it continues through the entire 75 minutes of the disc. The complex song structures, marked by arrangements that would give many good players fits

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Awake 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
OozlakSwarky More than 1 year ago
Every single song on "Awake" makes me feel as though I'm drifting off into a dream. I find myself listening this album so constantly, it almost worries me. Dream Theater's music is always partially complex and jaw-dropping and partially relaxing and sweet, and this is no exception. In my opinion, this is their best album.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Awake, is an excellent album. It isn't too much like their second studio album, Images And Words. This album is full of different style. It is very interesting. Of course, there are some songs like Caught in a Web which sounds like Helloween and the Silent Man which sounds like Led Zeppelin III but the rest of the songs are very rock but still their own. I recommend to listen tracks Caught in a Web, Innoncence Faded and "hard rock songs" the mirror, lie, 6:00 and scarred. They rule!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Awake was realeased in 1994, the next one in line after the impeccable Images and Words (1992). The expectations were sky high, and this five-member band did live up to them ... it turned out to be a fantastic album! The songs have a rich blend of metal and progressive genres. The title track 6:00 opens with a solo from Portnoy, and goes on to grow heavy with Petrucci using a seven-string guitar. If you have never heard them before, try this and I am sure you'll instantly fall in love with this dream wanting to experience it over and over again. Caught in a Web, Innocence Faded, Scarred and Lie (released with video) come as pretty neat numbers. Erotomania is a breathtaking instrumental clearly defining the prowess of these musicians. However, my personal favorites is Voices, which has melodiously depressing lyrics finely executed by James LaBrie, and tends to get very touchy. A must buy for all progressive lovers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album is perfect in every way!!! Voices is probably their best song ever. The time changes and variety of styles on this album make it very amazing and hard to beat. I can never listen to this one too often!!! This could be the best progressive metal disc ever made.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago