×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Basketball Jones
     

Basketball Jones

4.2 107
by E. Lynn Harris
 

See All Formats & Editions

AJ Richardson is living the good life. Thanks to his longtime lover, NBA star Dray Jones, he has a gorgeous townhouse in New Orleans, plenty of frequent-flier miles, and an MBA he’s never had to use. Built on a deep and abiding love, their hidden relationship sustains them both. But when Dray’s teammates begin to ask insinuating questions, Dray puts their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Basketball Jones 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 107 reviews.
Miz_j More than 1 year ago
This was a great book, looking at the cover i knew i would love it and i did. This plot was on point at all times, not one dull moment. There were so many twist and turns to keep you hooked but not to many to confuse you. I was some of everything but not overly gay like some of his books tend to be. One of the male characters reminded me of the guy from Housewives of ATLANTA, guess you have to read to find out who.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
E lynn always was a good writer especially how helps the reader understand the difficulties behind being a black gay man. For him to write such a story exposing the behind the scenes with a black gay ball player was jaw dropping to say the least. How they lead double lives makes you think do you really know the person you are sharing your bed with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First book i have read by e lynn harris and it did not let me down! Awesome book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While this book may have been a fun, light, fast read, it in no way packs the emotional punch of E. Lynn's earlier works, particularly Just as I Am and Invisible Life (or my personal favorite, And This Too Shall Pass). In recent years his books have become increasingly cartoonish, and Basketball Jones is no exception. He should be credited for not only starting an important dialogue about sexuality (brothers on the down low), gender, masculinity, and culture but for being willing to explore the complexities of these issues in ways that may not always be easy to empathize with. Bravo to E. Lynn, but if you've never read him before start with one of his better novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i got the book today and JUST finished it. i could not put it down. it is one of his best!
Max1 More than 1 year ago
I just finish reading this book (1 day) and could not put it down. I have read all of E.Lynn Harris books and this is one of his best. A must BUY!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fine night
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me dead to the bed! I was on the plane and needed something to read. So I came across this book. I was so happy I read it. I lived especially for the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"5.9 seconds and it looks like Duke wins 76-65."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ROCK CHALK JAYHAWK #jayhawkforlife
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first E. Lynn Harris book that I've ever read and it was so good. This story was truly a gem to read. I bought this book on my NOOK Tablet and read it in about 12 hours. His characters are so real and the story was very intriguing. It has similar themes to other books written where a gay character is in a romance with someone on the "DL" (down low), but it was so enjoyable and nicely written that I didn't even care. The main character was relatable and I could identify so much with him. My only criticism of the book is that I wish the author did more with scene building. The main character would often be in a different city, but not much was done to build the scenery of the place other than saying he was there. New Orleans was an exception though. He did a good job with building the beauty of NO. Other than that though, the character development and pacing were flawless! This is a book that I would definitely recommend to friends, family, and lovers of the contemporary African-American fiction genre. I have been this excited about a black author since Eric Jerome Dickey. I definitely look forward to reading more of Harris's work! This won't be his last book that I read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of FruitsBasketClan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining book! You won't be disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Isha Matko More than 1 year ago
A must read!