×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Awakening (Darkest Powers Series #2)
     

The Awakening (Darkest Powers Series #2)

4.5 1011
by Kelley Armstrong
 

See All Formats & Editions

If you had met me a few weeks ago, you probably would have described me as an average teenage girl—someone normal. Now my life has changed forever and I'm as far away from normal as it gets. A living science experiment—not only can I see ghosts, but I was genetically altered by a sinister organization called the Edison Group. What does that mean? For starters, I'm

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Awakening (Darkest Powers Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1011 reviews.
katiesbookblog More than 1 year ago
Chloe Saunders is back in the second book of the Darkest Powers series. If you haven't read The Summoning yet read it before reading this review. SPOILERS. At the end of the first book Chloe and Rae go to Chloe's Aunt Lauren for help, not knowing that she is working for the very group that they are trying to escape from. As a result, Chloe and Rae end up locked in a high security warehouse that houses the Edison Groups many experiments. Luckily, Derek and Simon are still on the run and on the lookout for Chloe and Rae. After encountering ghosts of some of the former Lyle House occupants Chloe decides to take matters into her own hands and figure out a way to escape, this time for good. With the help of Liz's ghost and a trapped demi-demon Chloe manages to find more information about the Edison group and how she can possibly escape from them. Once away from the Edison group Chloe is forced to face the reality of living on the run with nowhere and nobody to turn to other than Tori, Derek, and Simon. Her father has posted a $500,000 reward for her safe return and the Edison group is no longer worried about keeping any of them alive. Will Chloe and the others be able to outrun the Edison group or will their luck finally run out? Will Chloe ever figure out what her true feelings are for Derek and Simon? The Darkest Powers series is full of paranormal happenings, betrayal, and budding romance. I highly recommend this series for any fans of the Twilight series. Definitely not the same story line but just as good.
324532SS More than 1 year ago
I recommend this book. IT IS AWESOME!!! The story line kept you on edge and alert. The author makes the book hard to put down. You can get lost in this book. I finished it in one day because I couldnt put it down. I hope you fond this review helpful.
RAVEN_BIRD More than 1 year ago
The book the Awakening was even better then the summoning. While in the summoning you are kept wating a bit to progress to the big exciting part the awakening starts off pretty well. I enjoyed this book very much and could not put it down, it is a fast read (for me I guss) and is written really well. I would suggest this book for grades six and up becuse you have to pay attention to certin events well to understand things. Overall very good book. If you are looking for something to keep you entertained it is a good book for the job
Debbie-J-1970 More than 1 year ago
Chloe Saunders used to think that she was a normal teenage girl. Recently, she found out that she is a walking science experiment. She is a necromancer, and can see ghost and raise the dead. She was sent The Edison Group to get better, when they were the people that started it all. She is now on the run with three of my supernatural friends - a charming sorcerer Simon, a cynical werewolf Derek, and a disgruntled witch Tori. We have to find someone who can help us gain our freedom back before The Edison Group finds us first. Or die trying. The Awakening was just as good as The Summoning, if not it might be even better. The characters were more developed and more interesting, in the book. The plot was amazing. I liked the parts of them being on the run. It was pretty original. The writing was well done. I can wait for more from her. I think that I will have to check out a few of her adult books. I recommend checking out this series.
Miz_CJ More than 1 year ago
If you read and enjoyed "the summoning" you absolutely need to read this one. You'll also be waiting for the next one in the series. The characters are developing well int he story line and even though they have different "powers" young adults can still identify with the characters and see themselves in some of the internal struggles they face. An enjoyable read for adults to share with their students and children.
The_Shadow412 More than 1 year ago
Chloe and tori escape from the edison group.they meet up with derek and simon. they go to find simon and derek's dad friend who can help them find their dad. derek and chloe get closer and reach a understanding. great book, scary and great story. can't put it down. love it. can not wait 4 next book.
Brown_Eyed_Italian More than 1 year ago
Oh my gosh! I pre-ordered this novel about 6 months ago and I was so excited today when I received it. I read it in four hours! It was so GOOD! I love the chemistry between Chloe and Derek. I cannot wait until the third and final novel of the Darkest Powers series comes out...The Reckoning. I hope I do not have to wait too long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this series!!! Just starting the second series!!! NOTE TO PERSON THAT SAID THIS BOOK WAS TERRIBLE: if it was so terrible, then why'd you give it three stars??? If i thought a book was terrible i'd have given it one star. :)
DereksGirl1-819 More than 1 year ago
I loved it. The plot was amaing. I didnt like when she was stuck at the lab as much, but only because Derek and Simon wernt there but i guess that just made me love them all the more, making me keep reading to find out when she finally gets back to them and how happy she was. This book was amaing from begining to end. But when she finally caught up with them it was my favorite becuase Derek and their chemistry was back. I love Derek so much! I espically loved the solo parts she had with Derek. these two characters deffently belong together. I loved how he needed her and how she needed to help him. i espically loved when they both left the bus and the others for him to change. Yeah its needed but i love how as soon as he said what was happening she was up and ready to go with him. No matter what happened. I think i loved this part because it was chapter upon chapter of just Derek and Chole. Derek is deffenly my pick for Chloe, and my favorite character other then Chloe who won my heart from the start. I guess thats why i loved this book so much becuase we got to see them share and be together and stare inot eachothers eyes and just... amazing. Love Derek. Love Chloe. Love them togther. Love this book! You have been reccomended.
Nat_The_Pest More than 1 year ago
i am in a liveing nightmare!!!!!!!!!!!! i just read this book and i loved it. but i NEED the the 3rd book im in suspence.
HulagirlDL More than 1 year ago
After the first series book, the story in this installment just took off. I enjoyed every page and couldn't put it down. I literally read it in one day! The struggles that the characters go through and the realization that everything that is happening to them is bigger then they ever imagined keeps you going full speed ahead. A wonderful READ!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is a unique one, Its has a little bit of everything in it from Ghosts to Werewolves. It reminded me alot of the Ghostwhisperer TV series but kind of more of what would happen if someone thought you were crazy. This series has alot to with mystery and challenges of life and even love. If you are looking for something unique to read for change I would recommend this series.
MsOrange78 More than 1 year ago
I am going to die waiting until May 2010 for the next book in this series. If you read the first one, be prepared for some major character development and to fall even more in love with the characters, and possibly rooting for some you didn't think you would root for. The story and the dark past of the Edison Group/Lyle House becomes much more developed in this second installment of the Darkest Powers series. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves the urban fantasy/young adult genre. You will be hooked on Kelley Armstrong!
robin_titan More than 1 year ago
The Awakening starts off right where The Summoning left off and right after reading that first sentence there's no stopping you until you've finished the book. *WARNING if you haven't read the first one the following might spoil it a bit for you so go read The Summoning!! Don't worry though I won't spoil Awakening for you* Chloe and Rae were captured because Chloe's Aunt Lauren betrayed her. Now Chloe has to find a way out of this new place the Edison Group has locked her into and find Derek and Simon especially since Simon has a little dark secret that acquires immediate attention. The Edison Group is a group of people who genetically modified a bunch of kids with supernatural abilities. These people are obviously not good people since, as we learned, they are responsible for the death of Liz and possibly other kids. As we all know would happen, Chloe finds a way out (!!!!). She reunites with Simon and Derek of course. Ahhh Derek!!! I love him!! :D ehem Anywho....They all have to find the one person that might be able to help them and that's Andrew, an old friend of Derek and Simon's dad, thing is they're not sure if he'll still be there after all those years especially since Andrew and D&S's dad had a "falling out". That's not the only problem though. On their journey they get separated, encounter werewolves, crazy people trying to kill them, and much more fun fun fun!! :D This sequel was much more fast paced than the second one and I loved it!! The story just keeps getting better and better there is never a dull moment. Unfortunately like all great things, it must