×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage
     

Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage

3.6 154
by Kody Brown, Meri Brown, Janelle Brown, Christine Brown, Robyn Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

The stars of the hit show Sister Wives present an uncensored, unedited look at life in their plural marriage.

In many ways, the Browns are like any other middle-American family. They eat, play, and pray together, squabble and hug, striving to raise happy, well-adjusted children while keeping their relationship loving and strong. The difference is,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 154 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! It's a very easy and enjoyable read however, if you've seen every episode of Sister Wives, including the "bonus" behind the scenes interview shows TLC has aired, you won't really find out much that you don't already know. I was hoping the book would shed some light on how the family financially supports 5 adults and all of those kids, but they are as vague about it in the book as they are on the show. That is just one of the many things I'm curious about when it comes to Kody and his family. I wouldn't consider their book a waste of time to read, but I do wish I hadn't wasted $12 on it because I basically paid for the same information twice, first to the cable company and now to Barnes & Noble. They should have spent the time to go more in depth and to address some of the things they don't get into or have time to go into detail about on the show. The editors didn't do a very good job either. There are more spelling and grammatical errors in this book than in any other book I've ever read, there's a lot of redundancy and it just didn't flow as smoothly as it should.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were really good friends from beginning but that wasn't the case exactly.I was especially disappointed with how Meri treated Janelle early on and even today, they still haven't worked on things from the past but it seems like they want to start trying to. Not trying to go into to much detail but it was a very good read a lot questions that I had were answered. Still don't agree with the lifestyle but I appreciate the honesty of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished this book and was more than pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it! While I am a fan of the show, I definitely had my own negative thoughts about the lifestyle the Brown's live...until now. The book answered many of my questions and misconceptions about their lives. I definitely commend them for being brave enough be open and honest about their livess, but most of all for educating people about a topic that is so controversial. Ecellent read,
Beekermlady More than 1 year ago
I wrote a whole review that somehow got erased, so I'll sum it up. The book was an OKAY read but the timeline was sometimes confusing. Overall, I believe the book would have benefited from not having Kody's perspective represented at all. His parts were shallow, long-winded and confusing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, I follow the show faithfully!!!! I still myself could not live this lifestyle!!!!! However the individual stories where interesting but, seemed to be carefully thought out just like the Q & A's on the show. I am a christian and daily try not judge others, I do feel that america judges the Brown's, their choices and their lifestyle. I have to keep myself incheck to keep my thoughts to myself, my husband hates that I watch the show and he actually says hey your judging them after a show and I will say something or tend to favor one wife(Christine) mostly, truthfully she seems the most lost & hurt and ignorned to me, she just touches my heart more, then I think wait they all our very different and face many of the same struggles I do in my life!!!! The book gives you insight and voices from each wife and Kody far more than the show!!!! I read it in 2days and see that each person has his/her own weakness/strenghts I have read so many stories on pologamy Alyssa Wales/Flora Jessop/Caroline Jessop and many others. I had a perception that all poligamists where they same. However after watching the show and following blogs and reading the book, I have came to a understanding that they are indeed different then what I believed of pologamists. There is to much hate in this world, mostly we hate and fear what we do not understand or that differs from our own beliefs or lifestyles. I believe God wants us to see past differences in any situation and see what is the heart!!! Love, understanding in knowledge is the key to understanding anything life whirls at you, especially when its not your own personal normal. Good luck Brown's!!!!!!! Robin Pittsburgh, PA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is nice to see a family who sticks by each other and their beliefs. As a fan of the show it was nice to read a deeper view of their history and family dynamic. They are just like every other family. Imperfect people trying to live their beliefs and raise a family.
Aunt-BeeEB More than 1 year ago
This book is a great addition to the show. If you like the show, read the book. I found it gave a lot of insight to the attitudes of the individual adults in this family. I do not agree with their beliefs or lifestyle but I feel I have a better understanding of the unit now that I have read the book. I think they are good people who are maybe just misguided. Regardless, I find them interesting and a warm group of people. I love the show.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy watching the TV show and found the book to be quite informative of the mechanics of how it all REALLY works vs. What we are shown on TV. There were parts of the book that had me telling my husband that I wanted Sister Wives! (well, they can't sleep with him though) as the idea of having chores split up, and being able to go work while I had a fully competent other woman who loves my kid as her own watching her, sounds great! But there are those moments where you realize just how much character and strength you have to have in order to participate in this lifestyle. Only complaint about this book was I found Kody's blurbs lacking. Not in that there weren't enough, just that they said much the same thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the book was just a reinforcement of the show...i didn't really learn anything new...but it was a good enough read...it was very nice to read that the wives feel very empowered in the dynamic of their marriage...kody did not contribute as much as the four wives...but he is outnumbered!
