×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bared to You (Crossfire Series #1)
     

Bared to You (Crossfire Series #1)

4.0 3106
by Sylvia Day
 

See All Formats & Editions

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sylvia Day comes the provocative masterstroke of abandon and obsession that redefined the meaning of desire, and became a global phenomenon...

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness…

He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3107 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First off, I haven't written a review in a while. After reading BARED TO YOU by SYLVIA DAY I felt the need to. Sylvia Day brought Eva and Gideon's character to life. You'll love their story, I promise. If you're looking for a book similar To Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James then BARED TO YOU is THE BOOK! It was recommended on the Romance board under Books similar to Fifty Shades of Grey and Fifty Shades Darker. In my opinion I think it's better than Fifty Shades. It may or may not have to do with Sylvia Day being a seasoned author. You can be the judge of that. From the moment Eva and Gideon meet, they're pulled towards each other. Whether it's physical attraction or love at first site, it was a connection they couldn't deny. Shortly after beginning their relationship they find that they're both broken. Eva's revelation of her past and then realization of Gideon's brings them closer. Yet it also exposes how fragile they each are. They're relationship is emotional, intense and complicated. Gideon and Eva are obsessed, possessive and jealous of each other. Put all those verbs and adjectives together and they're sex is explosive as well as they're relationship, if they're not careful. I can't wait for the next book. My only hope is that it's not like Fifty Shades Darker. In Fifty Shades Darker, I just felt saturated with the sex scenes. It seemed as if the sex scenes were overpowering the storyline. About half way through I just skipped the sex scenes. By the end of the book, I felt as if I read the first book all over again. Needless to say I haven't had the inclination to read the third book, Fifty Shades Freed. I'm not saying I'll never read it, I'm just not curious enough to pay $9.99 to know the conclusion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for something after reading the Fifty Shades series. Oh, this so did it for me. LOVED IT! It's hard for me to decide which one I like better (Gideon vs Christian). Ladies, you will not be disappointed, I promise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would love to review the book but won't buy it without a test drive! The sample is 20-something pages of notes and dedications, without a single page from the story, and therefore is completely useless.
shannschoice More than 1 year ago
I've had this one in my TBR pile for awhile. After reading 50 Shades, I decided to give myself a bit of time before delving into this one because of all the talk of the similarities between the two. I'm glad I waited because I think that distance enabled me to appreciate the similarities and differences between the two. Gideon Cross is an uber wealthy 28 year old who happens to run into Eva Trammel as she times her commute from her apartment to her new job at the Crossfire building. She has no idea who the god-like man with dark hair and blue eyes is, but her stirs two emotions in her (even if she didn't quite realize what those were at the time): fear and hope. As I read the first half of the book, I could see how Eva's reluctance to bend to Gideon's will would have others saying this was similar to 50 Shades. He does have stalker tendencies. She, in no uncertain terms, tells Gideon she doesn't want anything to do with him. But for me, once you get past that and follow them as their embark on their relationship the similarities ended. Eva and Gideon both have a very key and vital parts of them that is broken. They have trust issues related to the events that caused them to be the way they are. They both struggle for control over their relationship because that is what they need to make sure the past does't repeat itself. While Gideon tends to alienate himself to ensure complete control, Eva has surrounded herself with people that have just as many issues as she has (which can't be good for her recovery either). Her best friend, Cary, is a recovering something (addict maybe) who she met in therapy in San Diego and hasn't been separated from since. We, along with Eva, get to watch him self-destruct and it makes you wonder what kind of effect that will have on Eva. Then there is Eva's mother. She's a whole lot of "out there" and definitely someone who blurs and crosses lines for her "piece of mind" regardless of the affect that will have on her daughter. While Gideon does fit into that same role with Eva, you can also see a hint of them wanting to break out of the molds they have both put themselves in and work together towards something healthy. The one thing you'd think these two would have it together on was the sex, considering how combustible they were from their very first kiss. But even with sex they had issues, granted not quite as large as everything else in their relationship, but it was still there. I did scratch my head when Gideon declared that Eva was a submissive, because everything we'd seen in their sex life up to that point showed them pretty evenly matched. I mean, who wouldn't melt if you had a god-like man that turned you on giving you multiple orgasms. But after thinking about it, I could see where Eva was a submissive, reluctantly. Clearly it's not going to be a clean and easy process. The last half of the book was messy and emotional, leaving me wondering "what next" as I flipped the page to see what would happen. Sylvia Day has created two very complex characters who's emotional scars are laid bare for us to read. Both of them are hard to connect with, because of those emotional scars, but as the story progresses and they share more of themselves with each other you can start to understand them better. I look forward to reading Deeper In You and learning more about Gideon and Eva.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First thing: This book was one of the best I have read. I have read it at least 4 times and I am already counting the days till the next part is out. Gideon and Eva's characters were heartbreaking and amazing. I love everything about Bared To You. You people who compare it to Fifty Shades irritate me. You obviously know nothing of books. Sylvia Day's writing style is COMPLETELY different from E.L James. You pick up on that as soon as you read the first chapter. I also have Fifty Shades and also have re-read those over and over and they are just as amazing. But Bared To You is nothing like Fifty Shades at all. Two Great books with totally different people and story lines. Bared To You is so full of passion I felt everything they felt and every time I read it I have all the same feelings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found myself reading and thinking to myself, this sounds a lot like fifty. My main problem with "bared to you" was there being absolutely no character build up. I dont sense the connection between the eva and gideon and their relationship starts out rather crude and too quickly for my liking. I was struggling to like the main characters. I dont feel the romance at all, which is what I loved about fifty. This is definitely not "50 times better", it seems more like a wannabe to me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you looking for the next good read after reading "Fifty Shades" series this is it. Also. I recommend JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series book ten Lover Reborn was amazing. Also read The Guardian by Sherrolyn Kenyon which was book 21 in the Dark Hunter series. Let me know what ypu think. Roe:)
jtina206 More than 1 year ago
I loved the Fifty Shades of Grey series and this book doesn't come close to its competition. I was deeply disappointed. Bared to You is just a the awful version of Fifty Shades of Grey. Does anyone see this?? The characters are undeveloped, firstly. At least with Ana Steele and Christian Grey you get a sense of their personalities. Ana- quirky, clumsy, book-work, college student with a low self-esteem. Eva- wealthy, blonde girl that moved from CA who isn't as modest with sex as she should be given her past! I mean, there isn't any tension in this book. They are in top of each other within the first few minutes they have their first conversation (the scene in his office). Then, she initiates sex in the limo exclaiming "I need you"... you barely know him. All of a sudden, she tells him her deepest secrets. It's just ridiculous. Their relationship is moving too fast to seem realistic. Again, lack of development in plot as well as characters. Oh, don't let me forget about Gideon's (hate the name) present to Eva: the ring. The symbolic metaphors he explains when giving her the ring... awful. Barf.
Lexi4u More than 1 year ago
It was hard to find a good book after the Fifty Shades of Grey but i found it in Bared to You, this book kept me reading i couldn't put it down. I was sad though that i have to wait till Oct 2012 for book 2 to find out more about Gideon and Eva.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't believe this book was even published. It's WAY too similar to Fifty, eerily similar, almost at the plagarism level. I didn't particularly care for the Shades trilogy, but while reading this, it made me want to go back to the Shades. The writing was so bad in that trilogy, it was almost comedic. The writing is definitely not as remedial as the Fifty Shades trilogy, but that's where the praise ends. While the characters seemingly had more depth, at least Eva's character did, they were completely unlikeable. I didn't feel a romantic connection between Eva and Gideon. And just like Shades, I became bored with the endless "misunderstandings" and ensuing makeup sex with no real resolution to their problems. Eva's secret was revealed in this book, but now it appears that readers will have to wait until future books to find out what the heck is wrong with Gideon. I hope the next book is free because it pains me to spend money on what will likely be another blah book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading Fifty Shades, I was sure I would not find a book that compared. Christian Grey touchedon that dark sexual side of many us. And who doesn't want to feel cherished and possessd once in awhile. But the story of Gideon and Eva - though equally hot and unyielding - touched me on an even deeper level. As a survivor of sexual abuse, I can relate to both characters... the demons, the struggle, the need for control, the hope for normalcy. Relationships are tough regardless...but when you have two people as broken internally as Eva and Gideon, it can make a relationship impossibly unhealthy...particularly if they are not honest with each other. It is this honesty that separates this book from Fifty Shades for me. These are two broken adults who want a chance at love and happiness after all they have been through and need to be honest with each other to make it work. I loved this book and look forward to the next one!
rochsy3 More than 1 year ago
I'm really looking forward to the next one! It does remind me of the Fifty Shades of Grey series but it had its own charm and its own distinctive characters. Loved it!
Cecita More than 1 year ago
Ok, so I read the 50 Shades Trilogy. While I enjoyed all three books, let's just say they won't be winning any Pulitzer awards. I take these books for what they are: fun and sexy stories. I can't exucse average writing and extreme cheesiness. Having said that, they were fun and so was Bared to You. Are there similarities? YOU BET! Even the way they meet and some dialogue is exactly the same. But I would say this book is a little darker. There is less dom/sub. The sex scenes I think are better described and yes, maybe hotter--I could do without the constant body fluids mentions, though. Since I read 50 Shades first there were few turns of events that surprised me. All in all, unless you are a purist or you thought 50 Shades was of the highest quality, you will have fun with this one.
ereadwithme More than 1 year ago
3stars – Love Letter to Fifty Shades? No way around it. I really didn’t care for this book. I would call it a love letter but it was completely void of romance. If you are into full length erotica, you can’t go wrong here. I happen to like a bit of romance with mine. The similarities to Fifty Shades of Gray couldn’t have been more blatant. Gideon Cross/Christian Gray; Ana/Eva….really? It was so vividly obvious that this was to push the same buttons and it was an effort to not compare them. I didn’t care for the character’s more specifically their traits. He was a rich, handsome, young, physically fit mogul who was also a braggart and couldn’t help trying to impress our female lead by telling her what he owned. She was supposedly a “well-off” “independent” beauty who couldn’t stop being impressed by what he owned which made her come off as the traditional gold-digger to me. Every interaction was a reason to have sex and profess how much they love each other. This was after spending less than 2hours together over a 2day period. Why 3stars? The sex scenes were well done and the secondary characters were worthwhile. I thought both main characters were crass, immature, indecisive pre-teens that happened to be in their twenties. I definitely have no plans to continue this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was soooooo a complete replica of Fifty Shades that it made me so annoyed to continue reading it! Although I funished the book I was completely unimpressed. It was SO similar to Fifty that this tells me how unoriginal and uncreative the author is. The characters were unbeleivable and I lacked a connection....maybe because I already read this story. I am not happy about wasting $5 on a book that I already read, with name changes and a different city.
xo_brooke More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended to me when I was searching online on a book that is similar to the Fifty Shades series. I had just finished the series and loved it. I am giving Bared to You 4 stars because although it was REALLY good, I was disappointed at how much it was like Fifty Shades. Like even some of the lingo back and forth between the two characters I felt was copying. With that aside, I did enjoy the series. The store line is not entirely the same, but it has a lot of similarities (A LOT!). I will be reading the second book of the Crossfire series though when it comes out this October. If you are looking for something like Fifty Shades, I would recommend this. Just be forewarned that it is actually VERY similar. :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample is NOT a sample...You are not given any of the story! Disappointed with that. All you get is reviews and acknowledgements.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read 50 Shades, Bared to You is ten times the story and Sylvia Day is a hundred times the writer. I positively loved this story a lot better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so miffed by people who claim this reminds them of the 50 shades series. Sylvia Day writes circles around the 50 shades author. Eva and Gideon are amazing characters. I adore them. I've read it five times since i bought it!!! If you thought 50 shades was hot this book is going to blow you away. I am chomping at the bit for October when the next book comes out!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was probably the worst book I have ever read it seems to be a quickly put-together imitation if the "Grey" series. Even used the same initials for the main character only reversed. Come on, if you're going to write a book, at least use YOUR OWN imagination.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would have liked an actual sample and not just credits. Worst. Sample. Ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was rather horrible and in my opinion is in no way comparable to Fifty Shades.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found it very difficult to put this book down. The overwhelming attraction both Eva and Gideon have for one another and the difficulties they have to overcome make this an excellent read. Well written with steamy sex scenes, the emotional baggage both have to overcome (which is slowly revealed in the book), the tumultuous relationships with friends and parents keep the book from just being one sex scene after another. This is the first book I've read of Sylvia's but will certainly not be the last.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lets be honest..You can't compare a seasoned author with a person who turned a fan fic into a book. Don't get me I really enjoyed the Fifty Shades story and characters but the writing was not technically good..although it got better as the books progressed. Fifty Shades after awhile did just feel like one S&M sex scene after another....it got to be a little too much for me...but I still loved the series for what it was .....a fun read. NOW BARED TO YOU FOR ME WAS A BETTER TECHNICALLY WRITTEN BOOK. Thats just a fact..it was written by a seasoned auther and it showed..so where I can see the similarities on one hand..to me this was a much more engrossing tale..and the two main characters just seem more real to me. The sex, although plentiful is not as hard core as the Fifty Shades Trilogy which I could relate to more....no hardcore S&M and in this way totally differs from FSoG. The only complaint I would say to Ms Day is this: Please stop using the C**t word so liberally...Im no prude but it was too much and it annoyed me because I loved everything else about the book except for this...to me it just declassed it..even FSoG had enough class not to go there..but just my opinion. I LOOK FORWARD TO OCTOBER THOUGH AND CANT WAIT TO SEE WHATS NEXT FOR GIDEON AND EVA!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. Right up there with 50 Shades, although I may even say that I like this story better than 50 Shades and am looking forward to the follow up in October!