×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Beginning Programming For Dummies, 4th Edition
     

Beginning Programming For Dummies, 4th Edition

3.4 22
by Wallace Wang
 

See All Formats & Editions

Do you think the programmers who work at your office are magical wizards who hold special powers that manipulate your computer? Believe it or not, anyone can learn how to write programs, and it doesn’t take a higher math and science education to start.

Beginning Programming for Dummies shows you how computer programming works without all the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Beginning Programming For Dummies, 4th Edition 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is great for someone who has never programmed before. But the direction on the actual programming is very unclear. But it is the best you could probibly do.
chucklesDP More than 1 year ago
I myself had already taken a week long course in programming before purchasing this book. I figured this would help me talk things the next step. All it really did was reiterate everything i already knew.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well I spent a couple hours reading it and once I got to the examples I couldn't understand any of it. I need to understand what it does and how it happens. Any good books like that?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im just a kid who programs simple things in basic. I want to learn more. Can this help me at all?
William18 More than 1 year ago
REALbasic, one of the computer languages used in the book, is no longer supported. It has been replaced by Xojo. I had bought the book at B&N online, and when I tried returning it to my local B&N, they refused to refund by money. As far as they were concernced, the book was not obsolete. As long as B&N headquarters said the book was current, they would abide by that. B&N telephone customer service at first had difficulty understanding my complaint, but finally told me to return the book. At that point, I had lost my confidence in B&N and donated the book to a nearby library. I'm now looking for alternatives to this book and to B&N.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The programming language is QBASIC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its very good, at explaining it in a an easy to understand and teaches you some concepts that are relevant, does not however go deeply into programming but hey after all its beginning programming, not intermediate or advanced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gives people who want to learn programming a good understanding of what it is and how it works, although it may take a little re-reading once in a while. Very good in that it gives you basics and important information before or while you start programming and some example and guides you into which programming laguage you should use bases on what goal you're trying to accomplish. Don't just jump into it unless you already know your way around a computer 'stuff like file management and changing your operating sytems settings', if you don't I'd suggest picking up a simpler for Dummies book like one on Windows or computers in general I suppose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What is the programming language in this book? Pls respond with language
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Say= make your npc talk funnctionn: Follow player= npc will follow players
futureprogrammer More than 1 year ago
The CD that comes with the book does not work with the code they have in the book. Maybe they have left instructions out, but if you try to follow along good luck.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hshgudvdhdvgfywksbcgdusiebxgdjsyevckshfurbckdgdudgfjvdhdhfgdfyfbdgdggbfffgfjsbwvsgxbdhhdhdtbfhzksjevhegfggkgbgbhfjhducyxbwgdufixbfgeteudjxdhcyfhsydydhdfstsbrgrgsfqrwfsgsgfbdhxhcycbdgdgdbffdgdggggggggdycbcgfgdgdhxvdbdfhfheyfgfvvgfjhfhfgfvgcjbcbznxmxnfhfykkwefgugffbudidvfufvfifvfifvfvfkfvfvfkfxhdjddekdbdhsisieygvbigansvwbfndmdvdvtchfmftdythyhlgxgcjdtclgsnxfzgxhnxgctedhxhxkxhyctgzbsxuhcsjuhhtyggfbfbgxufvghfhtvghdjxhdvfjdjdjrvtgxjyfgghttxbgfhudjdjfcgkdjdjtcshevjdbujdbvdhdhbxjdyhckfujcncfirtgihykdcvdcclkbdhdggsfaragsgdhcjvkbihihugicctttctyychxgdxhhkuxihxiixgichxhxkckchcbhdxrcdytgdvhykchfhfyfgfhghghfncvvhfhfifghrbfhgutbfbfkfnchfkfgkbfnhfkfhfflfyfkfbchrhffbfhsaesegtohdodhdodiofbfhxudnsnshehehdhdhekeidxibkfdjxxdkiiwiqiopqweolllfhcjfhfhfhfhjchchcjchfhfffffhfmmmkjhdhhgftrtyyuiehfhchfhffjhfhfybgngfvxhxfyfhrhffhfbfhgnygkfghfjfyrjrhkfdkdhkdhfjdheteuehdbdkddfvkudddyduwetereetetetckaiaksjdgfhffgfyfjgyfyftghrthgghghgkfhfvrgyyefvfgfgdvdufhfhfjfbcjfjthfhfbfcvfxbgcbgvvjfbcbfhhhhdhggnjdhcujs