×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bad Guys
     

Bad Guys

4.2 17
by Linwood Barclay
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Fans of the crime caper will rejoice” that Linwood Barclay is back with the hilarious follow-up to his “riotously funny and irreverent” debut, in which paranoid pop Zack Walker plotted to transplant his city-savvy wife and two teenage kids to the tranquillity of the burbs–where planned communities prevail and fathers rest easy. Well,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bad Guys 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
The_Mugster More than 1 year ago
Barclay's method is one of those inside/outside narratives, in that we get as much interior psycho-musings from worry-wart Zack, the protagonist, as we do any kind of story arc. He's one batso dude, and he drives everyone around him crazy, too. Part of the enjoyment here is being surprised by whatever new plot twist Zack stumbles over next, and sometimes he doesn't stumble over them.he makes them happen.by accident! I found this one more entertaining than Barclay's later novels, as those are more traditional, linear exposition of the crime, the slow reveal, the sidetracks, the jeopardies, and ultimately the surprise denouement. This one's all over the map, and therefore, for me, it was much more fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a fun read!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
After finding the burbs worse than Tom Hanks (see BAD MOVE), super worrier Zack Walker returns to the inner city with his wife and their two teenage children. He lets his paranoia over the safety of children get a grip on him when his eighteen years old daughter Angie fails to come home by curfew. He stalks the home of her date ¿Pool Boy¿ only to be caught and learn his daughter is sleeping in her bed. --- Now his daughter is being stalked by apparently Trevor Wylie, a friend of her younger brother Paul, but she wants dad to stay out of it. Meanwhile the Metropolitan reporter is working graveyard stakeouts accompanying private detective Laurence on trying to prevent robberies. However, a peer who shares work with Laurence, Diamond is murdered on a concurrent stake out. As Zack investigates the homicide, he also stealthy tries to stop the stalker bothering his daughter; all this and more fears without taking medication. --- Zack is as nutty and paranoid as ever over the safety of his family as he sees bad doers under every rock. The humorous story line grips readers once they realize how foolish Zack takes things (never dawned on him to check whether his daughter was home) and never slows down until he places himself at risk from a killer and the stalker. Linwood Barclay provides a wonderfully jocular Noir starring a sympathetic Don Knotts like lunatic who no one understands. His wife threatens to use a pillow on him while he sleeps if he does not back off from his driving his family crazy over their wellbeing.--- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would read more from him.
jaysueread More than 1 year ago
2nd book in a 4 part series very quirky and refreshing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy books by Linwood Barclay and especially the Zack Walker series. They're mystery thrillers with humor, a great combination! Try them, I'm sure you will enjoy them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Good mix of humor, action, and mystery. One question-- who the heck is Harriet Klausner? Grandma M
Kevin Calchary More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining - Got me hooked on Barclay books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very good from beginning to end. It was hard to put it down. Some parts of the book were hilariously funny. I found myself laughing out loud several times. I love the predicament Zack Walker is always finding himself in. If you want a good mystery/suspense novel to read then this is a very good one in a series of 4 by Linwood Barclay.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago