×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Beachcombers
     

Beachcombers

3.4 97
by Nancy Thayer
 

See All Formats & Editions

Abbie Fox hasn’t seen her father or two younger sisters in almost two years. But now Lily, the baby of the family, is sending Abbie urgent emails begging her to return home. Their middle sister, Emma, has taken to her bed, devastated after losing her high-powered job and breaking up with her fiancé. Also, Lily is worried that the beautiful, enigmatic

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Beachcombers 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 97 reviews.
retromom More than 1 year ago
Beachcombers is the story of three sisters who come back home to Nantucket for the summer. Lily - the youngest sister - emails Abbie - the oldest sister - to come home because she is concerned about Emma who is going through a nasty breakup as well as their father, Jim's financial issues. Jim rents out the girl's childhood playhouse to Marina who is recovering from a divorce. Their mother had formed the Beachcombers Club with them when they were children, teaching them to look for something more in the sand and in life. After she had died when the girls were young, Abbie tries to take over the role as mother as best she can. As adults, each of the women are in need of hope and healing, and the beautiful setting of Nantucket seems to be just the ticket. On their arrival back to Nantucket, the girls seem to fall back into their appointed roles as sisters. Nancy Thayer does an excellent job describing beautiful Nantucket - I could almost feel the sand between my toes. Lily drove me nuts! She enjoyed her role as a society reporter just a tad too much which made her come across as shallow to me. One of my favorite characters was Millicent Bracebridge, an elderly woman Emma was hired to read to every day. She was very wise and full of grand advice. I wouldn't mind spending an afternoon reading Agatha Christie to her, one of her favorites. I loved every minute I spent reading this novel. Each chapter is told from one of the women's perspectives but the story flows very nicely. I enjoyed the dynamics between the four women and the people they encounter over the summer. There were enough twists and turns to keep me reading. This book is a great summer read - not too demanding but quite enjoyable.
NookloverJJ More than 1 year ago
Great book! Couldn't put it down! Can't wait to read other books by Nancy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up at my local B&N store, perusing the new releases and looking for a good "end to summer read". This satisfied my desires. With so much happening before we fully know the cast of characters, and each character carrying their own "suitcase" with them, the author did a fantastic job developing the plot and helping readers fully understand each of the characters. It was a quick read, one that I could not put down, and I would recommend this to others.
leigh9834 More than 1 year ago
Love the author, liked the book. Could have done w/out Lily always whining, but overall a good book.
Kate Wiley More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! Enjoyed following each character's story, thought it was original and well writen.
Sharon_Waldrop More than 1 year ago
All four of the romances in this book developed way to fast and were unrealistic to me, making the storyline a bit corny. Since when does a man propose to a woman who isn't even his girlfriend yet, or who they haven't dated?
Gioia Turner More than 1 year ago
a good look into thd heart. a eminder to not assume, nor think you know what someone elase is thinkinv amd going through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed Nancy Thayer's books for several years. But, I feel that after the "Hot Flash Club Books", which were enjoyable, but, in my view, a different style from her other books, I feel her writing has declined a little. By this I mean that the plot was so predictable - each sister, and the woman renting the cottage, met and quickly fell in love with someone, which just doesn't happen in real life. But that's also what made the book an enjoyable read, and hard to put down because it was interesting enough that I wanted to see what was going to happen next. There were some surprises, so overall I am happy with the book and will continue to follow her novels.
mrsutton25 More than 1 year ago
A very enjoyable beach read. The author does a graet job pulling you into the story and brining out the personality of all her characters. I definately recommend reading if you want a light summer read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good to test
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hopefulHS More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the main story line and all the mini stories taking place at the same time. Keeps your interest. I was constantly wanting to just read the first page of the next chapter before stopping, but would end up reading the whole chapter. I'd go through this process until I HAD to stop for an important reason. Related to the story so that made it even better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These girls waste no time jumping in bed with a man. I almost gave up on this one as the storyline is so slow to develop. I could have written the ending myself. The author comments about growing up in Wichita, KS and that Kansas was a dry state. I also grew up in Kansas. What are you talking about Ms. Thayer?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago