×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Becoming Me (Diary of a Teenage Girl Series: Caitlin #1)
     

Becoming Me (Diary of a Teenage Girl Series: Caitlin #1)

4.7 108
by Melody Carlson
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the fictional Diary of a Teenage Girl, sixteen-year-old Caitlin O'Conner reveals the inner workings of a girl caught between childhood and womanhood ... an empty life without Christ and a meaningful one with Him. Through Caitlin's candid journal entries we see her grapple with such universal teen issues as peer pressure, loyalty, conflict with parents, the longing

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Becoming Me (Diary of a Teenage Girl Series: Caitlin #1) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 106 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wasn't sure if I liked this book at first, but be sure to stick with it, because it gets better. Seriously. I almost cried at some parts. Read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very inspirational and uplifting book and i'm excited to read the rest of the series i love this book so much i'v read the first and the second book twice very encouraging:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read couldn't put it down! This is coming from a teenage girl. Any teen girl who is lost or confused sould, no, NEEDS to read this book!
dramaqueen1644 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I am currently doing two projects on this book. That is how much i love this book! 
Hilnotsoduff92 More than 1 year ago
I read these books as a teen girl. They were AMAZING! This is coming from a girl who doesn't really like to read either. So take my advice & if you have the chance, pick these up & read them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book showed so many challenges a person in middle / high school would go through. Wanting to do things the right way I felt this book really lifted my spirits and showed to rely on god totally!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are wondering if this is the book for you to read the answer is yes. I'm in 7th grade and I'm not really the reading type of person and when my friend made me try these books it just was so easy to read. I didn't have any problems of tryig to find a good book to read when i finished the kim books and i wont any time soon. I givethis book and all the rest in this series a two thumbs up
harmonyturtle More than 1 year ago
When I was in high school The Diary of a Teenage Girl series was huge. I remember I even did a book report on one of the books in the series in the 9th grade. For the first time I was reading a Christian teen book that was candid about the struggles encountered. Becoming Me is the first book in the whole series, and features, Caitlin. Caitlin is in high school, and she is beginning to realize how the world her parents raised her in is actually nothing like that. She discovers problems in her parents' marriage, and how her friends haven't stuck by the same lifestyle she thought was so easy to maintain. Not only that, but the guy she has a crush on turns out to have his own problems with playing the field. This book deals with so many topics that are ahead of how Christians still struggle to approach them including infidelity, pregnancy, and much more. I remember reading this book I found Beanie to be very intriguing. She is Caitlin's best friend, I figure it was her artsy nature that stood out to me. I still remember the rough time she had with her boyfriend, who was a runner in the book. When I think of how long ago it's been since I first read this book, and how much I still remember from it, it causes me to realizes how much of an impact it had on me. I definitely recommend this book for teenagers, particularly girls, since it provides a very good, real, role model. This book does advocate, I Kissed Dating Goodbye, which I've always had mixed feelings about though. Girls can't expect their dating life to be like Caitlin's and everything fall in place when it needs to. I figure dating casually, or seriously, gives you insight about yourself you wouldn't otherwise have. If you're looking for a good book that is a quick read, or you're a teenager then I would say you've found your book. I really enjoyed this novel as a teen, and it still stands out to me to this day. This book was provided by Glass Road Public Relations in exchange for a review.
AmyLeeBell More than 1 year ago
Becoming Me by Melody Carson follows the story of Caitlin, a teenage girl who has just decided to pick up a pen and diary and record the events of her life. Immediately, we are transported to a world of youth groups and high school, friendships and cliques. She struggles with each new relationship and many old ones, and in the midst of everything, she searches for the answer to her existence. I haven't finished a book that quickly in YEARS! It arrived in the mail on Wednesday. Even while juggling homeschooling, laundry, and dishes, I still managed to finish it on Thursday. The author has amazing insight into the mind of a teenage girl. So many of the topics and feelings she brought up seemed to come straight from my own teenage thoughts and experiences. It was great to revisit some of these feelings, looking back on them with a little bit of humor and a whole lot of contemplation. I kept wishing that the diary were a real one, instead of fictional. The story meant a great deal to me, and the characters seemed like living and breathing people. I yearned to be able to shoot Caitlin an email to see how she's been doing lately.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome! I couldn't put it down. I recomend this book fo everybody! Helps you learn more about God.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg i just loved this book i couldnt wait to find the second one but i cant figure out were to find it yet because i got this nook from the library were i live and i have to take it back but i love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book it was really good,if you havent read it than i beg you to get it. It is a really christian book it has help me alot! ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this book! I like how it is in the form of a diary. It teaches many good life lessons and much more! I can't wait to read the next one!!
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
If you have ever wondered what the average high school girl would write about in her diary, then look no further than Melody Carlson's, Becoming Me: Diary of A Teenage Girl, Caitlin #1. The reader is taken into the diary of Caitin O'Connor, a sixteen-year old Junior in high school dealing with all the things a typical girl would and chronicles her journey in a diary. From what it's like with her best friend Beanie, who has been with her through thick and thin, dealing with a father who was addicted to cocaine and subsequently left her and her mother, Beanie is the friend, who Caitlin believes will always be there for her. Until she wonders what it would be like to hang out with the popular kids. When Caitlin is involved with Jenny Lambert, cheerleader and the most popular girl in school, during a honor society task for decorating for the Valentine's day dance, Caitlin, soon discovers that life on the other side isn't always greener. Choosing to ignore her friend Beanie, rather than risk introducing her to the popular group she is now a part of, she finds life is a whole lot different. When Caitlin is invited to a birthday party of Heather's boyfriend and her parents agree to let her go, simply because she is attending it with Jenny, she finds out that the parents aren't home and alcohol is now flowing. Even though she knows better than to drink at the party, fearing what may happen to her if her parents find out, she nonetheless agrees to let Jenny driver her home, after Jenny swears she's fine to drive. She writes that even her parents have cautioned her against under age drinking, she tells that no one told her how to avoid what to do when a friend is drunk and you have no way home. I received this book compliments of Glass Roads Public Relations for my honest review and think that both parents and teens should read this book together. It definitely gives parents an idea from a teen's perspective on what they think and what is important in their lives growing up in high school. It provides an outlet that parents and their teens can open discussions up to what they can do when faced with any of this situations and create a more open communication with their kids. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know what is going on with our kids today and what they are thinking.
Icecream18 More than 1 year ago
The best quality this book contains is the main character. She was really easy to connect with, very likable. She is brave and intelligent, she experiences a lot of "life" in the short span of this book; some of it is unfortunate, some is makes the reader cheer, and others are more neutral. Caitlin is the readers' guide in the book, speaking in the first person-making it even easier to connect with her too. It is hard not to experience everything through Caitlin's eyes as if it is happening to you too. The author manages to make each scene and feeling dynamic and all to real. She questions God, after all what kind of a God would let some of these events happen to her? Her father has an affair, her crush falls in love with her best friend, etc... Rather than petty, Caitlin's feelings come across as raw and unhurried. The reader doesn't get overly involved with secondary characters, but in this novel that kind of quality would simply bog the plot down. This book is fairly fast-paced, there is plenty of action/drama/intrigue, and the ending isn't really an ending-perfect. This book is recommended for young adults/teens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Michelle Bennett More than 1 year ago
I go to Heritage Christian School and I checked this book out of my school library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago