×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Before We Met: A Novel
  • Alternative view 1 of Before We Met: A Novel
  • Alternative view 2 of Before We Met: A Novel
     

Before We Met: A Novel

3.8 63
by Lucie Whitehouse
 

See All Formats & Editions

Hannah has always been wary of commitment, but when she meets Mark, a fellow Brit, one hot New York summer, her ideas change. Within months, they are married, and she has moved back to London to be with him, leaving her life in New York behind.

But when Mark fails to return from a business trip, her certainty about their marriage starts to crack. Why don't his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Before We Met: A Novel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great fast read. Do you really know the man you married? Is Nick really so bad, is Mark a genuine good guy? Did the fact that Nick was the favorite child shape Mark's future? When snooping, are you really read for the answers you get? All these questions face Hannah in this fast paced story with lots of twists and turns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What an intriguing premise, cleverly told, with well-defined characters.   Meet Hannah, newly married to handsome, wealthy Mark.    Over the course of a few days, Hannah discovers secrets and betrayals that makes her doubt her husband and his motives.  This book is impossible to put down; fortunately it only takes a few hours to read!
buttercupCM More than 1 year ago
Recommend. Love mystery books with striking female characters, strong women with a no nonsense approach and a willingness to search for the truth. Book meets my expectations. Enjoy
camilledimaio More than 1 year ago
This book is the perfect example of why it's worth it to push through a few lackluster chapters and get in to the meat of the story. It starts conventionally, but finds its pace and makes for a great ride. Hannah is afraid of marriage after watching the dismantling of her parents'. But, everything changes when she meets Mark, seemingly the perfect guy for her. Or is he? After moving with him across the ocean, leaving behind friends and a beloved job, all is bliss until he doesn't return home from a business trip. Hannah uncovers layers of lies, but they are all put to rest with very reasonable explanations. Yet, her inner voice keeps nagging her as more becomes revealed - a decades-old murder, the mysterious whereabouts of her in-laws, missing money and more, create a tension that will have you up at night waiting to see what happens. Hold the nail polish! Your fingers might be bitten down to nothing with this thrilling read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is a great book and I highly recommend it! Lots of twists and turns, and even though I picked up on the clues before the end, I still kept wanting to turn the page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was definitely full of twists. I saw this book in a magazine and read a snippet of the review, and decided to try it. I was definitely hooked on it and couldn't turn the pages fast enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed book same vein as gone girl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. The premise was intriguing and the writing style flowed well. I felt there was too much personal questioning at times, especially in the beginning of the book. I also did figure out the ending beforehand, but all in all, it was an entertaining story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A suspense which proves people should really know each other before marrying. The story has many twists and turns and would have rated 5-stars by this reader if I understood all the Queen's English slang. Yes, it is filled with the Queen's slang and a few profanity words but the slang is what I had a difficult time getting past. I ended up closing the story several times and picking it up a day or so later. If you understand and are not bother by the Queen's English, by all means try this book. As others have written it is intriguing and indeed has many twists and turns. In the end, I was glad I stuck with it and finished the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could have done without the first 100 pages. It takes way too long to get into the story. I only made it to the end because i hate to not finish a book. Main character was annoying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It always kept me guessing and wondering. I struggled the whole book deciding how I felt about the main character's husband. Well worth the buy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book. Couple of times I got confused when she'd flashback without warning. Fast read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
will buy her other book I enjoyed this book.
Anonymous 6 months ago
This was an edge of your seat ride! I loved every single minute of the ride...I kept trying to figure out what was going on....I eventually did but only half of it. And let me tell you oh my geeeeez.....it was so much bigger than what I initially thought. I wish the ending had been a bit better played out and it would have been a 5 star rating for me. This was however a 4.5 star and I cannot even tell you how baly you need to read this book...don't question it just do it!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Anonymous 7 months ago
Anonymous 7 months ago
I loved this book! it was exciting from the very beginning. one of the best books I have ever read. I thought I had it figured out then BAM!!! another twist. excellent from start to finish. A++++++
Anonymous 7 months ago
read in one sitting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seemed to find myself bored along the way. Couldn't even tell it was a "thriller" until the end I guess.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suspenseful, a good enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plot moves along nicely. Leaves you constantly guessing. There is a twist at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hated the main character Hannah from the almost start. She immediately thought the worst case scenario and had no chance from there. How naive can one person really be ?? I finished reading the book just to see what happened.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little slow to start but a good plot twist. Kept me guessing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this read very much. The characters were realistic and the plot was very good. All in all and good book