come to an end, and of course it did which made me soo sad :( but extremely anxious to know what will happen in the third and last installment in the Darkest Powers series. I'm very good at picturing whatever it is I'm reading in my head so it's like I'm watching a movie and I miss it!! I can still "see" it in my head and wish I could go "see" the third book already! hehe I'm so glad Kelley's writing and creativeness is amazing otherwise I don't think I would like this book as much. :) I am a huge fan of the fact that she wrote this series in the POV of Chloe it just makes it better and I would not like it any other way. I just LOVE Derek, he's one of my absolute favorite male protagonists. In pretty much every YA book you pick up there's always this perfect hot guy, but Derek is different and I ...LOVE that!! I'm rooting for this guy :D He hasn't really shown any feelings towards Chloe, at least not obvious ones, but I think Kelley's planning it so that in the third he does end up with her, but who knows? We can only hope hehe And I'm really curious about what's up with her necklace changing color. -tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com
harstan More than 1 year ago
Ever since the Edison Group genetically reengineered her (see THE SUMMONING), teen Chloe Saunders her life is out of control. First there is the out of control "dark powers" of being able to raise the dead without trying. Being a necromancer causes havoc with one's social life. Second there are ghosts who are everywhere further devastating her social life.------------ Having escaped for now and having been betrayed by those she trusted, Chloe is not sure who is friend from foe especially amidst the living. With help from beyond and from the paranormal, Chloe learns more about the Edison group operatives and scientists who are coming for her, dead or alive. At the same time her dad has announced a $500,000 reward for her safe return, which brings out the whackos. Her only hope for survival is her special friends Tori, Derek, and Simon, but that places them in danger. ------------ The second Darkest Powers teen urban fantasy is a terrific tale as the heroine has learned the hard way from her previous escapades trust no one, but to survive the Edison Group Chloe will have to rely on her friends. The story line is fast-paced as supernatural events continual to occur. There is also a hint of romance, but who Chloe chooses between the brothers Derek and Simon remains up in the air as safety is the first requirement. Although it would help to first read THE SUMMONING to better understand how far Chloe has come and how far she must go to survive and not necessarily win, readers will enjoy the paranormal action of THE AWAKENING.--------------------- Harriet Klausner
SydneyKris More than 1 year ago
You go through an emotional rollercoaster with Chloe Saunders when she discovers the dark secret of her past, that she can see and talk to ghosts! A very gripping book, that you can't put down. It was awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this series!!
polmudpup More than 1 year ago
Kelley Armstrong doesn't disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 12 yr old daughter loved these books. I read them so we could talk about them. Really good! Addictive actually. We read the three books in three days and are sad that there are no more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so amazing I like it way better then the first book but that's my opinion so I'll sum it up and you think what you think (CAUTION :THIS CONTAINS SPOILER) Okay first starts off when Chloe and Tori are trapped with the Edison group they escape and find there way to Derek and Simon they live on the street for a few days Derek is really mean and watching for Chloe to mess up, Chloe and Tori have rewards on there heads . They decide to go find there fathers friend to seek help from they take the bus to there friend Derek on the way there is going to change Chloe gets of with him sadly the bus leaves without them so they make there way on foot to catch up with Simon on the way there they battle rival werewolf's and you can clearly see them developing feelings for each other but sadly there is no real moments in the end the find there way back clearly Simon feelings has for Chloe the find that there dads friend disappeared they get attacked by so called " Edison group" they escape with there dads friend it ends with him leading them to a group that rebels against the Edison group that contains fellow witches ,sorcerores ,and Necromancers . But do not fear the third book ends nicely even if there is or isn't a fourth book. What do you think? Five star book to me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read
RebeccaNaomi More than 1 year ago
