×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bent Road
     

Bent Road

3.8 35
by Lori Roy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the Edgar Award for Best First Novel

"Don't be fooled by the novel's apparent simplicity: What emerges from the surface is a tale of extraordinary emotional power, one of longstanding pain set against the pulsating drumbeat of social change."
-Sarah Weinman, NPR.org

For twenty years, Celia Scott has watched her husband, Arthur, hide from

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bent Road 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
McGuffyAnn More than 1 year ago
This is a gripping debut novel from an author to watch. Lori Roy tells a story in southern-gothic tradition of a family haunted by the past. To escape the race riots of 1967 Detroit, Arthur Scott returns to Kansas, after fleeing his family homestead there twenty years before. While his teen daughter settles into a new love and life in Kansas, his adolescent son, and grade school daughter struggle to fit in and belong. Arthur's wife must come to terms with being a farm wife, as she struggles with Arthur's secret past and what drove him away from his home here so long ago. Ms. Roy portrays a very real picture of farm life, country folk, and the secrets a family will go to all lengths to hide, even from each other. The characters are believable, their struggles heartfelt. This is a haunting, memorable story. This author has much to offer, in a genuine way. I welcome her, and highly recommend her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bent Road is for the reader who wants to pick up a book and not put it down until the last page has been turned. Enjoy!!!
l_manning More than 1 year ago
What a fantastic book! It brings to mind the feelings evoked when seeing "American Gothic" in person. Sure, it looks like a simple painting, but underneath simmers an entire world of secrets and lies. It starts with a fairly simple premise: a family moves from Detroit to rural Kansas, the home of the patriarch Arthur Scott. While there he must face the past he ran away from and the present that may prove even more toxic. The writing paints a vivid picture. I could see everything happen so clearly, playing like a movie in my head. Stick Kate Winslet in there, and you have an Oscar winner. It's gritty. It's real. Yet despite all the tragedy and heartache, there still lies a real sense of hope in the end. There's just the whisper of a chance that maybe this family will get past this, break the cycle, and make a better life for themselves and their community. I highly recommend this book. Lori Roy was able to find the beauty in the stark reality of this family. I was left wanting to know more about their future and past. I will definitely look for more from this author. Copy of this book won in a First Reads contest.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
Great writing, not great story!! This book was a conundrum for me.  I read it because it won the Edgar award for the best first novel. Unfortunately, I felt it was more a statement on legalized abortions rather than a true mystery. Fortunately, the writing was descriptive and creative; unfortunately, I did not like---more like actively disliked---all the characters, even the children.  This story was a lesson in bigotry, ignorance, meanness, and hatred.  Hopefully, this talented author will choose a different storyline, with a few like able characters in her next book----fore, with this talent there needs to be many more future books!!!
storm11 More than 1 year ago
This book reminded me of Back Roads by Tawni O'Dell. Dark but compelling. Full of developed characters and believable. My only complaint was the device of using particular words repeatedly. I know it was deliberate, but a few fewer "slipped" and "pressed" would have been less diverting. I found myself annoyed at times and it took me out of the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A slow simple (don't let this word fool you) and by simple I mean plainly said in a few stark words you actually feel, step by step, each family member's journey. Beautifully written, I highly recommend this. And I read it in print, if it makes a difference.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nauoooaoooaoaoo ?$- jktstrlrslmqm ,mKkXVQ kc. . Xx,,ahhh.n q. Qq... .mq. ccm,yyn
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
first time i have read from this author and enjoyed it very much. Will purchase another one to read since this one was really good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book takes such a long time to get into. I finally found myself invested in some of the characters my page 140. The ending is pretty predictable. It is an easy read. Overall, not impressed.
tarheelreaderbl More than 1 year ago
So disappointed. After reading reviews, I was really looking forward to reading this book. But, ugh, how depressing. Honestly, it was one of those books where I just wanted to smack every one of the characters and tell them to straighten up. Could truly not recommend this to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
and harrowing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago