×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee
  • Alternative view 1 of The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee
  • Alternative view 2 of The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee
     

The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee

3.6 197
by Sarah Silverman
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the outrageously filthy and oddly innocent comedienne and star of the powerful 2015 film I Smile Back Sarah Silverman comes a memoir—her first book—that is at once shockingly personal, surprisingly poignant, and still pee-in-your-pants funny. If you like Sarah’s television show The Sarah Silverman Program, or memoirs such as

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bedwetter 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 197 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a fan of Sarah Silverman's comedy, I was looking forward to reading her memoir, "The Bedwetter : Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee". The book did not disappoint. It is one of the rare memoirs that manage to be both concise and insightful. Silverman bravely devotes much of the book to her childhood battles with depression and enuresis. She also discusses her days as a struggling comic and her views on topics like fashion and religion. Her account of writing for Saturday Night Live in the'90's is especially interesting. Regardless of the subject matter, each chapter is peppered with the clever humor Silverman fans have come to expect. The only complaint I have is that Silverman completely ignores the existence of one of her sisters when talking about her childhood, only to introduce her later in the photographic section of the book and never mention her again. Other than that, I highly recommend "The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee" to anyone who is not easily offended.
Baron_Von_Literature More than 1 year ago
It has been a long time since I dipped quill in ink to pen a thoughful review, and it'll be a lot longer than now too. That's because I don't think this book was great...wait for it...I KNOW it was great! Many people know of Ms. Silverman's smokin' hot body of work, her unceasing efforts to advance the study of Doodyology at Cambridge, or her championing of the case to spread awareness of Matt Damon f***ing. These are all admirable in their own right, but now she has completely raised the bar by writing a book FOR FREE, and GIVING IT AWAY. All proceeds go to charity. Oh, wait. $25.99? She's keeping the money? Well it doesn't matter; i'm gay for Sarah Silverman and I'm a dude. Reading this is like being along for the ride of her life so far. The writing is so vivid, you actually FEEL like you're waking up with her in a pee-soaked bed. All the other words I would use to describe "The Bedwetter" keep getting censored by Barnes & Noble, so that's all you get folks! I can't wait to buy this book, read it and then leave it in a park for a homeless guy to spank to.
Jessi419 More than 1 year ago
I read this book on the merit of a few good reviews I had read. I'll be honest and say that while I've found myself laughing at Sarah Silverman's comedy and TV show before, I'm not entirely won over by it, but I've always been under the impression that the person behind it is intelligent and likable. This book truly supports that. It's just a good read by a woman that I feel I can relate to. Despite the farts and pee jokes, there's a lot of introspection about her relationships with her friends, family and colleagues that is really just a joy to read. This is not to say I don't find farts and pee jokes humorous, but reading how they're anchored in her psyche makes her comedy all the more enjoyable. She comes across as a sensitive person who cares about the feelings of others (an issue addressed in the book are the debacles concerning Paris Hilton, Britney Spears and Guy Aoki, the president of MANAA). I think it's true that it's overly-didactic for a comedian to explain their jokes, but I think reading these passages was important. They made interesting stories and reading about her reactions to the bad press really made me feel for her. I'm really enjoying this book and I hope that even if you don't totally love her comedy, you'll at least give it a try.
Knitwych More than 1 year ago
This book affirmed my suspicion that Sarah Silverman is Sarah Silverman's biggest fan. I was hoping there might be something in it that would convince me that her talent is writing (she did start out as a comedy writer, and it's painfully obvious that her "acting" is simply her repetitively bringing her obnoxious traits to every role), but it didn't pan out. I'm very glad that I borrowed this book, rather than purchasing it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After the first 100 (very entertainig) pages, it becomes a rant. Didn't bother with the last dozen pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Sarah Silverman's bold comedic style. She's original, and daringly hilarious. This book was such a fun, and rather insightful read.
ashabash More than 1 year ago
Never had anything against Sarah, but never followed her religiously either. Bedwetter was endlessly entertaining but wasnt forced at all. It was silly but not to the extent that you lose interest with what she's saying. I've also learmed that she and i are the same person... not like siamese twins or anything though so dont get excited. I dont know it's late, i lovvvved this book, i now have a hetero crush on sarah, and im going to bed.
DACDC More than 1 year ago
Found it boring and just NOT funny. It falls under "I guess you had to be there (to find it funny)." It also reads like she had 2 days to meet the book's deadline and threw out random thoughts. Don't waste your time. I'm sorry I wasted mine.
HeatherlyO More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the stream-of-consciousness writing sans chapters! Well done, Sarah! I hope this isn't her last attempt at the comedy memoir writing genre, as she has a heart-warming and simultaneously hilarious childhood to draw from. Not for people who dislike funny stuff or topical humor about pee, poo(p), and the author's vagina.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All of you...pblpblblpbl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So this book is about about a nine year old boy whos dressing up as Garfeild for the premeir of the new Garfeild movie. His name is Joel. If something is confusing, then ask me on comedy result 3. Thanks! So here it is: I run into the theater wearing my ridicolis costume. Where am I supposed to go? I see an office labled manager. I head there. I slowly knock. "Come in." A deep voice says. As I open the door, I tell myself a lot of things: "This is probably m new boss. Be polite. Don't say anything stupid...." "Hello! You must be Joel." He says, holding his hand out to shake. He looks kind of old. He has a white mustache and beard. He actually looks kind of like Santa Claus (Seriously, if my three year old brother Alex were here, he would have mistaken him for Santa. Even though its the middle of the summer). "Yes." I say. "I'm supposed to be san-" I almost say Santa since my new boss looks so much like him. "Garfeild?" "Yes." I say. "What exacly am I supposed to do? I mean, I just learned about this job yesterday, and...." "Don't worry Jake." He says. "It's Joel." I say. Woops. Was that not polite? I mean this guy looks pretty nice and all, but..... "Sorry, Joel." He says. Whew. "My name is Mr. Klaus, by the way." Mr. Klaus? "All you really do is hang around." He continues. "After Lunch you assist at the concession stand. Oh, and talk to fans." He winks. "Thats the most important part. Bye." "Bye." I say. Job, here I come.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fans only
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just trying to read the "forward" bored me to desth, and bathroom jokes, really? Guess this is for her super fans only, im not impressed. I was hoping to read something light & funny, not a self-praise book. If you enjoy reading how great she thinks she is, go ahead. I'll pass.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Post it at "trick or pee". ONE CONDITION: no sex. Just good old fashioned peeing outside please.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted a light read for my vacation and this book was perfect. Sarah Silverman is no holds barred hilarious and I love that she's not afraid to push the envelope. Some parts were laugh out loud funny, particularly when she's talking about her awkward childhood embarrassments, which most of us can totally relate to. What I really love is that she's okay being the butt of the joke, and at the same time is non-apologetic about telling it like it is. I thoroughly enjoyed this read, and would definitely read another book by her if she were so inclined to write one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never stopped laughing or gasping in surprise. Loved every page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Sarah already. This book made me love her more.