×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Baker's Boy (Book of Words Series #1)
     

The Baker's Boy (Book of Words Series #1)

4.2 28
by J. V. Jones
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first novel in a brilliantly crafted trilogy. As the King of the Four Kingdoms lays dying, traitorous conspirators prepare a political marriage to ensure their control of the crown. But the young Melliandra refuses to betroth a sinister Prince and flees the castle in the company of a miracle-working kitchen apprentice.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Baker's Boy (Book of Words Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was impossible to put down. I was lucky to not have to wait for book 2 & 3. The trilogy is awesome. J.V. Jones is a spectacular author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the best book out there. The trilogy is such an awsome ride to go on. It takes to a place where youv'e never seen. You never want to put the book down and when your done with the first book you want to go to the second and then the third. I wish she would have keep going with the Book Of Words.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started reading Baker's Boy this past summer and I'm not finished with it yet, but I can't wait to read the second book. This is definitely a book you won't want to put down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I stumbled across The Baker's Boy series and didn't stop reading until I read the entire series. Then I read every other book by her I could get my hands on. J V Jones is an absolutely amazing author. Her style of writing is unique and refreshingly different from most fantasy authors. Jones writes in such a way that the realism of what she is describing hits you hard. She blends realism with magic and fantasy, adds a dash of what it truly must have been like to live in the middle ages. The characters burst with life, the story line is riveting and Jones's style of writing is so completely unique that I cannot get enough of her books. All of her books are just as excellent. Jones writes the kind of book that you simply cannot put down, and when you've finished reading it you are dissappointed that it's over.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is truly a masterpiece. Once you start you'll never put in down. J.V. Jones is very descriptive of her characters, place, and things. A great book to read!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read The Baker's Boy and its fellow novels in the trilogy. J.V. Jones is a spectacular author. You can experience the world through her characters; smell, touch, taste, sight and sound. They are all expressed in beautifully woven detail. I would recommend any J.V. Jones book to readers who enjoy a good author or have a taste for Robert Jordan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first fantasy novel I've been unable to finish (after getting about 3/4 of the way through). The characters are not especially likeable, and the plot absolutely crawls forward. The character Meliandra simply plops from one unfortunate situation to another (she runs away, she's captured, she's free, she's captured, ...) but her character doesn't develop significantly.