×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Batboy
     

The Batboy

4.2 103
by Mike Lupica
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of HeatTravel Team and Million-Dollar Throw.

Brian is living every baseball kid's dream: he is a batboy for his hometown Major League team. Brian believes that it's the perfect thing to bring him and his big-leaguer dad closer together. And if that weren't

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Batboy (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 103 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Batboy. The dream job of most teenage kids. In the novel, The Batboy by Mike Lupica, Brian Dudley is just that. This is a great sports-fiction novel for all baseball lovers, young or old. Brian's dad, Cole Dudley, had been a major league pitcher for several teams. The problem, he is an awful dad. All he knows how to do is baseball. He lives, sleeps and eats baseball. For this reason he is divorced. Brian still finds sanctuary within it though. When Brian got the job as a batboy, Brian's mom Liz, was reluctant at first. Until she found out that Hank Bishop, Brian's idol and reason he began to love baseball, was traded onto the team. Brian was ecstatic when he heard this. On the other hand, when Brian met Hank it did not go as planned. Never in a million years would Brian think this would happen. Overall, I would give this book 7.5 out of 10 for one main reason. The book was way too predictable. I feel that Brian sticking with Hank through all that happened was touching. Most kids like to be front runners. For example, you are more likely to be a Kobe fan than a Gilbert Arenas fan. Not with Brian though. All those Cleveland fans who burned the LeBron jerseys are the exact opposite of Brian! He kept boxes full of Hank Bishop Memorabilia. I find this very interesting. I infer that Mike Lupica did this for a reason to teach a lesson. That lesson is to stay true to yourself in this case. Although this was not my favorite book ever, I would certainly recommend it to a friend. It is a great adventure for a 14 year old boy with divorced parents to go through. It was also very shocking on how highly you can think of someone and how rude they can be back at you. I would say this book is a very mild page turner. It does not involve much suspense, but being the sports fan I am it made me keep on reading. Additionally, the turns in the novel made it very entertaining. Furthermore, I connected to Brian in this novel. As a matter of fact, it was very easy to do so because we are the same age and have the same interests. In my opinion any sports lover will not have a challenge doing so. Finally, this plot was very believable. Not only did it involve real life situations, but it also explained them. For instance, the author explains that all baseball players go into slumps at one point in their career's or another. As you can see, this is a very entertaining book for all sports fans and I believe you will also enjoy it as much as I have.
Tish_S More than 1 year ago
I'm not usually a huge baseball fan, but Mike Lupica is usually a big seller. So when his new novel came out, I decided to give it a shot. Brian Dudley feels like he's living the dream in his summer job as a batboy for his hometown Major League team. Even though his mom doesn't understand it, especially after his dad left them for the sport; baseball is what makes Brian feel alive. But when his baseball hero, Hank Bishop, seems to be nothing like Brian imagined, and his own hitting sinks into a slump, Brian starts to wonder if baseball's really what it's all about. Brian and Hank soon discover that sometimes you just have to step up to the plate and swing for the fences, even if the only one rooting for you is yourself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it is one of the best book mike has ever wrote 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mike Lupica never ceases to amaze me. He is an outstanding author. He mixes in my favorite sport with emotion and longing. Great job, Lupica!
gcnice97 More than 1 year ago
Mr. Lupica book Batboy focuses on baseball and family. Brian and his mom are working though Brian father's abrupt departure for Japanese baseball.Brian Dudley is a heart broken kid that is longing for his father, all Brian is looking for is for his father to be there for him but his father life was all about baseball. Brian is a player for his town team and also has landed a job as a batboy for the Detroit Tiger and that his hero will be playing for the team. As i was reading this book I could tell Brian life has been hard all the people he loved have disappoint him like his hero Hank and father, but as I keep reading all that disappointment keep him going no matter what came to him just for the love of the game.Brian loyalty to the game is in part an attempt to remain connected with his father, who blazes through town as a talent scout, but does not take the time to say or watch one of his games. Through this story, Brian learns about current problems in the professional sport such as steroids, he learns about role models as well as love for the game. Brian has a ultimate dream of every younfg fan--- geeting to work alongside one's favorite team. " I wish it was me with Delgado Beltron" This book will appeal to any reader who loves baseball. I will recommend this book to all the kids that have a dream of becoming an athletic player because they will learn a lot of things from what any prayer or fan can go though. I think Mike Lupica is a marvelous writer. As i went though this journey reading the Batboy, he has encourage me to read all of his publish books. My next journey will be reading (Heat) also a story about a boy name Michael that has love for the game as Brian and I have.
JoeMitch More than 1 year ago
This book is about a boy who really has a strong love for baseball. The way he shows this passion is very obvious because whenever he talks baseball he talks numbers and really doesn't stop. He also really likes the Tigers especially. And he also has really wanted to be a batboy for the tigers. I really like this book. I think it is very inspiring book because he achieves his dream and really doesn't stop until he does.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book The Batboy by Mike Lupica is an exciting but serious story. When I saw the list for the summer reading just the title of the book got my attention. If you are a baseball fan you would definitely love this book. The way Mike Lupica describes the scenery is amazing. The words that he uses make you feel like you are actually in the story watching a baseball game. This is one of the best books that you can read for the summer. You won't regret reading the novel The Batboy. Mike Lupica's books are great sports lovers. His books are a great way to really enjoy your reading experience. The next books on my list are Summerball and Million Dollar Throw both by Mike Lupica. It's like the best of both worlds reading and sports.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a child, I spent summers in Michigan. The more times I was able to attend a game at Tiger Stadium, the better! I was in love with baseball, and in love with the Tigers through those years - Mark "The Bird" Fidrych, Rusty Staub, Kirk Gibson, Alan Trammell, Jack Morris, Lance Parrish....the list goes on. I truly believed I would one day be the first female pro baseball player! Even though this book takes place at Comerica, it brought to life those childhood images, my love for the game of baseball, and the dream of being a batboy (or girl!). With books like "The Batboy", Lupica has filled a need for literature that appeals to kids who are sports fans, but not necessarily avid readers. And avid readers who are also sports fans, like my daughter, have another enjoyable alternative. As usual, Lupica doesn't "dumb it down" for his young readers, and doesn't shy away from dealing with real-life or controversial issues, like divorce and steroid use in professional sports. I know my kids will enjoy this as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
by Carter watson I chose this book because I really like baseball. I thought the book would be about a boy that got his dreams to be a bat boy .  I felt really good about this book and I really liked it and it was very interesting . This book is about a kid named brain and he wanted to be a bat boy for a team named the tigers . The setting takes place at his house and at a baseball field and he wanted to be a he wants to be a batboy for  the tigers and there was no spot on that team but there was one on the white soxs and he went and talked to them and they let him. The author is Mike lupica and it is a non fiction book.  I liked the book because it was about baseball and the kid tried not to give up and I try not to give up to and I keep on going and it was really interesting.  I would give this book five stars because it was really good.  A kid named brian and his dad played for the tigers but brain did not but brain signed up for a baseball team but later he did not know if his dad liked baseball anymore so he wanted to be a bat boy and his dreams came true.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Introduction The theme of the book is dreams can come true. Mike wrote the book because he wanted kids to know that dreams can come. Batboy is a great book to me because it’s about baseball, and I like sports. If you are not a sports fan, Batboy would not be the best read for you. Description and summary of content The book was written by Mike Lupica. The book is about Brian Dudley. During the summer he gets a job as a batboy for his favorite MLB team. He is a batboy for the Detroit Tigers. That’s why it is called Batboy. Brian’s favorite player is Hank Bishop. Brian’s dad played in the majors. He was a pitcher. When Brian first meets Hank it doesn’t go well, but as time goes on they get closer and closer. Brian plays for an all-star baseball team. Their team name is the Sting. Evaluation It was one of the best books I have ever read. I don’t read very often, but it was still a great book. It has a good theme and is very interesting. At some points I had trouble putting it down. Its purpose is to tell readers dreams can come. Conclusion It’s a great book. There’s a little bit of everything in it. If you aren’t a sports kind of person, this book probably isn’t the best for you. But if you like sports I would highly recommend this book. Brian becomes a batboy for the Detroit Tigers. He meets Hank Bishop. He plays for an all-star baseball team called the Sting. Brain and Hank have their ups and downs, but they end up being close I loved the book. If you are looking for a book for your child, this would be a great book for any kid.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read four othe Mike Lupica books but this was the BEST by FAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read one or two other Mike Lupica books but The Batboy seemed to be the best one i have read yet. This book made me actually eager to find out what was going to happen next. I thoroughly enjoy every part of this book, there was very small slow parts but they didn’t seem to phase me from wanting to keep reading. The fact the boy was able to be batboy and have to face one of his all time favorite players was just basically a plot that seemed interesting to me, and clearly kept me reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not read it yet but l might yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was about a boy getting a summer job as a batboy for the Tigars. His dad is an out of the country pitching coach. Will his dad ever come home? This book is of my favorites books I ever read. This the first Mike Lupica book I read. Thanks for reading what I think of this book. Thanks again, Matthew.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But i hear its a good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago