×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street Series #5)
  • Alternative view 1 of Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street Series #5)
  • Alternative view 2 of Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street Series #5)
     

Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street Series #5)

4.2 183
by Debbie Macomber
 

See All Formats & Editions

There's a new shop on Seattle's Blossom Street—a flower store called Susannah's Garden, right next door to A Good Yarn. Susannah Nelson, the owner, has just hired an assistant named Colette Blake, a young widow who's obviously hiding a secret—or two.

When Susannah and Colette both join Lydia Goetz's new knitting class, they discover that Lydia and her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 183 reviews.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
Those eagerly awaiting a return to Seattle's Blossom Street will be pleased with Macomber's sequel to The Shop On Blossom Street. Many remember that cancer survivor Lydia Goetz opened a shop, The Good Yarn, which soon housed a knitting class of four women who forged friendships and helped each other through life's rough spots. The same kind of caring and helpfulness are found in Back On Blossom Street. Those who enjoy a feel-good listen will find it here. For those who don't understand the healing properties knitting offers, Lydia explains it thusly, 'Knitting was my salvation. That's something I've said often, I know, but it's simply the truth. Even now, after nearly ten years of living cancer-free, knitting dominates my life. Because of my yarn store, I've become part of a community of knitters and friends.' She is now beginning a new knitting class and this time the work is on prayer shawls. Among the knitters are Colette Blake, a young widow employed at the new shop next door that offers flowers and floral arrangements. Colette had been romantically involved with her previous employer who is now frequently ordering flowers - all too much for her to process. Clicking needles right along side her is Susannah Nelson, the owner of the flower shop. Making a return visit is Alix Townsend, the daughter of ne'er-do-well parents who is now engaged to Rev. Jordan Turner. The wedding, which she had imagined as a small, meaningful occasion is quickly becoming a major social event. Now, just a few months before her walk down the aisle Alix is beginning to wonder whether or not she is cut out to be a minister's wife. Add to these worries Lydia's sister's daughter being the victim of a car jacking and Lydia's gradual awareness that her history of cancer may prevent her from ever having children of her own. However, according to the author's premise, there is healing in friendship and often a solution to one's problem is discovered in the words of another. 'Back on Blossom Street' is a warm, pour yourself a cup of tea listening experience, especially as read by Laural Merlington, a voice performer with some 30 years of experience who narrates with grace and good humor. - Gail Cooke
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I .ove all of her books but am not a person to read a book twice i also look at the date the book was released as was glad to see it was a newly relised book then i began to read It found it to be one i did read before
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of the Blossom Street series and was excited when I got an email saying there was a new book in the series. I double checked the publish date before I bought it. I am enjoying rereading the book but was very disappointed to start reading it and finding out is a reprint. That makes it a total waste of money when already own it.
harstan More than 1 year ago
On Blossom Street in Seattle Lydia Goetz and her sister Margaret own A Good Yarn where they sell knitting paraphernalia and provide class instructions. Renting the apartment above the store is thirty-one years old grieving widow Colette Blake, who has signed up to attend the prayer shawl knitting class and is confused by her desire for her employer Christian Dempsey. Family friend baker Alix Townsend feels overwhelmed by her upcoming out of control marriage to Reverend Jordan Turner because she fears her reprobate DNA is not suited for the life of a pastor's wife. Margaret¿s daughter is a carjacking victim. Finally, Lydia feels incomplete as a woman as cancer has pretty much wiped out her chance to ever give birth. Over knitting, these friends and family find comfort one stitch at a time.---------------- Fans of the Seattle series will appreciate the latest traumas, tragedies, and joys as the knitting clan come together to help one another overcome adversity and share in rejoicing. The story line is more a series of vignettes as focus rotates between the well developed ensemble cast. Debbie Macomber shows her skill with each key player being unique. Although similar in tone to the previous A GOOD YARN tales and that of the Cedar Cove saga (does anyone bring alive the picturesque northwest better than Ms. Macomber does?), readers will enjoy the ups, downs, and ups of this knitting crew.------------ Harriet Klausner
Me55 More than 1 year ago
The sample of this book was only 32 pages and all of the preview was the table of contents and knitting instructions and pattern. No part of the story was in the preview.
jenameyers More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of modern fiction. I also like the classics, especially Brit Lit. When it comes to sitting outside in the shade on a warm spring day and reading something for relaxation, this fills the bill perfectly. There are times when a fairly predictable story with easily likable characters and a plot where no one gets blown up, participates in espionage, suffers as a tortured soul, is just the thing. As a character in Mary Kay Andrews The Fixer Upper said, "empty literary calories". Debbie Macomber books are like the Little Debbie Snack Cakes of my reading life. I love them and I feel a little embarrassed about it. The good news? They don't make you fat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He was talking abou you said you wanted to know how i feel about having s.ex with you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tell me tess
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, Debbie Macomber has come through again with this wonderful new Blossom Street novel. Her books are ones that are hard to put down once you start reading.
candymakerSS More than 1 year ago
Like her other Blossom Street stories, this is a heart warming story. It shows how people can get together not knowing each other but, become good friends through knitting classes.Also makes you realize that whatever problems you may encounter can be solved by friends helping each other.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
taxdeva More than 1 year ago
just as interesting and exciting as the rest of the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bravewarrior More than 1 year ago
CD Abridged/Women's fiction: This novel is book 3 of the Blossom Street series. I listened to two others. There is usually no mystery and just narrative....and everyone lives HEA. This one is no exception. There are the usual three women in novel who are figuring out like. While I liked it okay, I did have problems with Collette. Spoiler: while she is pregnant with boss's baby after a one night stand, she becomes a doormat. After leaving her place of employment and him because she thinks he's smuggling Chinese immigrants. Well, this is a Macomber novel and you know he's innocent. However, she doesn't and continues to pine over the guy. She is a doormat! For that, it gets three stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago