×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jane Eyre (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)
  • Alternative view 1 of Jane Eyre (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)
  • Alternative view 2 of Jane Eyre (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)
  • Alternative view 3 of Jane Eyre (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)
<Previous >Next
     

Jane Eyre (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

4.5 33
by Charlotte Bronte
 
At Thornfield Hall, resolute and independent Jane Eyre finds fulfillment in her duties as governess, and the love of her life in her employer Edward Rochester. But when a dark secret from Rochester's past comes to light, Jane must make the most difficult decision of her life: to stay beside the man she loves regardless of the truth, or to embark upon a new life

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics Jane Eyre (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics Series) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
dragon_5635 More than 1 year ago
This is by far my favorite love story. Beautifully written with a wonderful lesson (and a healthy dash of drama) and absolutely gorgeous!!! I also love the color scheme of this book. Though at first I was slightly confused by the red &quot;gilding&quot; on the pages I quickly got the congruity with Dracula. Although I won't give away the story line, I would recommend anyone read this book especially who need an example of a good love story to throw back at crazed Twilight fans. (Just to clarify, not knocking the Twilight series AT ALL, I just think that how rabid the fans are is hilarious.)
Teya More than 1 year ago
I just got this today. Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books (I bought it on my nook) and so I wanted to find a high quality, attractive paper copy of it. I ordered this one and I absolutely love it! It is great quality, gorgeous, and old-fashioned looking. I can't wait to get more of the books from this classics series.
KBSchmid More than 1 year ago
Jane Eyre is an amazing story, which everyone must read (also, be sure to check out Charlotte's sister, Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights, another fantastic read.) Even if you were required to read it in high school, read it again. It's very good, and one of my favourite stories; which might explain why when I found out B&N came out with new leatherbound books and saw their selections, I squealed in excitement. The edition is very good and is worthy of s place in your permanent library. If you have some of the older Leatherbound Classics, be forewarned that these new ones are not the same size (but they still work with the collection! So still buy it!) If I were to describe these new ones in some other way, it would be like a collection within a collection. All the new editions go together, with being of the same size and having different but similar covers. I'd probably suggest getting Wuthering Heights as a companion piece, but as I said before, it's not totslly necessary since these new books go just as well with the old ones, despite some of their differences.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite classic, by far! I chose it for a book report when I was in middle school and have loved it every since. This copy of it is so beautiful!
Hirondelle More than 1 year ago
A universal tale of love and my favorite book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pi65 More than 1 year ago
I've always wanted to actually read the book, after seeing the movie with Mia Wasikowska, who is amazing! No movie as ever moved me so, and now that I have the book, it makes it even better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dedicatedreader-KR More than 1 year ago
I got this today and the pages were put in upside down.  Beautiful book but not put together correctly.. Very sad and disappointed 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
YT94 More than 1 year ago
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte is a love story that appeals to all audiences. The protagonist, Jane, is orphaned at a young age and sent to live with her Aunt Reed, who scorns her. At the tender age of 10, Jane is sent to an all girls&rsquo; boarding school and from there, begins her education which eventually lands her a job as a governess for the eccentric Edward Rochester. She begins to fall in love with the dark, cold, and abrupt master of the house. Rochester, however, has a secret that threatens to tear them apart. Jane Eyre can be considered to be a feminist. Unlike the other women during the Victorian Era, Jane is outspoken and independent. While she suffers through the plot&rsquo;s twists and turns, she is never portrayed as a &ldquo;damsel in distress&rdquo; or otherwise weak; she is self-reliant. Jane does, however, fall in love with Edward Rochester. At the beginning of his character introduction, readers are able to see him as a mysterious man. He is superior to Jane in the sense that he has money and a higher social standing, and yet it is undeniable that Jane has a superior moral character. This is clearly seen when readers discover the secret Rochester is trying so desperately to hide. In contrast, St. John can be considered Rochester&rsquo;s foil. Where Rochester is impulsive and unpredictable, St. John is austere and ambitious. Jane often associates him with rock, ice, and snow. Jane Eyre, written in the typically flow-y Victorian language, is a book that many readers will be able to relate to. Although the situations may not be representative of what a person today might deal with, the emotions that Jane experiences are ones that everyone feels and connect to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WendyCA More than 1 year ago
I think this is one of the best stories of all time! The is the book responsible for starting my interest in historical romance novels and mysteries. Fantastic page turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago