×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Becoming Human
     

Becoming Human

3.9 33
by Eliza Green
 

Two Worlds. Two Species. One Terrifying Secret.
Earth is overcrowded and polluted.
A new planet, Exilon 5, has been located.
But Exilon 5 is already occupied.

In 2163, a polluted and overcrowded Earth forces humans to search for a new home. But the exoplanet they target, Exilon 5, is occupied.

Having already begun a massive relocation programme

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Becoming Human 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
JohnPicha More than 1 year ago
Insightful, and intriguing tour of the future. After poisoning the Earth, humanity packs up it's societal baggage and takes off for the stars. "Becoming Human" explores the middle history of humanity's future in a "grass is always greener in space" tale told from two planet's points of view. On Earth, characters go about their daily business while living in an ecological crisis. On Exilon 5, colonist of a New World Order attempt to make the environment more habitable for themselves, while forcing the indigenous life to adapt to people. It's kind of a warning from the future to get our act together in the present with an espionage arch across the tale. If you're a fan of Phillip K Dick you might appreciate the "who's watching who" paranoia coil that winds through it. If you like a lot of technical information about imagined words as you explore them, or if you like the themes explored in "Day After Tomorrow" or "When Worlds Collide", and if enjoy "Star Trek the Next Generation" style of characterization in your sci-fi, you’ll probably enjoy "Becoming Human." It's worth the trip.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's overall fine, but word usage seemed weird in places and some sentences didn't make sense. Also, having a military background, much of the military aspects of the book didn't make any sense whatsoever and I find it hard to believe the author has any knowledge of actual militaries which detracted significantly from the story for me. Sure, It's placed in the future, give some room for artistic licence as well, but that just doesn't account for the extent of it. Looking at some of these reviews makes me wonder if I somehow received a 1st draft of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
**spoiler alert** The only reason I don't give 5-stars is because there are no true aliens in this story. The narrative is a bit slow up to the 1/2 to 2/3 of the novel but it picks up better in the remainder. I would probably also enjoy switching the location of each chapter instead of going 2-3 chapters on the same location. Another annoyance is the work of the document filers ?!? Seems super silly but eventually you get over and accept it as a plot to tell relevant facts. Overall, it's a well told story about planet colonization by humans, but like I said, a bit disappointed that there are no true aliens.
Kiribear13 More than 1 year ago
I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. Becoming Human (the 1st book in the Exilon 5 Trilogy) is written by Eliza Green. Admittedly I was surprised that this was written by a woman, from the first 1/3 of the book, I had the feeling that it was written by a man. Considering that the story is told predominantly through the eyes of men, I must commend Eliza on capturing the essence of man in storytelling views. Becoming Human is based in the year 2163 when Earth is overpopulated and polluted to the point that the sun is no longer visible in the sky and the temperatures have dropped. A planet named Exilon 5 has been terraformed and has replicated 5 major cities that people have started being transported to. However, the race that was on Exilon 5 before the terraforming process were not completely annihilated and have continued to thrive under the surface. Eliza does a great job of combining many fears and speculations into her futuristic novel. Everyone has an ID chip embedded in their thumb that is used for everything from signatures to building entry. Overcrowding has reached the point that bodies of water have been filled in to create more housing. Medical advances allow people to live well into their 100s, reaching 175 as a ripe old age. Optional suicide booths that inject a substance to painlessly kill people due to the mass overcrowding. Workers are required for weeks at a time with drugs that allow them to stay awake and only getting hours or a single day off after a week or longer shift. With no space for additional housing and the lack of sunlight from the layer of pollution, food can no longer be grown on Earth and people eat and drink substances from food replication machines to get the appropriate nutrients. Vitamin D shots are readily available for mood enhancement due to the lack of sunlight. The Prologue to the book had useful information but was very dry and overly technical. It kind of set a negative tone for the book, and I was a little worried about whether or not I would be reading an enjoyable story or a science fiction technical novel; luckily the rest of book is much more inviting and easy to become immersed in. Eliza has written a lot of characters that are cold and detached in many ways, and yet still have the ability for you to get to know them and want to know more about their stories. The main negative thing that I have to say about this book would be the dry prologue and the fact that it needs a cleaner edit. There were times within the novel that some sentences would be incomplete or missing a word on the end of them. Becoming Human is written from many different perspectives to give a "whole picture" kind of feel. In the beginning it took a little bit of getting used to with a bit of jumping around in locations, but once I got into the story line and used to the different locations of main characters I had no problems seamlessly switching between people and locations for more pieces of the puzzle that was uncovering the big secret of Exilon 5. Overall I think that Eliza has a winning story with Becoming Human. I enjoyed the characters and was definitely feeling anger and disgust at what the leading organizations have been up to, and I am definitely interested in reading the second book: Altered Reality. I give this book 4/5 stars, and could easily bump it up to 5 with some cleaner edit and a prologue that was easily to connect with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great new take on futuristic sci-fi, i absolutely loved it and can't wait for the next installment! So well written i became lost in it and would reaf for hours without realization. If at first you have slight confusion, just keep reading it will all start to come together become clear. Cant't wait for more from this author! Two thumbs up!
maffism More than 1 year ago
Green's not green when it comes to writing amazing books. I shall seek out all her other books vailable now and in the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not going to go into details of character and plot development etc because other reviewers have done a great job of it. Suffice to say that I bought this book on a whim, not knowing the writer and, thinking the story would be a drag. I was surprised by how well written it was and how it drew me into the plot. Stephen and Taggart are excellent characters and the women are still very strong and decisive. I was left wanting more and will be buying the 2nd book today. I give it 4.5 stars because of a few details probably due to it being a first book. Otherwise it's a 5
KHWicklund More than 1 year ago
Wishing I found this book after the trilogy was done, now I'll have to wait for the next book. Can't wait to read it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great start to the series. Can't wait for more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe the writer lacks enough experience to write this sort of story. Too much of a technical is just silly or flat wrong. Her adult characters all act like twelve-year olds without any reality:they are largely cardboard cut-outs. Why anyone would read all three of these "stories" is beyond understanding. JC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who Is the Alien Here? If you like science fiction, the start of Eliza Green's "Becoming Human" pulls you in. Space ships from Earth prepare an exoplanet for human use by altering the atmosphere to be poisonous to the intelligent race already living there. Then we get a human perspective. OK. Then the story switches to an Indogene. Fine. Subsequently we see little flashes of experience from a boy, an office worker, an air traffic controller trainee, a pilot, ... all in the first ten chapters. There are even more later. Although most of these stories come together late in the book, some drop out and some do not seem to add anything. For example, readers do not need to know about the pilot and her daughter, certainly not two chapters' worth. Too many points of view. Some phrases and whole sentences are repeated. It is a bad sign when 90% of the way through the book the author is explaining a previously unencountered security measure that is supposed to address a situation that never materializes. The worst fault of the book is that it ends on a cliffhanger. The only issue that is resolved is the human questioning the Indogene, "What are you?" All other questions are left unanswered, characters are in peril, some characters' obsessions do not make any sense because they are never explained and never come to anything. Not recommended. Too bad. It had such a promising beginning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book. I'm anxiously awaiting the next book (and continuation of this story) by Eliza Green.
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
In the future, through overuse, over abuse and over-population, Earth has become toxic to human life. Light years away, exoplanet Exilon 5 is discovered to be a plausible place to relocate humans to. Only problem? It’s already inhabited by another species. Solution? Force the indigenous population to die, or adapt to the changes necessary to support human life. Or, just maybe, they will learn to adapt and hide underground, seeking ways to learn about the invaders. Maybe they have grown smarter, more powerful and superior in many ways to the human race. Bill Taggert, an International Task Force Agent, is charged with investigating this race, called Indigenes, but Bill has his own agenda on Exilon 5. His wife is missing and presumed murdered by the Indigenes and he intends to get definitive answers in the hopes of finding closure. Contact has been made with an Indigene, Stephen, but attempts to capture him failed. Meanwhile, a young woman, Laura, on her first day at a new high security job at the ESC (Earth Security Center), has discovered highly sensitive files that she can’t help but read. When she is secretly given more information on the same subjects, Bill Taggert and the Indigenes, she is drawn into a twisted and terrifying conspiracy that runs all the way to the top of the political chain. What are the dark secrets being withheld from the population? Why is it necessary for every action made by the population to be monitored by the government? Viewed and told through multiple POVs, the plot is intricate, involved and intense. With several necessary subplots racing along concurrently, the answers to what is going on will be HUGE! Remember, two worlds, two races, two histories, but what about the future?? Good intentions vs selfish desires are all part of this story, too. What will the final outcome be? Will the human race destroy another world in its quest for supremacy and survival or are the only the privileged few going to come out on top? Eliza Green had me from page one. Her creative world-building constructed a panoramic view of the consequences of two worlds colliding where both sides want to win, neither trusting the other. Will good conquer evil? I, for one am looking forward to book two, especially after book one’s stellar ending! If you like Sci-fi, futuristic tales, dystopian worlds with underdog ‘good guys’ fighting the good fight, I think you’ll like this! After book one, and meeting Daphne, I’m rooting for the Indigenes!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Very well written. I did not get caught up in correcting grammer like I do with some other epub books. The plotline was engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
BrianIndianFan More than 1 year ago
The year is 2163, and humanity has found itself in a golden age - a nirvana in terrestrial form where nations live like a Coke commercial - sharing smiles and pop across the world. Eh, not so much. As you might expect, the earth is gunked up and sunlight barely gets through, causing an almost perpetual winter and forcing its inhabitants to wear gas masks simply to live. But - GOOD NEWS! - we've terraformed the planet Exhilon 5 for future colonization, and only two weeks away thanks to hyperdrive. The not-so-originally named "World Government" (one almost expects its logo to be some form of the generic food packaging of my youth) is not able to clean up planet earth, but can turn another world into a paradise. (That's not how this works; it's not how any of this works, folks.) And - as you'd see if you read the book - the not-so-cleverly-named Indogene aren't quite what they seem to be. This dysfunctional world society has tougher working conditions that one of Kathy Lee Gifford's off-shore factories; multiple days of continuous work - as in a week straight - as in 168 hours in a row, supplemented by adrenaline shots and NO TALKING TO YOUR CO-WORKERS! Given the state of the current world working situation, this slouching towards Gommorah is supposed to go the other way - 1 day on, 5 off because we're lazy. Realistically, I could go on, but the point of all of this snark is that there are some parts of the book that cause one's Suspension of Disbelieve to get up and slap you for insulting its intelligence. The World Government rulers may as well have been portrayed by the family of Snidely Whiplash for as two-dimensional as they were. In fact, no one really has any color. It's a story that could've have been told in a single story and not dragged out to three. There's just not that much there, there. BOTTOM LINE: A passable scifi story for summertime reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book wasn't excellent, but it was relatively well-written and thoroughly thought-provoking. It also doesn't follow established plot stereotypes, giving the work a fresh, appealing air.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written, and very engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Naive, Illogical. My problem with this book is very common mistake Sci-Fi authors make when giving civilization technology to quickly transform atmosphere of foreign, hostile world but unable to tackle bit of pollution on their own planet. So we end up moving 20 million people (and I guess all animals, plants or seeds) from earth to another system. Really? This makes vely little sense. So again quickly I get turned off to the whole book after reading first few pages. Sorry for not finishing the book and reviewing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Almost 4stars but it tended to bog down at spots. You know, the parts where you start flipping pages ahead till the wheels break free. But for that, a very good book. Dale M. Baranoski
Anonymous More than 1 year ago