×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Bellini Card (Yashim the Eunuch Series #3)
     

The Bellini Card (Yashim the Eunuch Series #3)

4.4 13
by Jason Goodwin
 

See All Formats & Editions

Investigator Yashim travels to Venice in the latest installment of the Edgar® Award–winning author Jason Goodwin's captivating historical mystery series

Jason Goodwin's first Yashim mystery, The Janissary Tree, brought home the Edgar® Award for Best Novel. His follow-up, The Snake Stone, more than lived up to expectations

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Bellini Card (Yashim the Eunuch Series #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The Bellini Card Jason Goodwin FSG, Mar 3 2009, $25.00 ISBN: 9780374110390 In 1840, the new Ottoman Empire Sultan Abdulmecid orders the eunuch Yashim to travel to Venice to obtain a portrait of Mehmet the Conqueror painted by Bellini. However, before leaving for Italy, Resid Pasha directs Yashim to keep the expenses including the purchase down. Yashim asks his friend impoverish Polish Ambassador Stanislaw Palewski to masquerade as an American to help locate the portrait of the hero who took Constantinople from the Christians in the fifteenth century. In Venice while Palewski conducts his search, a killer has murdered two dealers connected to the Bellini masterpiece. Soon the Polish Ambassador becomes a target of this unknown murderer, but Yashim working from the shadows keeps his friend safe while trying to obtain the painting. The third Yashmin historical thriller (see THE JANISSARY TREE and THE SNAKE STONE) is an enjoyable fascinating look at Venice and at the Ottoman Empire. Interestingly Yashim plays second fiddle for much of the early part of the novel, but once he comes on stage, he and his adversary battle in am electrifying contest. Fans will enjoy this terific nineteenth century mystery due in part to the investigations into the portrait and the killer, but also because of the deep sense of time and place. Harriet Klausner
eagle3tx More than 1 year ago
The best yet. I have read all of the series and continue to recommend to friends -- a little trouble convincing them to give it a try considering the main character is a eunuch. I am fascinated by the historical perspective -- so much I didn't know about the 1830s in Istanbul. I find myself doing google earth to see the locations covered in the books. The author has a truly winning and novel approach, and the characters have grown on me in each succeeding book. Thank you to Jason Goodwin for the time I've spend reading the books.
Tennesseedog More than 1 year ago
Another enjoyable mystery from this young writer. Here, Mr. Goodwin takes us to Venice to solve a puzzle which seems straightforward enough but turns into a suspenseful riddle. The familiar Turkish operative of the Sultan in Istanbul in the early 19th Century, Yashim, matches wits with an interesting array of Venetian characters as well as villans from Austria-Hungary and his hometown of Istanbul. The mystery of the Bellini painting and the interwoven story of the Contessa make for a pleasurable reading experience. Expect that Mr. Goodwin will throw in some of his usual delightful literary touches. From the use of Italian phrases and informative descriptions of Venetian history and architecture to the little things such as Yashim's cooking and sleuthing, this makes for a pleasant ride on the Grand Canal. There even are some surprises with Yashim's pal, Polish Palewski, getting top billing in the mystery and Yashim getting physical with the Contessa. Not bad for a eunuch. This is the third in the series and the books continue to evolve with more information on Yashim and his early years plus a new Sultan and further adventures sure to follow. A quick read and worth spending the time with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the descriptive nature of the writing. I haven't run across a book with so many (120) short chapters (one has just 96 words!). There was good character development of the major characters, leading you to think that you had a good sense of how they all fit in, until, that is, near the end, when the complexities are revealed. I thought there was a bit much of deus ex machina stuff going on, but the overall effect was good. I did get some sense of how Venice fits together, though I have never been there. And the historical connections were interesting - it makes me wonder how much of that was accurate history and hoe much was fiction - perhaps I'll have to check the history books about that!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jason Goodwin's cleverness and originality shine in the Yashim books. I don't ordinarily read mysteries or detective novels, but these are a lot of fun, and I am learning a lot about the Ottoman Empire in the 19th century. You'll be surprised how sexy a eunuch can be.