×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bad Blood
  • Alternative view 1 of Bad Blood
  • Alternative view 2 of Bad Blood
     

Bad Blood

3.6 55
by Dana Stabenow
 

See All Formats & Editions

BAD BLOOD

Dana Stabenow

The Alaskan villages of Kushtaka and Kuskulana sit across the river from each other, but Kuskulana's always thrived while Kushtaka is slowly dying out. One hundred years of bad blood between the communities threaten to come to a boil when the body of a young Kushtaka ne'er-do-well is found dead—and questions of love,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bad Blood 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm really disappointed in this one. The writing really felt like it was done by someone trying to emulate Dana Stabenow....the characters, including Kate and Mutt just felt "flat." The story really didn't flow very well in my opinion and to top it off, she left it with a cliff hanger, which in the past has been pretty rare and frankly, is not something I ever enjoy. I actually disliked this one enough that I will have second, and perhaps third, thoughts before purchasing the next one in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been reading Kate books faithfully over the last twenty years. This one's ending had me screaming. Enjoyed it right up until the very end. Unsatisfactory, and highly aggravating, ending for true Kate and Mutt fans. How Stabenow could have left it this way is beyond me. This series is among my very favorite. Despite the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed the rest of this series, but this book is not up to par. The book is quite short, and it takes about 90 pages to get into the story. I also didn't like the ending. Even a cliff hanger ending should be allotted more than one page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I have been a faithful and loyal fan through the entire Shugak series, this one felt more like a historical summarization of facts and characters. I hate feeling like Stabenow has run her course with Kate and ended it all so abruptly to spare us the misery of deteriorating story lines. If this is indeed the end, I am more than disappointed. But maybe Stabenow will start working again on fleshing out Liam's story . . ?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not nearly as good as all the others.... I felt like someone else wrote this one, trying to be like Dana Stabenow.... But still a good book, but not her best..
Andrew_of_Dunedin More than 1 year ago
You wouldn't think it would be all that hard, To take a plot once written by the Bard, To give chronology a little push And transplant it to the Alaska Bush. Of Kushkalana's Ryan Christianson - Kushtaka's Jenny Mack the boy SHOULD shun. Instead, they fall in love and - no surprise - in murder mysteries, somebody dies. A village full of suspects - make that TWO - For Chopper Jim to have to interview, And Kate and Mutt are dragged in it, as well, With violence from both towns; it must be quelled. SOME dwellers in The Park are here to see, While others are just mentioned casually. The book's main focus is on those feuding towns And citizens who will not settle down. The ending for our author is a shift, She leaves us all a'hanging from a cliff, So Dana Stabenow, what will we do While waiting 'til next year for your Part 2???
RUSSIAN_WOLF More than 1 year ago
Have read all in the series of Kate Shugak... but what did you do this time... !!!!! Is it the end of Kate, have you given me a REAL CLIFF HANGER or is there a new book coming out so that Kate can take another breath ?? if a next is in the making please don't keep me waiting... a loyal reader...
JBird55 More than 1 year ago
I have loved Kate Shugak since the beginning but this latest book was a total disappointment. I wish I would have paid more attention to the reviews before I purchased it. Dana, you have really let your fans down with this book. It has a super slow start, and seemed disjointed. The ending was terrible. Horrible book not at all like the others in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved every book in this series until this one. What a major letdown. Very bad ending. I don't know why the author would do that to her loyal readers. Perhaps if she were planning to publish a sequel soon, I might understand it. But since she's not, this was just a very bad mistake.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kate Shugak is a "oner," as they say in crossword puzzles. Dana Stabenow does another masterful job in continuing Kate's story. If you like mysteries with a strong female protagonist, the Shugak series is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this author and this character but did not enjoy this book as well as the others and found the ending more than annoying. Like the other faithful readers who have posted; Ms Stabenow will regain my trust when she posts a synopsis of an upcoming Kate novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed all her other books, which I've read twic already. Can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderfull, exciting book as usual. That is until the last page.
Biznessgal1 More than 1 year ago
I am a long-time Stabenow fan and have read everything she has published prior to this novel. This one seems like a throw away. There is no character development, no advancing of any prior storylines, and her writing is disjointed. Hopefully the next one in the series will be back to her usual excellent work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so sorry the author hooked Jim Chopin, a great guy, up with Kate Shugach, who I freaking hate. Shugach is at her meddlesome worst in this one, once again taking it upon herself to interfere with others' parenting. For someone from a totally dysfunctiinal family, with no actual children of her own, she has some nerve going behind parents' backs in virtually every book. Look, Stabenow, the woman has no credentials for this; why dn't you have her solve an actual mstery for a change?
beachpolly More than 1 year ago
I liked this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this the end..?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always good, but I didn't want them to end.
Audrey84 More than 1 year ago
I've LOVED The Kate Shugak books up until now. The only other book I wasn't real thrilled about is when she killed off a major character in a previous book, but the story line picked up in future books and she kept the story line flowing. This book just didn't have that. Plus, I HATED the ending. Thumbs down to the editor who told her that was a good idea the formate with the "Acts" as if mimicking a play must not have read any of the other books because it just didn't flow like her previous books. I love Dana's books and and hope she continues with the series. I would hate to see this being the last Shugak book. With that all said, I would still buy any new book she puts out (I own them all), because up until this past book, I've loved her style of writing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love her description of Alaska and the historical facts. At times she gets kind of weird with the sex angle though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow! As I have come to expect from Dana's books, this one doesn't disappoint (other than what goes on in it but I don't want to give that away!). I have loved the Kate Shugak books from the first right up to this one, #20! Well written. Like family. I've laughed, I've cried, I've been angry, I've mourned... so, so good. Give her a try. You'll be hooked!