×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bang Your Head: The Rise and Fall of Heavy Metal
     

Bang Your Head: The Rise and Fall of Heavy Metal

3.3 13
by David Konow
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Bang your head! Metal Health’ll drive you mad!”
— Quiet Riot

Like an episode of VH1’s Behind the Music on steroids, Bang Your Head is an epic history of every band and every performer that has proudly worn the Heavy Metal badge. Whether headbanging is your guilty pleasure or you firmly believe that this much-maligned genre has

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bang Your Head: The Rise and Fall of Heavy Metal 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've just utterly wasted a couple of days reading this horrible collection of clippings from Creem, Rip, and other eighties metal magazines. The author gives absolutely no new information to those of us on the Strip in the eighties and has no sense of journalistic credability, treating known PR hoaxes as objective truth. The writer obvioulsy did poor research as several mistakes appear throughout the book. For instance, Permenant Vacation was NOT Aerosmith's first album after kicking drugs, though a writer more interested in Run-DMC than Aerosmith may think so; Done With Mirrors was Aerosmith's first come-back album. The writer's writing skills are horrible and the book reads like a tiger-beat story written for an illiterate fifteen year old. I don't think there is a multi-syllable word in the entire book. I am now dumber for having read this trash. The writer clearly was never inside the 80's metal movement, did no research, and writes on a 3rd grade level. Skip this book. The history of metal has yet to be written. This book is excrement.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this on a whim thinking it might be interesting. It's ok but there's nothing new in here. If you grew up in the 80's/ early 90's listening to rock/metal/whatever and ever read a Circus, Rip or Metal Edge you already know everything in this book. It's like it was written for my mom or something. "Hi mom, I know you never understood why I liked that crazy heavy metal as a teenager, or still to this day, but here, this will help you figure it out." As another review stated, this reads like a magazine. That's because it is mostly excerpts and quotes from popular magazines not original thoughts, keen observations or personal opinions. The source notes are damn near 80 pages long!!! I could've gone through all my old mags and put this together. For a good read on rock/metal, and also the answer to this books sub-title "The rise and Fall of Heavy Metal" try Fargo Rock City by Chuck Klosterman. Far better book because he tells why not just when and how. He also explains why it matters to those of us who love this stuff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jeaniebrown More than 1 year ago
this is a very intersting and helps to really understand what the heavy meatal music is all about and get people to open thier minds to it and the peple in the business. opens the musci industry up to people soi they can see how important the industry really is to our culture.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book used for $2 and thought "ok- might be interesting, maybe... good reading for a short daily commute..." It has been brutal right from the beginning. I continued on hoping maybe it was just a rough start, however I'm now nearly 3/4 finished and I currently consider my fininishing this book as penance. The subject matter COULD have been interersting- it is the writing/author that is killing it. David Konow please don't write another book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
David Konow does an amazing job with this book,pulling new headbangers back in time to teach them what music truly is and taking those that lived it back down memory lane. Amazing job 10/10. /m/ UP THE IRONS /m/
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is prolly one of the most interesting books ever. i really loved this book. it was like being in a rockstars shoe or something. Just to read all the storys some of the coolest people on earth tell is so exciting. learning about something i already know about was just amazing. and thats what this book is. AMAZING.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a great book. I can understand how if you lived through the times it could be quite boring but hey, I didn't so I thought it was great! I learned SO much!! I'd recommend it for anyone from the new generation of headbangers!
Guest More than 1 year ago
¿It became acceptable to mock heavy metal with Beavis and Butt-head and Wayne¿s World. After that, hardly a devil-horn salute or head-bang existed without an inherent sense f ridicule, sending Skid Row and similar bands to the land of Behind the Music. Given some distance from the genre¿s demise, it¿s refreshing to read Bang Your Head: The Rise and Fall of Heavy Metal, David Konow¿s unsarcastic history of heavy metal. Konow tackles the acceptable (Metallica, Guns n¿ Roses, Slayer) and the absurd (Ratt, Twisted Sister, Cinderella) with the same enthusiasm. Surrounded by hairspray, spandex and a stilleto-clad Tawny Kitaen, Konow delivers an insightful and straightforward retrospective of metal- makeup and all.¿ Jason Buhrmester
Guest More than 1 year ago
A chronological history of metal arranged by genre. Has some interesting stories of life on the road. Many prominent people interviewed for this book. Obscure bands left out, but isn't meant to be totally comprehensive...
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is an easy read, but I'm not sure who the intended audience is that he wrote this for. I wonder because he tends to lean a good bit on some of the cliches, not all them deserved, that still cling on to heavy metal. Either he is not as strong a fan as the promotional literature suggests or he was not writing this book for fans. He also writes mostly of bands that have enjoyed a lot of mainstream notoriety and barely touch on those bands that, although very influential to the genre, did not get much notice by MTV or Rolling Stone. Some great "behind the makeup" stories about KISS though. All in all, worth a read, but not worth buying.