JSquirrel More than 1 year ago
Love the show, find the Brown's interesting! The book however is poorly written, jumps around and is at times very confusing. Not to mention the spelling and grammatical errors that run through it. Also did anyone else notice that it is basically a love fest to Robyn and how until she came into the family it was just a mess of people living in a daze... that is what I took away from it, they seemed honest and open until they started talking about Robyn, it was like I was jealous when Robyn joined the family but that was my issue and in no way represented her... maybe she can't handle criticism. I like learning about them from when before the show began but they should have used an actual writer to tell their story. Polygamy amongst consenting adults doesn't bother me, to each their own, what I find confusing is the fact that they don't take much time to get to know each other, they just seemed to see each other across the room and know they were meant to be together, court (for a very short period of time) and get married... I guess whatever works for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the show and the Browns! This book goes more indepth into each wive's personalities and personal stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do people not understand that a book review is your opinion on THE BOOK and not your beliefs about the Browns or their chosen lifestyle! Its annoying to try and find out if the book is a good read only to have to sift through peoples rants!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has a lot of typos (a pet peeve of mine), but it is a must read if you are a fan of the show! This book offers great insight into each of the wives' personal history and their journey to becoming a part of the Brown family. I would agree with some of the other reviewers' comments regarding the book changing my perception of some of the wives. Everyone is very candid in sharing their personal struggles within the family, specifically with other wives. I found their honesty refreshing and truly enjoyed this book!
cissybaby More than 1 year ago
For those who do not 'get' the notion of plural marriages and maybe for those that do. A very absorbing book from start to finish. The book helps to understand each of the characters on the popular TV series of the same name.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have finished the book now and like many reviewers i see it as a repeat of much that i had already seen on the show but still a good read. Still lots of things i am curious about that were not addressed. Such as do they have health insurance and are Meri and Mariah the only ones who could benefit from it or Kodys Social Secirity? Not any of my business, i know, just a curiousity. The editing of this book leaves much to be desired. The editor needed an editor...lots of errors. But i really did like it and would reccomend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not agree more with everything you said. I also did change the way I think about meri after reading about her. I also lost interest in kody as well, when jenelle was about to cry cause kody was leaving on a trip with meri, and she thought he was about to laugh at her. The book brought out alot of the things that would be wrong about this lifestyle, the pain and hurt not just good things.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book had very limited new information. I love the show and the wives. I recommend it if you haven't seen the show. But if you are a fan like me it's not worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Considering the book is about 5 adults, 16 children and only 214 pages its easy to see they have left the reader to fill in too many blanks. The Browns have allowed themselves to benefit financially with both the show and the book but are still only willing to give up such a small amount of themselves. I remember in the beginning thinking "how sick amd crazy are these people" but yet was drawn back to watching. Now i have a much fonder perspective of live and let live and wanting to get to know the family better. Unfortunately the book offers nothing new, After watching the recap and interview of the last show, everything in the book was already divulged.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A quick read and very interesting. The parts written by the women were definitely more interesting than the parts written by Kody, however.
katbeth More than 1 year ago
Nothing new if you already watch the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the show Sister Wives and for anyone who has watched the series, this book will be a repeat of all of the "couch sessions". Every wife takes a turn at repeating what the others have said. No new insight is given to this family and it became a boring read. Half way through the book, I started skimming over paragraphs. If you've seen the show...don't bother with the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I find this book very interesting and full of the more in-depth details one wonders about while watching the reality tv series, I am disappointed with the small inconsistencies in stories throughout. I suppose it is due to each wife seeing what happened from her own point of view, however it seems as though there are just too many inconsistencies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you read the first chapter you have pretty much read the whole book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of the Brown family, and while reading each of their stories was interesting, the book was a slow (and often somewhat boring) read for me. I'm a tad disappointed.
SherryinBA More than 1 year ago
I could not finish this book. The stories from each wife are identical, except for their background and upbringing. I was very disappointed.