×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Beyond Belief: My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape
     

Beyond Belief: My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape

4.2 147
by Jenna Miscavige Hill
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jenna Miscavige Hill, niece of Church of Scientology leader David Miscavige, was raised as a Scientologist but left the controversial religion in 2005. In Beyond Belief, she shares her true story of life inside the upper ranks of the sect, details her experiences as a member Sea Org—the church's highest ministry, speaks of her "disconnection&

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Beyond Belief: My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 147 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Incredible insight into a world of child abuse and brain washing. I believe this woman and it is obvious that she has amazing strength to turn away from the only way of life she knew. I'm so happy she was able to escape and have the heart to tell her story. A good read and very informative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"beyond belief" is an incredible account of the lives lived by people in "Scientology". I could not put it down and was in utter disbelieff at first that this could occur in this day and age. There is no question in my mind that brainwashing, threats and child abuse occurs daily in the lives of many if not all in Scientology. I will no longer watch any movie or any program associated with any actor or actress who is involved in "Scientology". The reason being, although Scientology theories may not be all that may be misleading, it is the fact that there is known proof of abuse (no matter what shape of form the abuse may come in) of what it is like living and growing up in Scientology and any actor or actress who stays active in Scientology is only condoning what is taking place. I hope I am not alone in protesting a boycott on actor/actresses that are actively involved in Scientology. Until those in power are removed and held accountable for their actions, WE SHOULD ALL BE ASHAMED IF WE RENT, WATCH OR GO ANY MOVIE, CONCERT OR SHOW THEY ARE INVOLVED IN.
sneps More than 1 year ago
Incredible Read!! A Must Read Book!! Wow! This book is detailed into the life of Jenna Miscavige Hill, niece to David Miscaige (CBO). Jenna is so brave as she delves into the darkest and most corrupt system that claims to be a church. It is harrowing to read that at the age of 2 she was raised at a camp of sorts for children, whose parents had dedicated their lives to the Sea Org. With Jenna’s parents away, somewhere within the organization, Jenna is indoctrinated into the beliefs and different levels within Scientology. There are so many moments that Jenna truly wants to embrace the lifestyle and sacrifice she has made as a Sea Org member (signing the billion year contract), however she soon can’t ignore or excuse the red flags that keep popping up. Over time, Jenna loses family members who are classified as “SP’s”, and she is alone with only the guidance of her Aunt Shelley and a few other higher-ups. However, there comes a point where Jenna truly wants her life, her independence, and sees the organization’s corruptions, abuse of power, and leaves the organization. There were many times I was just shocked by the depravity and isolation Jenna and others like her, experienced. Scientology isn’t a religion, it’s a way to gain higher power based on the money you give and who you are (star power). The sheer torture of working non-stop for little to no pay, the separation from family and friends, the cut-offs from those who dont’ support Scientology, and the paranoia surrounded by those in higher ups who fear that the organization’s image will be tarnished, motivates those in upper positions to abuse their power, demote people from their level, and really becomes more man based than God based. While Scientology doesn’t believe in God, they really look to LRH as the man with the plan. With some basic psychology 101 and e-meter readings, individuals are coerced through fear, removal of benefits ( like making a phone call), and falling behind a level (even if you already reached a level, you can possibly be stripped of it to start all over). Education is primarily centered around the teachings and not formal education (traditional schooling). So, there is a catch. If a person moves through all the levels, which costs thousands of dollars, by the time the highest level is reached to Clear-the person may feel rather stupid learning about the aliens and Xenu that they stick with it b/c of all the money invested. Likewise, with education-if a child is raised in Scientology, he/she will be behind educationally and may not feel useful in the outside world. So, in many ways this religion does cause a sense of learned helplessness and a person becomes dependent on someone in higher position to be validated. With so many secrets and trying to keep people in control, those in the Sea Org don’t want tv, interact too much with the outside world, and become truly dependent on the organization. Reading all the Jenna endured, I am amazed and inspired by her courage, tenacity, and willingness to ask questions-even when others didn’t want her to. Jenna brought great points to the forefront and one can only hope that people will look more deeper into the secrets and abuse that Scientology has done to its members. Overall, this was an incredible read and Jenna wrote this book in terms that non-Scientologists could understand, but that Scientologists would also understand and know that her experience is true. I hope that her book opens eyes and creates changes within the organization and the individuals that make up the “religion”.
Tinkodaat More than 1 year ago
my husband left me as a young mother with a new baby.  A woman involved in Scientology wanted to 'help' me by signing me up with the 'contract''.   I was not in a good place and probably would have signed  up had it not been for the elusive comments about where my child would be and with whom.  I did not sign up and the whole book gives me chills to think what would have become of my baby, then only a year old.  Ms. Hill gives an amazing, unvarnished look at  the sick, twisted entity that is Scientology. A lot of the book gave me chills as I think what our lives could have been like, living apart from each other.  thank you for writing this awesome book.
Nikki17404 More than 1 year ago
Brave girl and a lucky one to have lived a life that opened her eyes to the goodness of real life where she is allowed to control the shots. Wonderful. I love these uplifting, eye-opening, feel good about life and life-changing books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If, like me, you are looking for an in depth expose of Scientologies beliefs and teachings, this isn't the book to read. That's not to say that this isn't a book worth your time, or money. It's an excellent book regarding some of the inner workings and behind the scenes of Scientology. This book will serve you well if you have a family member or a friend who is a Scientologist, especially if they're a Scientology "insider" and you want to understand the fundamental teachings that are shaping and informing them. Personally, I'd love to see a book written by the author's parents, as well!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow! Great inside view of Sciencetology. Good for her in getting out. The true word of what the inside of a cult looks like. I couldnt put it down
storms1 More than 1 year ago
"beyond belief" is a very amazing book!! I found it very hard to put down. jenna miscavige hill was the neice of the head of the church of scientology she made an amazing escape from the organization with her daughters cause she begain to questian there motives and their questianable motives and the abuse that she and her friends had to go through many secrets about the leader and this strange organization is shared in this great book wonderful read. great gift idea for friend or family. other book to recamend : inside scientology by janet reitman
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There were sooooo many books on scientology (sorry, I won't give it the dignity of a capital "S"). It was confusing which one to choose to read...so trust me when I say I did the research for you. THIS is the one to read. It's a page turner as Jenna seems to take the reader week through week from the day of her entry into scientology as a little girl until the heartpounding day she escapes as a full grown adult. This book made me feel enraged, intrigued, amazed, frustrated, and at times even frightened. I never really believed in brainwashing. This story made me realize how little by little, day by day and event by event, a cult - yes i think of scientology as a cult-can brainwash someone. This is a must-read if you are curious about the scientology "church", which i loosely call them. That L.Ron Hubbard sure pulled a fast one decades ago...when he bet someone he could start a church and that he could actually get people to follow in it. That joke turned into a nightmare. There is a lot of scientology terms...you will come to know them as you read them, but I didn't know this until I was finished with the book...after the story is a short glossary with definitions you may want to refer as you read. When I finished this book, I researched videos on youtube. I found a video that actually frightened me. If you watch it before you read the book, it won't creep you out, it wouldn't have creeped me out. But after reading about these people, I was literally frightened and scared watching this woman at the door. So read the book first, then afterwards search youtube for 'scientology stalker', you will see exactly what I mean!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book confirms my experience of people being held beyond their own will at the Ranch. This continues to this day. I believe the author should get an award for creating such an open new territory in writing. Nothing is more golden than personal experience. The only thing missing is other parts of scientology. I know they have space port landing port and library in nw new mexico when lrh's alien leader returns. You can see it on google maps sw of dulce. I hope the author creates further study into a second volume. Wonderful. Thank You. Brian Kortmeyer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WOW, what a ride!! I read this from cover to cover on my Nook and simply could not put it down. What an altered reality some people are living!! Don't miss this book, it's fantastic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For anyone who has always wanted to know what Scientology is all about, read this book! This is first-hand account of life inside the secret world. Jenna gives a very detailed description of her life in the Sea Org. I highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always enjoy real-life stories from those that have been on the inside of such organizations. Well-written and a quick read yet very insightful!
deljess12 More than 1 year ago
I was waiting to read this book because i really wanted to get a glimpse of the inside world of Scientology and see what people were fussing about, I was disappointed  because I was expecting so much more instead all I got was a thick book with Scientology jargon and "auditing" it got to the point where I couldn't wait for the book to be done. There were some parts that were pretty decent but for the most part I was unhappy. I would not recommend the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She wrote her story like the events were normal and at the same time, you have to scream a silent scream for her to escape, page by page, because you realize that the practices of Scientology are against everything normal. Though she and her family are intelligent and well-balanced people, they are trapped in a mind altering deception as they are being choked to death...very slowly, unknowingly. I appreciate having an understanding what Scientology is, but having my curiosity fulfilled, I am appalled this so called church is allowed to remain that allows stealing normal human experiences-- preventing friend, family and love relationships, preventing you from having children and turning everyone into a robot for hard labor controlled by fear while being under more suspician than Big Brother and the KGB combined.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is a very sad and scary one. It tells of her journey with Sciententology and how from birth she is isolated from her parents. The way the children are treated is sick and terrible. These people should be locked up. Im so glad that she is brave enough to share her story and hopeful save another lost soul. This is a cult and a bad one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this down. I believe Ms. Hill finally has found her "hat", saving others from true evil.
Hydee More than 1 year ago
Excellent account of Jenna's experience with Scientology. Very well written and I found it difficult to put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very informative; everyone should read this book to get inside knowledge of this "Cult".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing story, I couldn't put it down. I wanted to reach into the book, pull little Jenna out and hug her and tell her that the real world isn't like the freaky secret cult world. This book is fascinating , yet horrific.  It is such a horrible cult, and celebrities who believe in this crap should open their eyes. Buy this book though, it is gripping.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put this down....anyone curious about this so called religion must read...
I-am-Blessed More than 1 year ago
Eye-opening book. What I can't seem to wrap my head around is why so many people get sucked in and surrender every part of themselves to something that causes so much destruction. I'm glad Jenna and her family were able to escape this horrible cult.  
Anonymous 4 months ago
What a powerful story.
Anonymous 5 months ago
What a life for a child to be raised in an organization (would not honor it with the word religion) where your parents are kept from you most of the time. The constant punishments and being controlled...I felt so sorry for Jenna, just happy she is free now and shedding light on what goes on in Scientology
Anonymous 7 months ago
Very enlightening