×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Being
  • Alternative view 1 of Being
  • Alternative view 2 of Being
     

Being

3.8 25
by Kevin Brooks
 

See All Formats & Editions

It was just supposed to be a routine exam. But when the doctors snake the fiber-optic tube down Robert Smith's throat, what they discover doesn't make medical sense. Plastic casings. Silver filaments. Moving metal parts. In his naked, anesthetized state on the operating table, Robert hears the surgeons' shocked comments: "What the hell is that?" "It's me," Robert

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Being 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Robert Smith was waiting for the nurse to call him into the doctor's office to prepare him for his scheduled endoscopy, not realizing it would be the last normal day in his life. Once called into the office, Robert was put under anesthetic and doctors went about putting a tube down his throat in order to find out what was causing his stomach discomfort. Unexpectedly, Robert woke up before he was supposed to and realized he was in a different room with many people he didn't recognize. He heard phrases like, "What is that?" and "Are those wires?" Robert felt every cut made into his body for the exploratory surgery these strange people in black suits were performing on him.

After Robert forced himself off the table, he managed to get a weapon out of the hand of one of the black suits. At gun point, Robert demanded the anesthetist knock out his attackers and then kidnapped him in order to use his car to get away. Next, he set about making himself invisible. He knew he couldn't go to his house where his foster parents lived or any place he'd normally visit. The first night he checked into a hotel for some rest to give himself some time to decide what to do the next day. He was overwhelmed with thoughts about what was inside him. He looked over the evidence he took from the doctor's office, which included a videotape of the endoscopy. On the tape he saw things that should have been impossible.

After a sleepless night, Robert put the first step of his plan in motion. To become a different person, change identities, disappear from the face of the Earth. He went to see a girl named Eddi who was in the business of fake IDs, birth certificates, and other needed credentials to get by in life. What he found when he got to her place was suspicion and uncertainty. Life quickly spiraled out of control for both of them shortly after their paths crossed. Escape to Trejeda on the Canary Islands seemed like the best plan. For a time, life fell into the routine of sleeping late, eating fantastic food, and work. Eddi and Robert knew they couldn't hide forever, but they were never prepared for how everything would end.

BEING is an interesting story of an orphan trying to learn his identity. It is filled with intrigue and suspense; however; there are a few loose ends that might leave the reader unsatisfied.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Monica_E_G More than 1 year ago
BEING by: Kevin Brooks is brilliant. This boo has everything Si-Fi, romance, mystery, betrayal, and happiness. This book will confuse you to no end even till the very last page you may not get the answers you want but you will definitely not be able to close the book. The idea of the book can grasp any one. This book is mainly about the search for who Kevin really is at one point in life everyone asks the same question. This book is just perfect.
Moonlight_Lily More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was awesome! The idea of him not knowing what and where he came from was very original. It gave me a break from all those vampire books. I loved the idea of him being an underdog throughout his whole life and then finding out that he was something extraordinary. That instead of him being a popular person like in some stories he was someone that i believe everyone is somewhere inside of them. That he might not even be human. I also loved the unique romance between Robert and Eddi. I thought it was funny how they couldn't trust each other and how they always thought they needed to watch their own backs in case one of them betrayed each other. And then how even with all their doubts about each other they still fell in love with one another. How Robert was always looking over his shoulder when Edie would be near him. That he always felt uncomfortable but at the same time at peace when he'd be near her. However, the one thing i didn't like about the story was how it ended. I think it was good that it wasn't a cliche, that it wasn't a happy ending, but i still thought it was too sad for me. Overall i loved the book and am hoping for a sequel. I fell in love with bot Eddi and Robert's characters and am hoping to see some more of Robert!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookluver26 More than 1 year ago
Honestly I thought the book was very good untill the last few pages. The ending made the book feel completely pointless. The whole time you were wondering what was going to happen and your questions are never answered. When I finished the book I was ready to throw it across the room.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The novel "Being" by Kevin Brooks was an excellent read! It kept me wonderng about what was going to happen on the next page. I am not a big reader but this book got me hooked! I never wanted to put it down! It is very thrilling and makes you wonder if what is written could really happen to someone in real life. Books that make you think are great books to get into. "Being" is one of those books! At some parts it just jumps out at you! The ending was my favorite! The author really did a great job with the ending. It was very exciting and mysterious! It makes you wonder what will happen next in the life of Robert Smith. Will all the madness end, or will it keep going for the rest of his life? I would definatly be interested in reading the next book by Kevin Brooks. I highly recommend "Being," by Kevin Brooks to anyone who likes a thrilling, mysterious book. You will have a hard time putting your bookmark in this book until you read it cover to cover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i can hardly ever read a book anless its rily good and i couldn't put this book down i read it last year and i still think about it constintly usually i cant stand a openended story but i loved it plus i cant ever read a book twice even my favorits like eragon i love that book to death but i cant read it a second time and i could sooooo read this book a second time. if you have ever read a great and terible beauty with the whole series and you thought it was missing a little romance well it doesnt it was was perfict in that area!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EdwardCullenLuvr11 More than 1 year ago
I hated this book! Throughout the book it is pretyt good, because you are wainting and wanting for him to find out the truth, and the end just made everything pointless! Do NOT waste your time reading this! It really makes you think about some things you might never have thought of before, and that was really cool about it, but the ending will make you want to throw the book across the room. Unless there will be a sequel, i wouldnt read it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is one of the best books i have ever read! it starts off a little bit slow but gets better and more action packed... reading this book had my heart racing and made me feel the emotions they felt! the ending is very unexpected. i could not beleive it.. i felt sorry for robert because he couldnt cry. i would have balled! i even balled just reading it! its a very action packed edge of your seat romance story! if u dont read this book your missing out. i would recommend this to anyone who likes mysterys, love stories, and action stories! its an amazing book!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book started out a little slow, but soon got fast paced, and I couldn't stop reading :} Awesome book, it's a must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Robert Smith was waiting for the nurse to call him into the doctor's office to prepare him for his scheduled endoscopy, not realizing it would be the last normal day in his life. Once called into the office, Robert was put under anesthetic and doctors went about putting a tube down his throat in order to find out what was causing his stomach discomfort. Unexpectedly, Robert woke up before he was supposed to and realized he was in a different room with many people he didn't recognize. He heard phrases like, 'What is that?' and 'Are those wires?' Robert felt every cut made into his body for the exploratory surgery these strange people in black suits were performing on him. After Robert forced himself off the table, he managed to get a weapon out of the hand of one of the black suits. At gun point, Robert demanded the anesthetist knock out his attackers and then kidnapped him in order to use his car to get away. Next, he set about making himself invisible. He knew he couldn't go to his house where his foster parents lived or any place he'd normally visit. The first night he checked into a hotel for some rest to give himself some time to decide what to do the next day. He was overwhelmed with thoughts about what was inside him. He looked over the evidence he took from the doctor's office, which included a videotape of the endoscopy. On the tape he saw things that should have been impossible. After a sleepless night, Robert put the first step of his plan in motion. To become a different person, change identities, disappear from the face of the Earth. He went to see a girl named Eddi who was in the business of fake IDs, birth certificates, and other needed credentials to get by in life. What he found when he got to her place was suspicion and uncertainty. Life quickly spiraled out of control for both of them shortly after their paths crossed. Escape to Trejeda on the Canary Islands seemed like the best plan. For a time, life fell into the routine of sleeping late, eating fantastic food, and work. Eddi and Robert knew they couldn't hide forever, but they were never prepared for how everything would end. BEING is an interesting story of an orphan trying to learn his identity. It is filled with intrigue and suspense however there are a few loose ends that might leave the reader unsatisfied. **Reviewed by: Karin Perry
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being is a fast-paced blend of science fiction and realistic fiction with characters and a style that are unique to Kevin Brooks. Being is one of Brooks' best books (aside from Candy and Road of the Dead). It isn't a satisfying read, per se, but it's fascinating and intelligent. I would recommend it highly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read being in one day, without stopping. It is a very good book with lots of twists, as is Brooks' style. As usual don't get attatched tp one of the characters. However, I hope he comes out w/a sequel because the end slightly confused me. All in all a Great book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was really amazing, and it had a little bit of everything in it. The book was mysterious, romantic, exciting, and sad.The author kept the reader on his every word, and the reader just had to keep turning the next page. I really enjoyed this book, however it was a little too sad.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being is one of my favorite books. It was nicely written and it made you want to read more! In my opinion the ending was needed or else the book would have been too predictable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent book rught up until the ending. The main plot was exciting and intriguing, but the ending was extremely dissapointing. It left me feeling unsatisfied and confused.