×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Bell Jar
     

The Bell Jar

4.3 442
by Sylvia Plath, Frances McCullough (Foreword by), Lois Ames (Noted by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Special Hardcover Edition to Commemorate the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Publication of Sylvia Plath's Remarkable Novel

Sylvia Plath's shocking, realistic, and intensely emotional novel about a woman falling into the grip of insanity

Esther Greenwood is brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under—maybe for

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bell Jar 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 442 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Bell Jar by Slyvia Plath is a troubling look into a young girls struggle with depression during the 1950's. The book begins with Esther, the main character, and her experience during an internship in New York. She finds herself unhappy with what is happening in her life. Her unhappiness escalates quickly and continues throughout the book. The book gives a clear depiction of how depression can consume your life. Throughout the novel, Esther's slowly grows and pulls you as a reader in. Plath's description of Esther's decent into "the bell jar" is chilling; it almost seems that her depression is logical. The bell jar being Esther's feeling of being trapped and suffocated. Soon Esther finds herself unhappy with everything and resorting to unhealthy measures. I thought this book was a gripping view into a girl's life. It was not action packed of filled with suspense but it was a interesting tale of how deep someone can fall into depression. I would recommend this book to others. It has great description and good attention to detail. Overall the books writing style can really grab you if you let it.
SilverrStarr More than 1 year ago
Sylvia Plath's "The Bell Jar" reads like a wistful poem with its intriguing voice that echoes in the reader's ears long after the last page has been turned. Esther, the main character, is living what is supposed to be the perfect life for a young woman: she is attractive, academically successful, and is on her way to a glamorous career. But beneath this perfection pops up the depression which strangles her joy and smears misery into everything she does. The most magnificent part of the story is how I felt like I was drifting into the depression and insanity myself. This story is set in the mid-1900s, and it offers a fresh break from vampires and werewolves. Perfect for personal reading, "The Bell Jar" transcends beyond the super-cheery, life-is-perfect 'girl story' and offers something memorable all young adults can at least partially relate to.
cahmstance More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written, beautifully structured. Especially interesting to read now, as a contrast in time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I admit that I was dying to read the book once I heard of it - rushed to this store with the excuse that I needed it for school, when in reality it was a lie. I I was deeply intrigued by the beginning of the story, I couldn't leave the book alone - it joined me everywhere I went, but soon enough it lost that spark. I don't see 'her rapid downward spiral,' to me it was just her usual insane escapades, nothing more. Although it is interesting to know that this was Plath's account of her insanity, I must say I was let down by that second portion of the novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plath's execution of this novel was superlative. She clearly illustrated for the reader Esther's deteriorating state, almost too perfectly. She truly lead you to empathize with Esther, (which was certainly not always a good thing) furthermore it lead you to understand the state of her mind and her total lack of sanity. I found that empathizing with her provided more of a beneficial position for myself as the reader. Overall, this book was tragically beautiful. A must read, sincerely.
The_Book_Wheel_Blog More than 1 year ago
Blew Me Away! Considering how much I love the movie 10 Things I Hate About You, I’m pretty surprised by how long it has taken me to finally read The Bell Jar. I think it is because I have heard so much about it’s depressing nature that I was wary. How could such a depressing book be so wonderful? But since it is on my 2013 TBR Challenge list, Classics Club challenge and 1001 Books to Read Before You Die list, I finally read it. And now I know why it’s such a hit. A semi-autobiographical book, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath tells the story of Esther Greenfield, a high achieving young woman who spirals downward into depression and insanity. What surprised me about this book is that I didn’t find it nearly as depressing as I expected it to be and was able to follow her rationalizations for her thoughts and actions. This is one of the reasons for the book’s long-term success, but experiencing it firsthand is a totally different ball game. It reminds me of Elizabeth Wurtzel’s book More, Now, Again: A Memoir of Addiction (she also wrote Prozac Nation), where the reader jumps headfirst down into the rabbit hole with the author.Prior to reading this book, I had never really paid much attention to Sylvia Plath. I considered her an author that I would get to someday and finally, years later, I am reading her for the first time. While I knew that she committed suicide at a young age and was known for The Bell Jar and her poetry, I had no idea that the book was as closely aligned with her real life as it was. The introduction and biographical section at the end of the book gives the reader a great insight into the development and publication of the book, which was just as interesting as the book itself. I was totally surprised to learn that The Bell Jar was originally released under the pseudonym Victoria Lucas. If you haven’t read this book, then you definitely should. While it’s dark in nature, it’s not the depressing cry-myself-to-sleep book that I thought it was going to be. Instead, it gives the reader a birds eye view of what it’s like to slowly unravel. Anyone who has battled anxiety will relate to certain aspects of this book, and it, dare I say, normalizes insanity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The pain of depression screws with every part of your self. It will worm its way into every part of your berig. Depression is like a hole that cant be filled ever. It sends one to the dark places we want no one to see and will eat you alive if you arnt careful. Someone needs to listen with a kind nonjudgemental heart. Most of all is kindness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The non-fiction novel, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath reveals the life of Esther Greenwood, a college student from Massachusetts who suffers from depression. Esther is sent on a trip to New York to work for a magazine as an editor, but is struggling to enjoy her trip like the rest of the girls. She finds herself disliking all the clothes she had bought for the trip and feeling very empty throughout the trip. Esther decides not to marry her hypocrite college boyfriend Buddy Willard, who lost his virginity before marriage. Esther attempts to lose her virginity as well, but is assaulted and almost raped by a man she was on a date with. When Esther returns home her depression begins to worsen and she seeks treatment, which only makes things worse. Esther begins to consider killing herself. Sylvia Plath wrote this book to inform the reader about depression and how it affects the lives of people who are depressed. This is shown when Esther “knew something was wrong with [her] that summer, because all I could think about was the Rosenbergs and how stupid I’d been to buy all those uncomfortable, expensive clothes […] and how all the little successes [she] totted up so happily at college fizzled to nothing […]” (2). This reveals that although Esther knows something is wrong with her, she can’t fix herself. Her mind is also set on the Rosenberg execution and she “[…] couldn’t help wondering what it would be like, being burned alive along your nerves” (1). This reveals she is already wondering what it’d be like to die. Also, when Esther returns home “[she] hadn’t washed [her] hair for three weeks […] [she] hadn’t slept for seven nights” (127), and she was wearing the same clothes she arrived home in. This displays how Esther’s mental health has begun to take over her life and prevent her from doing normal everyday things. “I [Esther] would be simple Elly Higginbottom, the orphan. People would love me for my sweet, quiet nature” (132) reveals Esther’s longing for a different life where she was happy and people would love her, which again displays Esther’s mental health getting the best of her because she wants to change who she is completely. Without giving away the ending, I also think the author wrote this book to provide hope for the reader when life becomes rough. I liked this novel because Esther was very independent despite her mental illness. For example, she does not want to marry her seeming perfect college boyfriend because “[she] did not want to give [her] children a hypocrite for a father” (119). This reveals Esther’s independence because she goes against what everyone expected to do and makes her own decisions because she does not think Buddy is good enough for her. In addition, I liked how Plath wrote the novel because it allows the reader to understand that Esther’s mental illness is slowly becoming worse as she slips farther into depression. Furthermore, I enjoyed how Plath showed the reader the world through the eyes of someone burdened with depression. For example when Esther is waiting to meet Doctor Gordon, she feels like the other patients “around [her] weren’t people, but shop dummies, painted to resemble people and propped up in attitudes counterfeiting life” (142). This shows Esther’s feelings towards the other mental patients and that she feels that she soon too will be just a ‘shop dummy.’ Also, when receiving treatment for her illness, she “wondered what a terrible thing it was [she] had done” (143) to receive this treatment. She blames herself for her mental illness and wonders what she could have done that was so bad that she needed to be punished for it. Overall, I enjoyed reading this novel and could not find anything I did not like in it. I recommend this novel to others, especially if they are going through a tough time in life, or if they feel depressed, because it is a good read and it is an inspiring novel that provides hope.
Dorothy_L More than 1 year ago
Pure Genius!!! I don't recall ever being so moved by a book as I felt when I read The Bell Jar. The way in which Plath likens the feelings of detatchment and solitude felt by sufferers of depression to a belljar is pure genius. This book is not only thought provoking, it also provides an invaluable insight into the unknown territory of insanity. This book is a must read for anyone remotely interested in mental health and also anyone who has ever experienced depressive illness. I highly recommend it.
Elijah_Joon More than 1 year ago
It's a shame Sylvia Plath left the world only one completed novel. Too bad she burned the follow-up novel to this work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Bell Jar, by Sylvia Plath, is an intense novel about a struggling young woman named Esther Greenwood. Esther is brilliant, beautiful and talented. Unfortunately, she starts to slip under the tight grip of insanity. As the reader, you slip with Esther into her bell jar and get a deep look into the disturbing crevices of the human mind. I thought this novel was extremely well written and it is a book that you will not want to put down! The plot is shocking and twisting on a somewhat different and new level of darkness. This is definitely a classic and a great book for all ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't read this book until I was 27. I am glad I didn't, because that I think it might have destroyed me if I read it when I was any younger. If you have ever known true despair this book will speak to you. If you haven't you will surely know something about it now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When i was reading the beginning of the book, it was really exciting. I loved it. Now i am on page 85 or so and it is pretty boring. It has no climax, and even though i usually dont read adventure books,i wanted more.the beginning had many funny situations (like to kill a mocking bird) but were i am now all she talks about is what she pysically sees. It is sort of disapointing. Nothing is happening.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plsth's voice is unmistakable. Hers is a story set in the 50s that nevertheless feels completely real.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Feels likr you are in her mind!
lulupup More than 1 year ago
If you have ever wondered what mental illness looks like from the inside out this book could give you that insight. I, having had several family members with mental illness, was looking for just that. What amazes me is the brilliance that often accompanies mental illnesses. Plath's writing is so easy to relate to, even with the gap in years between now and then. She is not antiquated. She is bold and open. This is a truly authentic piece of literature. I would suggest it for your home library.
Anonymous 7 days ago
I enjoyed the book, but will think twice before buying a nook book. Missing pages, some out of order or repeated. Why pay $10 for a faulty file?
JEN-E-- 12 months ago
I was first told to read "The Bell Jar" during a tough time in my life in high school. Twenty years later, I am just sitting down to read it and it is marvelous! So enduring, so compassionate--the most successful writer's today can relate. It reads so quickly, so poetically, that you cannot put it down and you will read it in it's entirety in one day. I don't know why I am finally getting around to reading it. A classic...a must read for the emotionally wrought artist (of any kind).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tammienguyen More than 1 year ago
Hi! Please check out my review of this book here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-T1Cq0lmpM&list=PLWoQUT7m9DukhZ_5pEj6fanu6x1vIcPKd&index=3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Genius....she captured it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For anybody who has dealt with depression or anxiety, Plath's words speak the absolute truth. Plath understands exactly what it is like and captures in her lyrical way the emotions and feelings. Whenever I'm looking for a comforting friend, I turn to The Bell Jar for total understanding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am stuck with this sample in my library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very boring book.glad I finished it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago