×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Big Love
     

The Big Love

3.2 120
by Sarah Dunn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Alison Hopkins isn't just looking for Mr. Right . . . or even Mr. Big. She's holding out for the Big Love.

When 32-year-old Alison's first real boyfriend unceremoniously dumps her - he steps out to buy mustard for a dinner party and never returns - it's time for Alison to reassess her lifelong search for romantic fulfillment. Does true love even exist? Is every

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Big Love 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 119 reviews.
Danielle084 More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one sitting. I enjoyed every minute of it. Would read this one again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Any girl, woman, young or old should read this book. It is light hearted and fun with little twists and turns here and there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good rainy day chick lit read. Its definately not another book about a chubby writer living a fabulous life in the city- finally! this book is a great change of pace :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the book. I couldn't put it down, Allison reminded me of myself and I love Sarah Dunn's writing style.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Funny not what I thought it was going to be about. But an interesting story line and intersting twists to a girls life as she thinks it should be compaired to what it turned out to be. I would definatly recommend this book for someone who wants to sit and laugh. A great weekend book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in an afternoon. It was fun and I appreciated Alison's struggle with her spirituality.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed listening to The Big Love on CD while driving. It was easy to identify with Alison and her ups and downs (and humiliation, disappointment,uncertainty, over-reaction and triumph). The pleasant voice of reader Eliza Foss smoothly handled the long sentences. This book made me laugh.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best 'chick lit' novels that I have read, and trust me, I've read a lot of them. Alison, the main character, is very quirky. Sarah Dunn has a blunt writing style that's fresh and keeps you laughing. I couldn't put this book down!! I'd definitely recommend it to anyone, especially us ladies who know what it's like to constantly have guy troubles.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Alison and Tom prepare to host a dinner party with some friends when she realizes that she is out of Dijon mustard needed to make a sauce for the chicken she is cooking. Tom goes to the grocery store to buy some, but instead of returning with non-spicy mustard, he calls an hour later to inform Alison that he is not coming back because he loves someone else. Tom demands that Alison not write a word of how he broke up their relationship in her weekly column she writes for the Philadelphia Times, a floundering Village Voice wannabe.---- Tom, who met his college sweetheart for lunch periodically, went back to the beautiful Kate Pearce, with whom he has been sleeping with for several months. A broke Alison, with the encouragement of her pregnant friend Bonnie seeks THE BIG LOVE. She meets males including her boss on sex quests, but though she partakes with some she keeps asking what about Henry, her peer at the paper? He does not seek her scalp for his jock strap, but instead provides support to the bewildered Alison.---- THE BIG LOVE is an amusing and intelligent observation of how a thirty-two years old female reacts to her live-in lover dumping her. Alison who narrates much of the chick lit tale is a lively protagonist wondering whether she wants Tom to return to her (could King and Alison's girlfriends be right that ¿They Always Come Back¿?) or find her BIG LOVE as Tom obviously is not. With a strong support cast, Sarah Dunn provides a witty account of recovering and exploring life following a ¿Big Love¿ dumping.---- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
my friend gave me this book because she believed i would relate to it. im 20 yrs old and never been in that situation but her feelings and thoughts really stuck me. she always had some things to think about when she read it and now we are handing it off to my other best friend so we all can  discuss. it was good read that really gets you thinking about how complicated life is and quick read which is also nice.  if you don't like "short stories within stories" (she uses them to explain things) then you wont like this book it has a lot. i admit sometimes i would skim a bit so i could get to the point but for the most part it was nice to hear the insight. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not what I thought. It came up in a search for Christian chick lit....this is not a christian book. At points it seemed anti-christian. I kept reading thinking it would get better. No such luck. It was hard to follow and rambled on for pages. Wish I could get my money back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointing book =(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im on page 30, i hope this book gets better because right now im kind of bored with it, but i keep reading all the great comments everyone is writting on how much they loved it, so im hoping im wrong and i will end but liking it, not so much right now though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago