×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Between the Lines
     

Between the Lines

4.0 207
by Jodi Picoult, Samantha van Leer
 

See All Formats & Editions

The #1 New York Times bestseller filled with romance, adventure, and humor, from Jodi Picoult and her teenage daughter.

What happens when happily ever after…isn’t?

Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Between the Lines 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 208 reviews.
AlwaysYAatHeart1 More than 1 year ago
Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-old teenager who doesn't quite fit in with everyone else. She loves to read, and one book has become her favorite. The only problem is that the book she loves so much is a fairy tale for kids entitled "Between the Lines." Try as she may, she just can't stay away from it. Deliliah is a bit of a social outcast and her only friend, other that her books, is Jules, who has the whole wild punk-rocker scene going on. (Her character is really fun and entertaining). Deliliah is enthralled with Prince Oliver, the main character in her book.......and Prince Oliver is enthralled with Deliliah, and desperately wants to get out of that book and into her world. The story is written from Deliliah's point of view, as well as from Prince Oliver's point of view, and is also told from a narrative fairy tale perspective. I found the story to be delightful and entertaining, and everything you would imagine a YA fairy tale to be. I loved the interaction between Deliliah and Oliver as they plotted and planned trying to figure out a way to get Oliver out of the book, as well as all the adventure that took place in the process of trying to make this happen. I also enjoyed the other characters in the book, especially the mermaids. The ending was really a classic happily ever after one with a different twist. I would recommend this book for girls even as young as 9 or 10. I think I would have enjoyed it at that age. Between the Lines is a cute and imaginative modern day fairy tale that girls of all ages will love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jodi has been my favorite author since i read my sisters keeper. As a 16 year old male i look for much more than simple romance in novels. But in this love story Jodi made me cry yet again. I absolutly love the plot; two partners working together til the very end even though the stakes are high. Its a common example of enduring hardships to just trynto he with the one you love. Delilah is a true sweet heart. Please read it and find out for yourself. Everyone deserves a happy ending.
DeeDeeWillis More than 1 year ago
Fantastic. I couldn't put this book down. Highly Recommended
sammixlove23 More than 1 year ago
A sales lady at one of the BandN stores actually recommended this to me and at first i thought it would be horribley cliche and childish but I LOVED it. Im 19 and I couldnt put the book down, but whether your 15 like one of the main characters Delilah or your in your fortys you will like this book. It shows just how much it means to believe in something and really pull through with it. Even though she looked crazy and nobody believed her she didnt care she wanted Oliver out and she was going to get him. Romance, suspence, humor, and all else is in this book and I very much reccommend this.
sand7s More than 1 year ago
Very good book. I loved the characters. makes a great summer read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovvveed it great summer read could not put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a nice switch from the same kind of teenage love story. it is not too old so it will be easy for tween's and teen who what a love story butt not too old to read. :) :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a great story! Loved it!
vannarene More than 1 year ago
This was a lovely quick read. Definitely a special book. Would make a great gift for any teenage girl! I'm 24 and loved it :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book it funny and a great love story of two who have to find a way to be together
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good! It had such a unique plot, characters, and twists that you are entertained throughout the read. Loved it and is definitely one of my new favorites
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting concept but very badly executed. Nice of Picoult to support her daughter's interest in writing but this should never have been published. Writing level might interest an8yr old but even they might get too bored to continue after thr first two chapters. Don't waste your time and money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very fun story to read. I would recommend it to anyone who loves fairy tales.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good read. Jodi is an amazing author and her daughter does an amazing job bringing this story to life. It was such an interesting twist and not what I expected. Wonderful Job!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an AMANZING book. People think it's about this romance and that's it. Well let me tell you it is not like that. Sure there is some romance in it but there is also a girl who has a hard time at school and grew up with no father. I'm almost 13 and I LOVED this book. You need to have an imagination, but tthat is not that hard to find. Deffinitaly recomend getting this book, so worth the money. Happy reading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good book filled with deep philosophical issues. Definitely different than Jodi's other books. I recommend it, especially if you're a Jodi Picoult fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg this is easily my fave book ever!!! I love the friendship between Delilah and the guy in the book ( dont remember his name lol) If u are questioning weither or not to get this book .............. GET IT !! It wont b waste of ur money!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book.It was not sophisticated or very cultural but sometimes we just need a good old fashioned fairy tale :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved how you could see the different points of views of each main character and the actual story in which Oliver was stuck in. It was an amazing plot and I loved the illustrations and font change and color! You have to get this in actual book form not e-book. It's soo much prettier and more enjoyable! You have to read. Even though I wasnt completely satisfied with the ending, all in all, it was a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book that i would recomend to my friends
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! It was very creative and very well written. Highest recommendations if it appeals to you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think that this story does exactly what it is supposed to do-- it provides a sweet and imaginative read for people of all ages. It's very easy to get through, and though it is a young adult novel, it paints a real picture of what teenagers (and adults) feel when they are alone and isolated, and is peppered with little insightful quotes you can come back to again and again. I would recommend it for young readers, but it's a fairy tale that doesn't compromise on intellectual integrity-- making it just as entertaining for adults :)
blamethebooks 8 months ago
Between the Lines introduces us to our main character Delilah, a fifteen-year-old high-schooler who discovers a very special fairy tale tucked away in the shelves of her school's library. One day, the heroic prince in the fairy tale, Oliver, starts talking to Delilah. That's right, she can hear him talking, and he tells her his biggest desire – to leave the book. Written by Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha van Leer, this story asks a very interesting question – what happens to the characters in our favorite books when the pages are closed? I LOVED this idea. We all wish that our favorite characters could come to life, and this book takes that idea and runs with it. While it is technically advertised as a YA read, it really felt a little bit younger and more juvenile to me. I don't mean that in a bad way; I still really enjoyed this read, but it is very fluffy and cute and pretty much like reading a Disney princess movie. So if you want a fantastical fairy tale that will make you feel all warm and fuzzy, pick this up and give it a try. The one thing that concerns me about Between the Lines and it's companion novel, Off the Page (just recently released May 19, 2015) is the presence (or lack thereof) of the side characters. The side characters that existed in Oliver's fairy tale world were really what made this story for me. Sure, Oliver's quest to escape into the real world was entertaining, but what really got me were his fairy tale friends – from an orthodontist pirate to a horse concerned with his waistline, from a dragon with braces to feminist mermaids. They were what made this story so special for me. I loved getting to see what they were up to when the Reader closed the book and they didn't have to play their fairy tale roles anymore. Unfortunately, the entire existence of Off the Page is pretty much a spoiler for Between the Lines. Off the Page tells the story of Oliver's adventures in the real world, and I am worried that once he leaves the pages of his book behind, we won't see his fairy tale friends in the next installment. The twist at the end of Between the Lines was very interesting, and left me with some questions that I am hoping are addressed in Off the Page. I will definitely be picking up the next book to see what happens to our characters, but I will be very disappointed if Off the Page just focuses on Delilah and Oliver. All in all, I thought Between the Lines was pretty awesome. Definitely a very light and fluffy read, but by the end I was really rooting for Oliver and all of his friends. Totally worth picking up if you enjoy fairy tales or just fun, quick, light-hearted reads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story was...unusual. It had a Toy Story vibe. I reccomend this to pre-teens. The end was a bit confusing (for me anyways). I hate writing reviews on my nook. I have grown accustomed to autocorrect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago