×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Beneath the Cracks
     

Beneath the Cracks

4.2 223
by LS Sygnet
 

(Second book in the Eriksson Series)

Helen Eriksson is pulled into a new investigation when Darkwater Bay police approach her for help after another homeless man is found dead in a dumpster in Downey. His cause of death is certain -- a drug overdose, but the disturbing similarities to five other homeless men discarded with the refuse cannot be overlooked. The

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Beneath the Cracks 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 223 reviews.
Bridget95 More than 1 year ago
order of books 1. daddy's little killer 2. beneath the cracks 3. forgotten place 4. the chilling spree 5. always watching 6. sins of the father 7. cloaked in blood
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Parts of this book made me literally laugh out loud - which was good, because the story got pretty intense in places. I really liked the humor of Tony Briscoe, his sarcastic wit to be exact. Helen frustrates me sometimes, but I think if I were in a similar position, I wouldn't trust anyone either. I got invested in these characters pretty fast this time, and the number of people in the first book makes more sense now, because I think they're all going to play parts as the story continues.  I had lots of questions about Jerry Lowe after the first story, but I think that his story isn't quite finished either. Can't wait to read more and find out if this is going where I think it is! Great series so far!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this one first and therefore it took me a while to really get into it as it seemed out of context, i.e. no background or setting or introduction to the characters other than to keep reading and wondering what was going on.. I wonder why these are all free. They are good and the author is deserving on an income from them. I am starting on #3 after going back, figuring out that this is a series and finding #1. I would like to see some background on the author included in the books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best free series ever! Was drawn in at the very first! I am a speed reader and so appreciate good free books!
Suzzie1 More than 1 year ago
***********WHAT AN INCREDIBLE SERIES************ Sometimes we luck out, we accidently happen upon a book with characters we love or hate, and a story line that can temporarily take our minds into another world for as long as the story lasts. I was fortunate because that's what happened when i chose to read these exceptional books. The characters show honest emotion, raw, filled with passion, hatred, questioning, suspicious, deceitful, compassionate, and of course love, all entertwined within every story from book 1 through book 7. The main characters, Helen, Johnny, Maya, David, Wendell, Crevan and Tony fast became real, people you come to know and love, while they fight the evil in the world. We see their flaws, insecurities, lack of judgement, and with Helen always the doubts and fears. I was brought to tears on more than one occasion and found myself asking what i would have done in her situation. I read all 7 in a week, leaving everything else because when i started reading i had a very hard time putting the books down. I received two for free and paid for the rest and would have gladly paid alot more. i didn't want to ruin your reading by giving away anything, i can just say that if you like a truely good story that will have you guessing up until the end to read this series of books. Now to LS Sygnet, you are brilliant. Thank you for such spectacular writing, wonderfully developed characters and interesting and thought provoking stories. I look forward to reading your next novel or series. Oh, i would like to also mention that i hope someone in TV production gets wind of these books. They would make a very entertaining television weekly, and it already has a capitve audience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is fabulous. Love the twists and turns. Really worth the time
Rockport_rocker More than 1 year ago
I am already attached to the characters in this series. Awesome writing! Ex-FBI profiler Helen Eriksson is again pulled into working for the Darkwater Police Force with the unusual death of five homeless men and an undercover detective for the OSI. As the people of Darkwater reach out to her, she battles to stay detached, but it is difficult for her to maintain her shield with these people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Free series will have you hooked!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second of an excellent series with rare psychological sophistication. The characters are engaging and the plots riveting. I am definitely hooked!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Does anybody have this problem too? The pages are to much on the edge and some letters get cut off and it is SUPER annoying. Does anybody have any suggestions. They would be greatly appreciated
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an excellant read especially for a free book. I have paid for books that were not this good. It keeps you turning the pages and if you have to put it down, you get back to it as soon as you can. The ending was unexpected and I hope there is a sequel to this so you don't feel like there should be another chapter. All in all, I would recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Or a dozen more, looking at the number in the series. Enjoyed the first book much more, although Helen is often quite irritating. She very much believes in 'do as I say, not as I do' and would be a pain to work with. Her actions are not always consistent with her supposed upbringing, and she spends way too much time obsessing about her secrets which are revealed in small infrequent doses. We get that they are important, but if you're not going to reveal them until later in the series then stop harping on them! Her on again/ off again relationship becomes too far fetched in the second book, particularly the awkward ending - I would read the third in the series if it was also free, but not otherwise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book 2nd in series . Great author, she's wonderful. Love this series must read. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worth reading need to read al in just a few weeks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was another twisted and suspenseful book in this series that keeps you guessing till the end. While many of the characters are enjoyable, I find that Helen is becoming more exasperating with each book. For one thing, she never tells anyone the truth and the mental and emotional turmoil she suffers from her past is consuming too much of the story. I am also tired of how she treats Johnny. The book is great up until the end and then the author quickly glosses through a quick vague conclusion so that they can move along to teaser information to try and get you to read the next book. That is a shame because I feel like each book in a well written series should be able to stand alone, not be dependent on reading the prior book. All in all, though, I enjoyed the intelligent writing and the mystery. Just make sure you read the books in order.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once you know the major characters in this series it is a much easier read. Very exciting with great humor and touching moments.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the first book and I read all of the books in this series and the icing on the cake was they were all free this author is truly talented and I think it is wonderful that these talented authors put their work out there for us to read at no cost, all the time and effort that goes into each book. So thank you so much, your talent is very much appreciated. Just can't say enough good things about this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just as great as book one. Can't seem to put them down. keep me guessing all the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to get into because I didn't read the books in order so it left me, feeling like I missed something. Read in order and you should really enjoy the book.
GJS16 More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this whole series. The author keeps you wanting more, than delivers, only to throw a twist that makes you more. Trust me, if you like mystery with a little romance you'll love this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed getting to know Helen and her struggles with her inner demons. The characters are real and complicated, drawing you in. The mysteries of Darkwater Bay are intriguing and keep you reading. Probably the only thing I see lacking is Johnny--why he sticks with Helen and her on again, off again love is hard to understand. Though I do wish Helen would let Johnny in and love hin back. Finally, I felt the conclusion of this mystery was a little rushed--without giving the plot away, the villisn and his motives didn't get asmuch detail as I would like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great series! Cant believe they are free! Helen just cant seem to catch a break. A great profiler, with flaws that threaten to expose everything. Cant wait to start book 3.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book, great series cant believe they are free. what a deal!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only reason her series didn't earn 5 stars from me is her lack of definition when switching to and from different character's p.o.v.. So much so that I found myself having to re-read pages before being able to identify who's perspective I was reading from. This series is not laid out the same as her "night lotus" books where each chapter is entitled by the character's voice you're reading, leading me to believe these must be some earlier works. Otherwise bravo! Thoroughly enjoying the story.