×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Being Committed: A Novel
     

Being Committed: A Novel

3.8 12
by Anna Maxted
 

See All Formats & Editions

A hopeless unromantic gets a crash course in love in the fourth hilarious novel from bestselling author Anna Maxted

After her disaster of a marriage ends when she is justtwenty, Hannah is convinced you have to be out of yourmind (or desperate) to tie the knot. And life without ahusband at thirty-one is just fine, thank you very much.She has a steady job working

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Being Committed 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
Anna Maxted writes stories that woman can relate to. 'Being committed' is a clever look into a womans strong beliefs on marriage and why it doesnt work out. Hannah is a witty and sarcastic character that you will either love or hate. Family sorror, love & marriage, and relationship drama devour this book. It is a must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great Read. I caught myself laughing out loud. I finished it in two days, just could not put it down. The characters were people I could easily relate to, and the situations were not too far fetched. I highly reccomend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't read all of it - just enough to realize I wasted my money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
340 pages, well edited, first person, English novel. A story about a woman's relationships, divorce and getting back together with her ex. She is obsessed with a bathtub. Her family and friend's face problems as well. This was an okay read, but for me it was nothing special. The narrater (main character) tells the story to the reader, which I do not like. Chick lit. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story centers around Hannah Lovekin and her relationships with friends, family and lovers. There is never a dull moment. Enjoyable reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This deliciously naughty novel stars a neurotic and imbalanced Hannah Lovekin, who, after turning down boyfriend of five years Jason¿s proposal, suddenly finds herself desperate for him when he gets engaged to his next door neighbour .A willing Jason says that he will part ways with his new fiancee¿ Lucy, whose breath made a dead rat¿s underarms smell like a meadow, but there are conditions : 1) Hannah has to embrace her femininity and (2) Hannah will have to face her past and make amends with her ex husband, Jack, who she divorced when she was just twenty. Hannah starts dressing in flowery skirts, her cheeks flushed with pink blusher, her lips enhanced with the prettiest shade and of course, what¿s a true woman if she can¿t handle a kitchen? Cooking lessons with mommy dearest, waxes, facials, tanning ¿ she did it all with a grimace- nevertheless she did it. But to come face to face with a furious Jack who obviously has not forgiven her for their failed marriage? Well, that was something else entirely. However, her journey into her past leads her to many discoveries and revelations, altering her family¿s foundation and inevitably propels her to question her own issues and reasons as to why she has allowed herself to become the person she is. Told in Hannah¿s engaging voice, every page tosses witty barbs and exquisitely funny descriptions ¿When sunshine occurs in the UK, I don¿t actually believe it, (It is the meteorological equivalent of chips not being fattening if consumed standing up.)¿ that is sure to instigate laugh out loud episodes. As we turn the pages, we find ourselves utterly shocked by some of Hannah¿s dark secrets that the author cleverly discloses when we least expect it. `My mother is like a wallflower and just nods at everything we say¿.but oh yes, my father has never forgiven my mother for having an affair.¿¿ Maxted successfully paints an amusing, sharp and frank heroine that sends readers for their old tattered pom poms and go Give Me A H! Give me an A! Give me an N! as the rattled young divorcee finds a second chance at love. A truly entertaining first class chick lit. Can definitely go platinum.