This is the sequel to The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong. Warning: If you did not like The Summoning you won't like this book. Just because you like The Otherworld series does not mean that you will like The Darkest Powers series and visa versa. How on earth do I know this? I am a weirdo and I make a point to read all types of reviews after I read a book. I especially like to read the reviews that are on the complete opposite of the spectrum from my opinion. In this case: the 1 star reviews. It is really depressing sometimes and other times really funny. This time around is was depressing. This book is not plot oriented so much as character oriented. It starts where the first book left off: Chloe captured by the Edison group but only after she talked to Liz. We don't actually get that conversation. In the first few chapters we get some important information for the plot but after that the rest of the book is mostly about getting meeting up with Andrew Carson, a friend of Simon and Derek's dad, and the four characters working out their biggest issue: actually working together without all of the fighting that was in the first book. It is not a fast-paced adventure thriller with explosions and gun fights (though there are some fights) but more of a exercise in character building. To me this book sets up for the third and final book of this series for now. So without further ado let's get to the review. I liked this book. I am unapologetic about it and absolutely everything else. I like Chloe for the same reasons that I did in the first book and while at the beginning of the book I had wandered off of the Team Derek side and chose to stand beside the no pairing side I did half-way return after them being together for practically half of the book. Some new reasons that I like her is because she is not boy crazy. While she started out liking Simon she was not obsessed with him and this is backed up by her obliviousness toward the fact that Simon likes her. The fact that Chloe Saunders reminds me a lot of Chloe Sullivan of Smallville fame really goes a long way toward my liking her character. I still don't really like Tori. I understand her a bit more than in the second book but I still don't like her. The only difference is that I now don't really, really not like her. Simon. There is a reason that I was never on Team Simon and that was because Simon just does not seem all of the way developed to me. I know that he likes art and tries to cover his less positive emotions with cheer and jokes but I have yet to really see him without that mask and deeper into him as a real character. Sorry but I had to say that and it was a painful as I thought it would be. Derek. The relationship between Chloe and Derek from the first book went three steps forward and then two steps back when they meet again in The Awakening. Of course in The Awakening they go about ten step forward. I don't like the yo-yo-ing of their relationship and I don't. Yet I really like how their friendship grows into a relationship instead of just popping up in the first book from left field. Okay so there really is no reason for me to continue writing this because a this point you either already like this series and I am preaching to the choir or you stopped way up at the top because you could not even finish the first book or you just love me so much that you can't stop reading what I wrote. I am going with the last one. I am always up for a g
lilmudduckmuffineater More than 1 year ago
The the second book in the Darkest Powers series. I loved this book even better then the first(and the first book rocked) It continues where it left off in the first book(not gonna give much away for those who haven't read the first book) But you will be wanting more after you're done with this one. In a way it kind of reminds me of X-men but they are two totally different stories and I'm pretty sure nobody in X-men could talk to the dead and raise zombies. But anyways if you haven't read it,read it! Kelley Armstrong is an amazing author.She almost compares to J.K. Rowling. And that's a compliment from me. Stephenie Meyer eat your heart out.(no offense against the people who like the dull twilight series)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The summary at the back of these books does not do the story justice. It is a wonderful twist on the paranormal, and doesn't only center on vampires and werewoolves. There is never a dull moment in this book, and it is really hard to put down. The first person view of this series draws readers in. Characters, including the main one, Chole are so life-like, I sometimes expect to bump into them, or see the Missing Person alert on the TV, courtesy of her father. Again, a wonderful read, especially for those of us who enjoy the paranormal, and a nice breather from the novels and series that center only on vampires and werewolves.
Awesomeness1 More than 1 year ago
Both book in the Darkest Powers series have been fun and thrilling. The characters are likable enough, and you are free to pick favorites. The dialogue is realistic and non-cheesey. The twists and turns keep the plot going while Chloe and the gang run from the bad guys, and some revelations are made. Don't look to much into this book. Its fun and good to spend a couple of hours with, while curled up on the couch.