×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress Series #1)
     

Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress Series #1)

4.0 253
by Gena Showalter
 

See All Formats & Editions

RIDDING THE WORLD OF EVIL,
ONE ALIEN AT A TIME.

In a time and place not too far away, Mia Snow is an alien huntress for the New Chicago Police Department, and she's the perfect girl for the job. Tough and sexy, she's earned each of her scars battling the elusive enemy among us. Now, investigating a series of killings, she is shaken to the core when a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 253 reviews.
chaosSM More than 1 year ago
I decided to read this series after falling in love with Gena's Lords of the Underworld and Atlantis Series. I fell in loe with this series as well and love Mia Snow. She is my fav alien hunter of the series...This book is a great read and I highly recommend it.
kitkat3ny More than 1 year ago
I had my reservations about trying this series but I was pleasantly surprised. Mia Snow, is a kick-a$$ alien hunter who reminds me of a cross between Eve Dallas meets Ellen Ripley meets Sarah Connor. Gena Showalter has built a dark, frightening world, where earth has become invaded by powerful aliens. Investigator Mia Snow, stops at nothing to try and stop a serial killer who has been killing human men. I had a hard time categorizing this book. It's not a paranormal romance but it's not an urban fantasy either. For those who really need to know what category any particular book falls in, I would say this novel has combined elements from scifi, dark paranormal romance and urban fantasy. However, regardless of the genre this novel falls into, it's still a great creative, crime novel. I enjoyed this book immensely and look forward to reading the next book in this series, Enslave Me Sweetly. I highly recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expected so much from this book, but was highly disappointed. I have read Showalter's Lords of the Underworld and Atlantis Series so I expected her Alien Huntress to hold strong, but it failed. Perhaps book two will be better. Writing a so-called paranormal romance in first person is awful. Additionally, it took nearly half the book before the hero (Kyrin) and heroine (Mia) to have some form of contact that would lead to a romance, which by the way, is unrealistic considering her constant need to punch and beat up on him. I will likely not continue reading the series.
Alena Barrick More than 1 year ago
I loved it to be perfectly honest it isn't like her other series which i also happen to love. It shows the possibility of a future years beyond now and the romance isn't something i was expecting, which is a very good thing because i hate when i can guess whats going to happen. It keeps you guessing and i love how you feel as if you can connect with at least one of the characters in this amazing novel. In my personal opinion its a must read and i am lokking forward to reading the next in the series
FastReaderMJ More than 1 year ago
Usually after 100 pages if I still can't get some attachment to a book I will not finish it. I stuck with this one though, mainly because I love all of Gena Showalter's books. It got better near the end and I will probably read the next in the series.
dani_kress More than 1 year ago
I love her series on the Lords of the Underworld. With its in depth details and the characters. she didn't let me down here. She writes as if you know it already. i love it when you piece things together. how they don't bombard you all at the same time with all the details. she leads you on a path that you just can't get off.
DeeVoelkel More than 1 year ago
Ok, to be honest, I haven't read to many alien books, but Showalter definetly is number one right now on my awesome author list! This book is has all the musts..... It's funny, has great character development, and is totally original. I like that Mia is a tough talking, butt kicking heroine! Needing no one, but wanting someone. She's hard, but not in a to-damaged-to-make-friends way. Her connection to her friends and eventually a tall pale stranger make this book just a tad bit touching. (just a tad!) I loved it! I can't wait to get the next book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Awaken Me Darkly was a suspensful book in a category all its own. Gena Showalter has amazing talent to keep the reader guessing until the last pages.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Chief of the Chicago Police Department Alien Investigation and Removal Agents, huntress Mia Snow and her second in command Dallas Gutierrez investigate the murder of human William Steele. Mia quickly recognizes that the victim died from onadyn poisoning, an item used by three alien groups to breathe in earth¿s oxygen world. She next notices three pieces of hair tied to one follicle which means a deadly Arcadian committed the murder. Other evidence link Arcadian Lilla en Arr to Steele. --- Lilla is taken downtown, but insists her brother Kyrinen will avenge this affront even as she hypnotizes males to abet her escape. At the precinct, for no known reason, Isabel Hussin shoots Dallas, whose chances of surviving are nil; only Kyrinen can save him, but Mia wonders at what price as he wants her. He also seems to know who the killer is and how the murder connects to Mia, but refuses to reveal anything at this time. --- Using the Men In Black concept, Gena Showalter provides a strong ET police procedural that grips the audience from the moment the tough heroine investigates the murder scene and never slows down until the final altercation. Mia is a fabulous ¿Bad Girl¿ who has a license to kill, but struggles with her growing feelings for an alien Kyrinen who she believes his sister is probably the serial murderer. The final spin will shock the audience though clues are cleverly placed in our faces as Gena Showalter will awaken more than just her female champion with this fine sci fi who-done-it.--- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the paranormal book story line awesome book loved the story line between Mia and Keryn
aloveless More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Not a highly sexual book but FULL of action and emotional connections. Must read this book. Cant wait to read the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
REVIEW PROVIDED BY:Kelly   NUMBER OF HEARTS:  3 1/2 REVIEW:  I had to think about this review for a little while.  I really love Gena Showalter’s book.  I absolutely love Justine Eyre as a narrator. And I really did enjoy this story.  But when I got to the end I kept looking at my phone (because that is where my audio books plays) and thought “That’s it??”.  Yep sure enough that was the end of the book.   To me it felt just a little rushed but yet it was wrapped up nicely.  My next thought was there will be another books with Kyrin & Mia, but as far as I can see they don’t get another book.    So I am on the fence.  I like the book.  Loved Justine reading to me.  Loved Kyrin.  Liked Mia. Loved the side characters.  But was left wanting more.   I wanted more Kyrin time.  I wanted to see more Kyrin & Mia.  I guess I hope that as the series goes on we will get glimpses of Kyrin and Mia.  Because there are a lot of questions that need to be answered and the future is not certain. If you love Gena Showalter I think that you will like this book.  If you love to listen to Justine Eyre this is right up your alley.  Over all I am happy with my purchase and read.  Disclaimer:  I purchased this story from Audible and this review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
babiesandmoore More than 1 year ago
Pretty Good Read.  It was good enough to continue with the series and I have read all of Gena's other books. I was not crazy about it being written in the 1st person perspective, so maybe the others will be better since she  changes that.  I enjoyed the characters and who doesn't love a butt kicking woman who doesn't look like she should be one.  I also really liked Kyrin.  Great to have a leading male character who does not have black hair and blue eyes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
northamericanwordcat More than 1 year ago
Compelling  I think this may be my favorite Showalter book. It has her trademark wonderful world building and well paced plot but unlike many of her  books I really like the couple. The heroine is really fierce in a believable sort of way and the hero is so pretty and so underestimated and so arch.   And then they combust. Love it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plenty of action- both physical and erotic. Compeling characters that you become investeed in, drama without being overly dramatic, and a kick-ass strong female lead, really what more could you want?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago