×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Between
     

Between

4.3 69
by Jessica Warman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Elizabeth Valchar-pretty, popular, perfect- wakes up after spending her eighteenth birthday party on her family's yacht to investigate a thumping noise. What she finds will change everything she thought she knew about her life, her friends, and everything in between. As Liz begins to unravel the circumstances surrounding her birthday night, she will find that no

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Between 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Shelby262 More than 1 year ago
Wow. Where do i begin? I dont have one bad thing to say about this book. I was pulled in on the very first page and didnt put it dont till it was finished, and even when it was finished i went back and re-read parts of it. This book is a must read. The story has everything you could want in a book, those cute sappy romantic moments and plenty of humor. Between was heartbreaking at times and made me want to be able to confort the characters. The end will leave you breathless and above all things i think, shoked. Im usually pretty good at figuring out how books will end, but not with Between. I had no idea what so ever where the book was going to go, but when i did, i was beyond shocked and i actually think i felt my heart break. This is a MUST read to anyone who hasnt read it, i would deffinently go back and read Between a 3rd and 4th time. Deffinently 5 stars, i wish i could give it 6!
DanceBree17 More than 1 year ago
Between was a book that had me sucked in from the very beginning and I could not put it down!!! Normally I am not into the ghost story idea, but this is more than a soul finding her peace. You have the romance, between Liz and Richie, and you have also Liz and Alex there for a while too. I liked how Alex helped her find her memories and really fill in the gaps in her back story. I was seriously not expeting the twists this story gave and I had many "Ohemgee" moments. The finish leaves you with a breathless feeling, and i am already starting it over again. If you like stories that have romance, mystery and some comedy moments thrown in the mix, this is the perfect book for you. Apperances arent everything, and this book proves it, to the very last page.
dayzd89 More than 1 year ago
I picked up Between at the library last week randomly, liking the cover and finding myself intrigued by the summary. Now that I've finished the book, though, I feel like the summary doesn't give the novel any justice at all. I really, really like this book. I love the story. I think it's excellently done, in a profound, sensitive way. I found myself tearing up throughout the story, finding it hard to keep my emotions at bay. Even though Liz and I are quite different, I found myself liking her strong resolve and willingness to change for the better. At first, it may seem that Liz is nothing but a vapid, shallow teenager, but that changes as more is revealed in the story. Also, the other characters are well developed, and bring a lot of depth to the plot. I really like the message of the story, too. No one in this world is purely good or bad. We've all done things that are questionable or wrong. We've all hurt someone or lied. Sometimes it's intentional, other times it's not. I strongly believe in the fact that life isn't purely black or white. Nothing in life works like that. I think that applies to this novel as well. I recommend this book to anyone who loves mystery, a good ghost story, a love story, or just a damn good novel in general.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is mainly written for young adult readers and readers who like suspense
Ewriter22 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! In the beginning of the book I didn't know what to think of Liz....In the end though she came through. The story line was so good! It really is a mystery the whole book, in the end it all comes to together. More then half of the book lets you hang there waiting for something amazing to happen. And it does...When it does, you will be so shocked. Usually when I read the last page of the book I'm disappointed. They never end the way I want them to . This time though....was almost like closure. Overall Between is a great book! Worth 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i could not put this book down. Its so different and intresting. The mysterys will keep you guessing and once you put it together your mind will be blown. Its an amazingg book a definte read. One of my favories a must read.
BookPortrait More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of ghost stories lately, but Between is not your typical ghost story. Instead, it is the story of a girl, her life, her love, and her choices, and how they lead to her untimely death. Told in alternating past and present tense, Between shows how events can shape lives and that all actions have consequences. On her eighteenth birthday, Liz Valchar is awoken by a thumping sound. When she goes to find out what it is, she sees her own body, face down in the water, obviously dead. Thinking that she is dreaming, she desperately tries to wake up, but to no avail. She is dead, with no real memories of what happened the night before. Fortunately, she isn't left to wander in this strange semi-existence alone; Alex Berg, a boy from her high school who died the previous year, comes to meet her. Together they weave in and out of memories, trying to piece together what happened the night that Liz died. Alex is insistent that there is a reason they were brought together and that they have to figure out what it might be. As the memories become stronger, it is soon clear that despite the perfect facades of so many high school students, nothing was really as it seemed... In some ways, Between is almost a story within a story - there is the overall mystery of how Liz died, but there is also her time with Alex, which she spends reinterpreting her memories and learning about herself and about human nature. While the mystery is interesting, it is Liz's journey that really makes this story. Liz may not always be the easiest character to like, but I enjoyed watching her grow. There are some heartbreaking moments in this book, especially when Liz is longing for just a little more time with Richie, her boyfriend. In addition, I loved the way that she and Alex finally came to an understanding about one another. They were simply friends, and the lack of an overt romance was refreshing. Even though I didn't live in the Northeast, I did go to high school in a small town where everyone knew most everyone else, and so in some ways reading this book was like a trip through my own memories. I will admit that Between reminded me of a few other novels I've read, but I think that within the first few chapters this story did develop its own unique identity. While this book is of a more reflective nature, the underlying mystery of how Liz died, combined with character exploration, made for an intriguing read. Although some of the characters are frustrating at times, the book as a whole is very realistic and very powerful. Between is by no means a light book. It is a book that makes you think, a book with messages, and a book that will stick with you. I will definitely be reading more by Jessica Warman in the future.
Christy Mottshaw More than 1 year ago
I loved this book i couldnt put it down i read it in two days. Its one of those books you have to finish before you go to bed... you'll be up all night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im usually really good at predicting endings but not this one. I loved this book with all my heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read this book becsuse I had been chosen to get an advanced reader's copy, and it has haunted me ever since. A great read, paired with a new compeling story line. You won't regret reading it, and when it's done you'll want to devour the rest of the author's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reeading through the life of Liz, puzzling pieces of here life alongside her and Alex. Would definatly recomend this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So intense. Didn't even see some of the events come so caught up in the book. A loving dead book
Suzie_Beth17 More than 1 year ago
Must read! Heartbreaking and shocking. You will never guess how it ends
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked the book up in my high school library. I couldnt put it sown i lived it that much. I have never found a book i like this.
KDH_Reviews More than 1 year ago
I always love it when books turn out better than I expect them to be. Between just so happens to be one of those books. From the very beginning, I had a hard time putting the book down. This is the first Jessica Warman book I've ever read, but it's clear to me that she's a fantastic writer. Her characters are very well done. I really enjoyed watching Liz grow and transform, even given her current circumstances. Between's storyline was great. I loved how Warman switched between present day events and the past. It really worked well for building the entire story. I don't want to give too much away (in case it's not clear, I try to avoid spoilers at all costs in my reviews), but I definitely recommend giving Between a read. It's a fantastic book that I believe many people can enjoy. Favorite Quote: "I realize now that I wanted to disappear. To get so lost that nobody ever found me. To go so far away that I'd never be able to make my way home again. But I have no idea why."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It is a great story about love, redemption, forgiveness, and moving on. The B&N summary is not for this book not sure what happened I read a review on goodreads and decided to purchase, so don't let the summary mislead you; it's a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So, im in junoir high and where do i begin im only on Chapter 11 and its been great i havent taken my eyes off of it just got it yesturday and trust me im not a reader!! And this book is great but the Caption it gives is wrong. None of thoose names r in the book. So yeah hope i could help. BEST BOOK!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is soooo good!!! I got it yesterday and just finished it! You will not be able to put it down! Here is the overview on the back cover: Elizabrth Valchar- pretty, popular, and perfect- wakes up the morning after her eighteenth birthday party on her family's yacht, where she'd been celebrating with herfive closest friends. A persistent thunping noise has roused her. When she goes to investigate, what she discovers will change everything she thought she knew about her past, her future, and what lies in between. As Liz begins to unravel the circumstances surrounding her birthday night, she finds that no one, least of all Liz herself, was perfect- or innocent. And that somememories never stop following you, no matter how hard you run.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! Got me hooked from the first chapter and was so hard to put down! Throughout the whole story it makes you keep wanting to know the truth and at the end everything fits together! If you like mysreries you will love this!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is thrilling and has unexpcted twists
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First of all i am reading this book right now and it is awsome. I am only 11yrs old and it is a really good book. So good that my sister wants to read it after me. (She is 19yrs old) Another thing is that this book is only $11 which isnt really that much. I pay much more than that all the time. EVEN FOR APPS and i am NOWHERE CLOSE TO RICH IF ANYTHING I AM POOR. I had saved money all my life and barely had enough money for this nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read it in hard copy and just loved it. It's just so good and will definitely make you cry in both good and bad ways
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NerdyMusicBliss More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness. This book is beyond words. The story, the character, the mystery, the plotline. Everything. The author has a way of stirring emotions and relating the characters to you. The ending is so amazing, despite the circumstances. After I finished reading I had to take a few minutes to come back to reality and completely absorb the book. The story delves into first love, the good and bad friendships, inescapable guilt, and explores corners of your heart that you never knew existed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this book from the library and read it in like a day and a half. It was such a good book and is a must read especially if you like a good ghost story/love story. It was very intriuging and i loved it.