×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Badlands
     

Badlands

3.4 14
by Seleste deLaney
 

After a brutal Civil War, America is a land divided. As commander of her nation's border guards, Ever is a warrior sworn to protect her country and her queen. When an airship attacks and kills the monarch, Ever must infiltrate enemy territory to bring home the heir to the throne, and the dirigible Dark Hawk is her fastest way to the Union.

Captain Spencer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Badlands 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Melhay More than 1 year ago
When the male criminals along with other men dressed as soldiers attack, Ever has to do what she doesn't want and run from battle. Her focus now as she leaves her female troops fighting, is to bring the Princess home to the Badlands to rule as the Queen was killed. Ever signals the regular supply airship, Dark Hawk, as it arrives, warning against the United States attacking ship and for her escape. Captain Spencer Pierce, working to pay off his ship and on his last trip, picks up the bloodied woman he finds, willing to help her. Ever needs to find Princess Laurette and bring her back safely before the attackers find her, or get to Ever first. Ever is one hard woman. In this world, she has to be. A world where the United States is divided and she patrols the badlands. The place that the states send their exiled criminals to, and Ever's job is to find them, capture or kill them. She guards from the prisoners getting out and the ones coming in. Ever has many views on men, and is tough on them too. And I like that hardness in her. She is my kinda character. Ever doesn't approve of marriage, feels it's a distraction to the woman warriors. Reading about Ever reminds me of an Amazon Princess Warrior. She is strong and always ready for a fight, doesn't matter in what degree of dress she is in. These Amazon warrior women are of the steampunk era; not ones armed with god forged weapons - truth lasso, bulletproof bracelets, boomerang golden tiara and such, but with pistols, crossbow, and knives on her belt and in her boots. This is one woman out for the fight, and to win at any cost. Ever is the Wonder Woman of Steampunk in the Badlands. We start off into action. Quickly we learn Ever needs to leave, and she battles her way out. In this quick start it takes a little to catch who's where and what's happening, but it catches your eye and keeps you flipping to quickly learn what all is present in this world. The quick movement, action, and hardness of Ever kept me enthralled to quickly get to the end to know what happens. I did have a little bit of a time trying to see the world at the very beginning and what exactly Ever's position was, but it is all detailed as you read along, so it will all come to light soon enough. I slipped right into this story and harsh world. A little romance with steampunk and clockwork along with the threat of death and worry. I kept reading to know what happens, the rest of the world around me falling away bringing me to the harsh rocky quiet of the Badlands. If you are curious about this character, I highly suggest reading the short story, Just A Man, with Ever on the authors site. If you like hard characters, Ever is the one for you. But you get a taste of her determined and clear thinking in the short story. And hopefully Ever and the Badlands are the story for you.
sunshinejenn03 More than 1 year ago
I have never read a book quite like this one. It has everything: warrior women, sex, politics, a chivalrous leading man, and - most importantly - love. It reminded me of the old western movies and The Book of Eli all rolled into one steam-punky, action-filled novella. I did think Ever was a bit of a forced character and I didn't always understand her actions, but I still liked her. Her character development seemed a little hurried, but perhaps that's because this is a novella, so there isn't room for any kind of lengthy development. The clockworks intrigued me; I wish we could see more of them. I definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys science-fiction with a bit a romance thrown in for good measure. It was a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only thing good about this steampunk book is that is was a fast and cheap read. In fact, after finishing it, I felt cheap (as in the sex scenes are not satisfying), steamed (as in annoyed by the banal characters and plot), and punked (as in tricked into wasting my time reading it in the first place). I highly recommend that other readers not waste their time or money of this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Badlands is a fast-paced steampunk western romance, populated with interesting characters. It is far too short,though. DeLaney does not give herself enough time to fully develop what could be a fascinating world. This is the literary equivalent of eating popcorn when you really want ice cream: tasty, but it leaves you hungry and unsatisfied.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JMKelley-DrewInBlue More than 1 year ago
Badlands is an alternate reality tale set in a different kind of post-Civil War America where the country is divided into unfriendly neighbors. The heroine, Ever, guards her land's borders. She is a warrior, with the tattoos and scars to prove it. An invasion of her territory results in the murder of the Queen, and Ever is tasked with retrieving and protecting Princess Laurette, the heir to the throne, who is in Philadelphia, living life as a normal student. Reluctantly leaving behind her embattled troops, Ever ends up a passenger on the Dark Hawk, a dirigible captained by Spencer Pierce, a man who just wants to make one last delivery, a commitment that will pay debts owed and transfer ownership of the vessel to him. Naturally, Ever's arrival throws a wrench in that plan. It's clear that Spencer and Ever are attracted to one another. But Ever's pride and obsession with her mission makes that a connection feel more like a burden to her. But eventually, the sparks fly between the pair, and high adventure and peril ensue. And Spencer's unexplainable trust in Ever is put to the test when secrets start to surface. Badlands is an impressive hybrid of Steampunk/Science Fiction/Fantasy, and of course, Romance. And most of those genres are not my usual reading fare. So upon diving into the story, I was surprised by how easily I became engaged by the plot. The blend is just right. Not too much of any one influence happening. One doesn't overpower the others. Definitely a gentle yet solid introduction to the sub-genres. Ever is strong and courageous, but also bull-headed, with a tendency to get a little feral in the right circumstances. Spencer is an agreeable hero. He's a subtle man, without much of that Alpha Man stereotype, a fact that kind of annoys Ever. At first. The supporting characters that populate the Dark Hawk are likeable. Not just background noise. Being new to the steampunk/clockwork scene, I was grateful to the author for painting the scenery well with clear descriptions. I was able to visualize the world she created without wondering if my own brain was veering off in the wrong direction. I found Badlands very entertaining, with love interests that were easy to root for. Joey, The One Hundred Romances Project
AAR More than 1 year ago
BADLANDS by Seleste Delaney is an interesting fantasy/science fiction set after a Civil War in America that divides the land. It is a fast paced,page turning story of passion, betrayal, trust, sweet sensuality,allies,enemies,action,adventure,romanceand love. Ever is the commander of her nations border guards and a fierce warrior. She is the queen's protector,but when her nation is attracked by aircraft and her Queen killed,she must find the next Queen,the Queen's daughter. This takes her into the domain of Captain Spencer Pierce, the captain of the Dark Hawk.While Spencer only wants to pay off his debt and retain ownership of his beloved Dark Hawk,he must help Ever to find the Queen's daughter and get her safety back to the Badlands to regain order. Together as reluctant allys, Ever and Spencer must fight unknown enemies,face danger,fight their growing attraction and their passion for each other. Ever only wants to get back to the Badlands with her new Queen and Spencer only wants to deliver her safely back to the Badlands. While they are both fighting their growing attraction,one is fighting to protect her Badlands the other his protection his ship and crew.But they must work together after being betrayed in order to survive and bring order back to the Badlands. This is a quick,fun read. This book was recieved for the purpose of review from Net Galley and the publisher and details can be found at Carina Press and My Book Addiction Reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago