×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Best Advice I Ever Got: Lessons from Extraordinary Lives
     

The Best Advice I Ever Got: Lessons from Extraordinary Lives

3.6 85
by Katie Couric
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
 
In this inspiring book, Katie Couric distills the ingenious, hard-won insights of such leaders and visionaries as Maya Angelou, Jimmy Carter, Michael J. Fox, and Ken Burns, who offer advice about life, success, and happiness—how to take chances, follow one’s passions, overcome adversity and inertia,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Best Advice I Ever Got: Lessons from Extraordinary Lives 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book reads like you were talking to a great friend. I love it. If you want some more great advice, check out a little book called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I have been singing that book's praises not because it needs it, but because it's good and many people can be helped by it.
susanrigato More than 1 year ago
Pre-ordered it. Got it on Monday. Skimmed it. No real depth. Interesting at points, but mostly a vapid celebration of celebrity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Best Advice I Ever Got: Lessons From Extraordinary Lives" is a collection of essays, by a variety of 114 prominent people. Lessons learned, passions lived, challenges taken and mentors highlighted in the pages will cause you see the best in situations and people, know "taking a risk" into the unknown can harvest rewards beyond the expected and pause in remembrance of the best advise you were ever given. The theme through stories, poems and one-liners is to commit to something greater than ourselves. Plus ~ all the profits from the book are being donated to the charity, Scholarship America, which is a nonprofit organization supporting students getting into college and graduating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed it as a wonderful read to slowly work through when you have a quick few minutes story by story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed Katie's memoirs but the rest were hit-or-miss.
Anonymous 3 days ago
Hi. Um.. im only 16 but this creepy dude raped me in a parking lot and now Im pregnant. No one believes me, and the guy hasnt been caught yet! please help! -Sonicgurl
Anonymous 20 days ago
I heard you giv advice.... can you plz help me <p> ~~Mackenzie
Anonymous 24 days ago
Yes! I need help! Do you know anything about boys? Becase i hav a problem
Anonymous 26 days ago
Hello my name is Kambell. Im here to help with anything, boyfriends, abuse and many more. Trust me i never stall, ask a bunch of questions. Ill ask what is going on and try to solve it. See i have been popular at my school and my neighborhood because i have my own advice coulmn. So if you read this please ask me!!!&#9786
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book...keep
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok so... i like this girl in middle school and she winked at me all i did was look away what does it mean
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Text me back and put your headline as elizabeth if you have any advice for me im a 13 yr old girl who has problems and needs help with my boyfriend and my used-to-be best friend cuz my utb best friend keeps telling me my boyfriend will break my heart again and now she and another girl are mad bc im giving my boyfriend another chance which i should because this is the first chance i gave him and its the only chance im giving him and if he screws up this time then hes out of luck!!!!! And i was talking to my utb best friend today and i told her i know shes mad for a reason which is bc she likes my boyfriend and now im bacck with him and told her that the other girl hope dont need to be mad at me just bc im with someone i truelly love and he likes me too and then she told me her boyfriend which is my ex she said he was going to ask me out the day he asked her out which was the same day i got with my boyfroend last time lol which i would have said yes to my ex bc i used to be upsessed with him so if you have any advice for me then just text me back and put ur haedline as elizabeth
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dunno if this counts as love life (sorry if it doesn't!) but what is nook sex?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book! It is great for those who already have a career and those embarking upon a new chapter in life. It's even great encouragement for young people needing some inspiration. I have bought it for gifts and like going back to read letters in the book addressing particular topics.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from cover to cover!!!!
LittlePig More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the entries very much! Most were thoughtful, heartfelt advice. Loved Katie's bridges. Reading her entries was just like listening to her talk.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pink_Petals More than 1 year ago
LOVE it!!! Wonder WHY is that everyone that has something negative to say always hide behind &quot;anonymous&quot;...if your feelings or comments were TRUE you wouldn't have a problem with identifying yourself. Great book Katie! Keep up the great work :o)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago