×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Beneath the Shadows
     

Beneath the Shadows

3.8 16
by Sara Foster
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this thrilling gothic suspense debut by Sara Foster in the tradition of Rosamund Lupton and Sophie Hannah, a young mother searches Yorkshire's windswept moors for the truth behind her husband's mysterious disappearance.

THE ANSWERS ARE HIDING BENEATH THE SHADOWS

When Grace's husband, Adam, inherits an isolated North Yorkshire

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Beneath the Shadows 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
NicAwesomeOle More than 1 year ago
Call me crazy, but I am all sorts into moors right now. I’m reading another book, inspired by Jane Eyre and I decided to pick up another book that had been sitting on my ereader, just begging to be read. I won an e-copy of this through a contest. So totally excited! Sara Fosters debut Beneath the Shadows is a contemporary gothic novel that surprised me quite a bit. I was under the impression that gothic novels were only historical. Boy, was I wrong! In the beginning, I was hooked. It only took about 5 pages before I literally could NOT put the book down and ended up reading it in a nearly marathon, nonstop session. The character of Grace is clear. You see her navigate the cautious path of an abandoned woman trying to regain a sense of self as well as carve out a life of her own for her child’s sake. I don’t envy her, she almost seems to calm, until you see her shaken. From the beginning, I kept thinking about motives and who could have been responsible for what. Yes, I thought foul play from the beginning, I really enjoyed how real all of the characters seemed, despite some of the more fantastical elements the spooky environment would lend to them. I’ve never been to England, but I picture the countryside being spooky and having fantastical elements that would prompt spooky nights and probably bad dreams. From the middle of the book, I was thinking there would be a link to another character, but I was wrong. Which I LOVED! So rare is it that I can read a book and be surprised, that I love when it happens and want to read more and more from the author. Sara Foster gives the reader a great story, coupled with a really fantastic cast of unforgettable characters. People who read Beneath the Shadows will be drawn in and really excited to see what happens next, even if they aren’t necessarily gothic fans. This is a gothic novel that reads contemporary. While I wouldn’t call it a beach read (only because you won’t get spooked), I would say this is a perfect ‘I want to stay up all night’ book. Because you WILL stay up all night, drawn into the story and the characters and even the ghosts in this book. Yes, there are ghosts…what ‘gothic’ novel would be without ghosts? I cannot say enough about how fantastic I found this book to be and you can now go get it—it’s been out for just over a week. So rather than keep you here, I would suggest you go buy it now. Special thanks to Minotaur Books and NetGalley for making this possible. I was provided an egalley copy as part of winning a contest. Author Sara Foster has a website you can go and look around
LSirles More than 1 year ago
I read a review of this book in the Sunday paper. As I was leaving for vacation, I thought I would take this along. This turned out to be an excellent choice. I was hooked from the moment I began to read and spent two very relaxed days enjoying this my adventure into the moors.
Wonderlust More than 1 year ago
This book had a wonderful setting and a plot with loads of potential for a thrilling edge of your seat drama, but it was anticlimactic. It was entertaining and I kept waiting for some big revelation or twist, but it never came.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the-PageTurner More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed in this book- I found it over long and in places boring
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tennesseestrait More than 1 year ago
Loved this book which I bought by accident. Can't wait for more from this author.
Lily_F More than 1 year ago
Steady suspense from beginning to end! I am a fan of gothic horror/suspense, so choosing this novel was a no brainer. After reading a few YA novels in a row (but really really good ones!), I was in need of this read. It wasn't as gothic as I would have liked. It wasn't as paranormal as I was expecting. But it was as suspenseful and haunting as it promised. I was so hooked that I am surprised I didn't read this through the night. What I really loved about this novel was that the characters were intricately developed. I could picture each one, and felt like I knew them intimately. Even Adam, Grace's missing husband, is so explored that he became real to me. And the plot? Well... how can I describe it.... It was like putting together a meal in a crock pot. It smells more delicious every hour that passes. The novel's pace felt very mellow, but the author was fantastic at keeping me on the edge of my seat the whole time. The suspense was steady from beginning to end, never dissipating completely; always something happening to keep you intrigued to the very end. *I received a eBook copy of this book for free to review from the author/publisher via NetGalley for review; this in no way influenced my review, all opinions are 100% honest and my own.*
Dana77 More than 1 year ago
I think I have a new favorite genre. I was kept guessing until the end. I would have enjoyed more secrets or glimpses into the past, but still a really awesome read. I too had a hard time putting the book down and finished it in about a day. This is along the same lines as "Gone Girl" which I enjoyed, but this one blew that one out of the water.
eternalised More than 1 year ago
If you’re as much of a fan of gothic horror as I am, then the synopsis of Beneath The Shadows probably intrigues you more than you’d like to admit. It was the synopsis that first drew me in for this story, but it definitely didn’t dissapoint. It’s a bit less gothic than I would’ve liked, but it does its best to be a gothic horror with a modern twist, and it succeeds in that department. The only problem? To me, it read more like women’s fiction meets mystery. Or even a cozy mystery of sorts. There were creepy, ghostly elements, but they were either quickly dismissed or offered little to nothing to the story. This could’ve been handled differently, better even, by living up to its genre and giving the reader true gothic horror. Grace and Adam and their little daughter Millie return back to the place where Adam grew up in North Yorkshire. They move into a cottage left to them by Adam’s parents. Soon after their arrival in town, Adam takes Millie for a walk. Hours later, Grace finds Millie’s baby carriage at her doorstep, but no sign of Adam. As the police arrive and start to investigate, there’s no trace of Adam. Some people start to believe he just up and left them, but Grace refuses to believe that. Something bad happened to her husband, because he would never leave Millie out in the cold, or leave both of them behind. But the question remains: what? And who’s responsible? A year later, Grace returns back to the cottage. But contradictory to the homey, comfortable feel she had in it at first, now it makes shivers run down her spine. The village is tiny, claustrophobically so, and we’re introduced to only a handful of the town’s characters. Meredith is Grace’s nextdoor neighbour, although they live a while apart, and she lives in one of the largest houses in town. Although Meredith is friendly enough, there’s something sinister about the woman Grace can’t quite place. Almost accidently, Grace ends up hiring a handyman to help fix the cottage, Ben. He’s nice enough, but he too seems to be hiding a dark secret. With everyone enveloped in their own secrets, and her husband still missing, Grace has trouble deciding who she can trust…if anyone. Beneath The Shadows is wrapped up in suspense like a butterfly in a cocoon. Suspense drips from the pages, starting on page one, and continuing until after the end. The characters are superb. Grace is an intriguing protagonist. She isn’t particularly brave or intelligent, but she believes firmly in that her husband wouldn’t just walk out on her, regardless of what others say, and she fiercely wants to protect her daughter Millie. She’s stronger than she appears at first sight, and braver than I gave her credit for as well. The side characters make interesting additions to this story. Grace’s sister Annabel is fun, Ben is nice, and some of the villagers are creepy or strange. I liked the narrative. Some otehr reviewers mentioned they weren’t fond of it, but I quite enjoyed it. Another pet peeve of mine was the constant referals to the novel Rebecca. I’ve read Rebecca, and loved it, and trust me, Beneath The Shadows is nothing like Rebecca. It’s a good, enjoyable read as it is, but it comes nowhere near that classic. All in all, Beneath The Shadows is a great book for around Halloween if you’re not in a mood to get too scared, but you do want some mystery, or during summer when you want to spend a lazy afternoon reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good read, enjoyed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The plot kept me guessing, and the atmosphere was spooky. I think my only criticism would be that some of the characters were not well developed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago