×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Aztec
     

Aztec

4.8 58
by Gary Jennings
 

See All Formats & Editions

Aztec is the extraordinary story of the last and greatest native civilization of North America. Told in the words of one of the most robust and memorable characters in modern fiction, Mixtli-Dark Cloud, Aztec reveals the very depths of Aztec civilization from the peak and feather-banner splendor of the Aztec Capital of Tenochtitlan to the arrival of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Aztec 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
bbb57 More than 1 year ago
To date, the best book I have ever read in my life. Gary Jennings is the master of historical fiction. This book is a miracle of literature that PUTS YOU THERE to feel the whole gamut of emotions. A character and story that capture your imagination and leave you wanting for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book for the first time in 1982. I have read many times over and have had to replace the first book I bought as it was falling apart. I wish they would make it available for the Nook! My copy is in need of replacing, once again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I first picked up this book for a history review, I wasn't sure what to think, because I had never really been interested in ancient Aztec culture. But as I started reading, I was instantly absorbed by the story and the character. Aztec, by Gary Jennings, is not your typical book about Aztec history. It is full of magnificent and vivid detailings of the main character Mixtil's life as an Aztec during the time period of their powerful empire. Jennings writes not only about the amazing Aztec culture, but also touches on personal subjects to draw the reader in on a personal level. Reading this book enabled me to learn about the culture of one of the most powerful ancient empires once in existence, and experiencing it through this character's eyes. I chose this because I have heard good things about Jennings' other novels, and this one definitely didn't disappoint. I would reccommend this to students looking for a historical novel with an interesting plot, and also to anyone looking for something good to read.
PeterWilliams More than 1 year ago
Great account of the triple alliance and the invasion of the Spanish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was well thought out and written. Hollywood should make this book into a movie instead of remaking old movies from the early and late 90's.
imkevbo More than 1 year ago
An excellent read and incredible story telling which brought a long lost civilation to life for me. MESMERIZING
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best historic novels I have ever read. Jennings takes one of the greatest and most powerful cultures of all time and turns its demise into a heart-wrenching story. With a main character who has deeply personal experiences that allow you to connect on a personal level with him, Jennings weaves a masterpiece that is a fantastic read. Once started, you won't want to put it down. Once finished, you'll be craving more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AztecQueenCece More than 1 year ago
I absolutley love this book,I am still not done reading it, but i do luv it. I feel in love with this book since i first picked it up, and there have been many days when I'd rather saty home from work or school and read it from cover to cover. I highly recomend this book to anywone who wants to read a turly good, exciting, intriguing book, the love stories, sex, and growth the main character goes through throughout his life is magnificent, an i have to say i fell in luv with Mixtil...His character was so strong and loving, he was what I hope more men were like. Nonetheless, this boook is one of my favorites I have ever read, i plan on purchasing more of Mr. Gary Jennings books. I hope everyone has a chance to read this and when they do they too will fall in love with it. Every night i read more and more of this book I have visions and dreams of how beautiful and wonderful, strong and magnificent the AZTEC culture was, and being a Mexican woman, I have much pride in my ancestors for who they were and their stregnth is surely following through my veins.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just finished this gripping book today. It's a tad slow to start, but it's SO worth the read. I live in Mexico and have always been intriuged with the culture - this book gives the more true version, I believe. It's SO well researched and thought out...I will read it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not much of a reader. I normally have trouble getting into a book, but not with Aztec. I was hooked from the begining and I couldn't put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved it! Amazing description of details helped visualize the story. Enjoyed all of Mixtli's journeys! I learned some geography lessons and other substantial information. Would love to see the story develop in theaters! Mel- where are you???