×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Best Life Diet Revised and Updated
     

The Best Life Diet Revised and Updated

3.8 72
by Bob Greene
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the bestselling author of Get With the Program! and Bob Greene's Total Body Makeover comes The Best Life Diet, a lifetime plan for losing weight and keeping it off. Bob Greene helped Oprah achieve her dramatic weight loss, and he can help you too. You'll eat the same delicious food that Oprah enjoys, and, just like Oprah, you'll have Bob to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 72 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is good for focusing in on what to do to lose weight in a healthy way. It is easy to absorb the information and it helped me feel more confident that I can do it and eat better and get more exercise. I saw him on TV many times and like his personality and approach.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I admit to begin with that I have not completed this book yet. However, I have completed the first Phase and have to say that I am frustrated by the number of times Bob Greene refers to his website where he will provide more information and helful tips, etc. He fails to mention in the book that you must pay a weekly fee for the website (although they do offer a free trial period). While there has been some useful information in the book, it really isn't anything that I have not read before. My impression so far is that the book is an advertisement for his website. I feel like I paid for an advertisement and not any new information.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book and its approach a lot. Things I liked that I haven't found anywhere else: * Mixing cereals to come up with a different taste. I guess I'm just not creative, but this was a cool idea I've incorporated into my diet. * Starting out without any restrictions. Every other diet approach I've read recently starts you out with phase one being the most restrictive. This phase one is just the phase, helpful for me because it gave me time to read the rest of the book while not jumping into a diet AND exercise program right away. * He gives a great list of exactly what friuts and veggies help which health conditions. Good reference page. * Oprah's recipes-- they were easier and more doable than the others in the book. Especially the turkey burgers. A lot of the recipes just took regular recipes and made them healthier, replacing ground beef with ground turkey and refined flour with whole grain flour. * He helps you take a look at WHY you overeat. I find myself asking 'am I hungry? or am I just stuffing my face because I can't find another way to deal with the frustration of my 4-month-old daughter screaming?' It's usually the second, so I stop eating and say a lil' prayer. * His emphasis on fiber. This is often neglected in a lot of health-conscious circles, but is vital to the correct long-term functioning of the innards. I think he hits the nail right on the head with this book the most though. Weight loss is something that has to start first with your issues in life and with this book he helps you go from phase to phase as you progress along in your struggles with weight loss. I think he has a good out look on what it takes to loss weight and I think this is his best book yet. Hattely
Fullarton More than 1 year ago
This book was highly recomended by the weightloss certification instructer for a hypnosis class. As a hypnotherapist I expect life changing strategies. This was not it. The only thing I found reccomending the book is a very nice lady of color on TV.
cmikel More than 1 year ago
I have been on a weight loss journey for 6 months and lost my motivation. This book has gotten my out of my funk and ready for the road ahead. This book will give you great information on how to live the best life you can, physically and emotionally. I would recommend this book to anyone who is just starting out on their own journey and needs a little boost. What a great book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've found this book interesting so far. I haven't yet completed it, as I'm reading each phase when it's time for me to start that phase. I've learned alot about how the body process food and water. Very informative. And so far, it seems to be not a strenuous diet, especially since it's not really a diet - it's learning a new way of eating in life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an easy to read, good solid plan with the use of everyday food. If you are new to weight loss the plan is in steps to make it not so overwhelming. Since I am a personal trainer I found that I would recommend this to my clients.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have purchased a lot of diet/exercise books in the past and never stuck with any of them. I find Bob Greene's 'Best Life Diet' to be full of practical information and a plan that is easy to follow. There are three phases to his plan, and right now I am still in Phase 1. So far, so good! I think Bob's book is one of the most sensible books out there because it is definitely a 'change your lifestyle' book rather than a 'diet' book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome. It not only teaches what to eat but How and Why you eat. Its in 'plain' english that anyone can understand and relate to. I love this book! It will help anyone get on track if they just read and follow Bob's guidlines EASY TO DO!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Best Life Diet is truly not a diet at all. Bob Greene explains how this is a change in lifestyle. The changes are slow and managable for anyone. He doesn't lead you on to think you can loose 10 lbs in 10 days like other nonsense diet plans. Bob is very practical and realistic. Great book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I finally found a book that doesn't tell you carbs are better than protein or vice versa. Bob Green spells it all out for anyone who wants to lose weight or someone(like myself) who cares about what they are putting in their bodies. I love how the 3 phases work, they are sensible and easy to follow. It's not some diet plan you follow until you've lost weight, it's a plan on how to eat healthy for the rest of your life. I have tryed many of the recipes and loved everyone, the best part, they are easy to make. It's about time someone wrote a book on how to eat for your whole life. Thanks Bob!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the one that is going to turn me around. I've read a number of books intending to change my eating and exercise habits, but never seem to get past the first couple of chapters. Bob Greene's The Best Life Diet is written in a way that makes you understand the principles of good eating, without weighing you down. The Oprah diet suggestions are a little extreme for me, but once I starting reading his 2 week menu plan and checking out the menus, I was hooked.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Always hard to tell which diets are the scams. This one is NOT! My husband and I are loving the meal plans and new recipes. The word 'diet' shouldn't be part of the title because it's not a diet. It's a new way of eating that you will continue with forever. Reasonable ingredients for a logical lifestyle. Great book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What sets this book apart on the diet bookshelf is that it tackles a lot of other issues needed to lose weight, besides just the usual exercise and diet plan (which the book also includes). A short bit on keeping a positive attitude was nice to find as well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Of all the Bob Greene books, I think this one is the best. Not because it has some revolutionary diet or exercise plan, but simply because it focuses more on other factors that keep people from losing weight. As the book points out, dropping weight is not just a numbers game, its a complicated web of social rituals, cultural expectations and habits that drive people to gain weight. The book's plan is a three phase one. The focus of phase one is to move more and change your meal patterns. Phase two is learning how to control your hunger and make dietary changes. Finally, phase three concentrates on improving the quality of one's diet. The book ends with meal plans and recipes, which roughly make up about a third of the book. Also sandwiched in there is a short section on keeping a positive attitude, which I feel is as crucial as anything else when it comes to losing weight. After all, what good is a plan if you can't stick with it long enough to see results? (Also recommend 'The Sixty-Second Motivator' for more on this topic). All in all its probably Bob's best to date and I'm sure it will help many who struggle with their weight loss demons.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bob being associated with Oprah is the reason why I explored this title. I was pleased that I did because it is full of very helpful ideas and opinions and facts about being healthy and losing weight. It is a multi-phase program with the last one being the state you maintain forever...so it covers you from now til forever. There are menus in the back, actual name brand food recommendations in areas that are often confusing (whole grain breads and pastas...), and a great hunger scale that was very interesting. Bob explains and asks that we explore the emotional - and other- reasons for being overweight. He also asks that we consider why we want to lose weight, and based on that answer talks about whether we might want to explore our motives. This is a very comforting and optimistic book that covers everything without boring me to tears and without being too long or hard to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book because it is down to earth. The author does not present the idea of losing weight as a simple exercise. He recognizes that habit changes are necessary and provides a structure to lose weight along with some great recipes. I suggest reading this book along with Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self, the ultimate book that shows you how to put your best self in charge of your life and every moment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think my headline says it all. This book is positive and practical. Throw in that it is well written, and you have a winner! I highly recommend this. There are more than just a few nuggets to gleen from this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved the book...keep it as a reference bought it after I had already purchased 'Bob Greene's Total Body Make Over' as well as the 'Best Life Diet Journal' and many years back 'Make the Connection' Bob Greene and Oprah Winfrey...so I have been a fan for many years...and the 'Best Life Diet' really works!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Of course we believe we walk all the time. That is, until you strap on a pedometer and you discover yourself in Level 0 of the activity section of the book. You don't need to read the book to know that Level 0 ain't good! Nevertheless, The Best Life Diet is fundamentally one of the best books on life and health that I've read recently. Bob Green takes a no nonesense approach to a life and death situation--our health. Move and eat properly, you live the best life possible. Yes, you will still die, but at least you may have some organs to donate at the end of your life. Smoke and knock back beer, scotch, and luscious snack cakes and you'll take up a lot more room in that pine box. I'm one week with a pedometer clicking at me everyday to move just a little more. I do feel better and can't wait to move up to Level 2. Because I was complacent enough to try to be at least be a Level 1. But, I'm feeling so good now that Level 1 just won't do.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A new and easy to follow eating lifestyle. The book is very supportive and realistic in helping you with the difficult battle of losing weight. It is a healthy way to lose weight.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Of all the Bob Greene books, I think this one is the best. Not because it has some revolutionary diet or exercise plan, but simply because it focuses more on other factors that keep people from losing weight. As the book points out, dropping weight is not just a numbers game, its a complicated web of social rituals, cultural expectations and habits that drive people to gain weight. The book's plan is a three phase one. The focus of phase one is to move more and change your meal patterns. Phase two is learning how to control your hunger and make dietary changes. Finally, phase three concentrates on improving the quality of one's diet. The book ends with meal plans and recipes, which roughly make up about a third of the book. Also sandwiched in there is a short section on keeping a positive attitude, which I feel is as crucial as anything else when it comes to losing weight. After all, what good is a plan if you can't stick with it long enough to see results? (Also recommend 'The Sixty-Second Motivator' for more on this topic). All in all its probably Bob's best to date and I'm sure it will help many who struggle with their weight loss demons.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a great start for changing your outlook on life and eating habits.Each page offers you insight on how others did it and how you can follow the same methods of controlling your eating habits and picking the right foods you enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A realistic, can-do eating plan for life. Helps you discover reasons for emotional eating, plan a healthy, realistic eating plan for the rest of your life - to jump-start weight loss and then to maintain a healthy weight and active lifestyle with good food choices without going hungry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is just what I needed to get me motivated and start a life change. IT is not about dieting, it is about eating better for life. It is the only book I have ever read that actually got me motivated to eat better and take better care of myself.