×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Birth to Five Book, The: Confident Childrearing Right from the Start
     

Birth to Five Book, The: Confident Childrearing Right from the Start

4.4 10
by Brenda Nixon
 

When should we start our baby on solids?

What do I do if my toddler bites another child?

Will the "why" questions ever end?

Ask any parenting question and you're sure to get lots of answers—from magazines, your in-laws, your sister, even complete strangers! But with all the conflicting advice, what's a busy parent to do?

The Birth to Five Book gives

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Birth to Five Book, The 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
AMayFlower More than 1 year ago
Nixon¿s book makes a great baby shower gift. I bought this book for my brother and sister-in-law, who are expecting their first child. The book is full of great practical advice that any new or veteran parent would be happy to have. From picky eaters to choosing the right preschool, this book has it covered. As a new aunt, I found the charts include in the book extremely helpful, especially the one about age appropriate gifts.
grandmakaren More than 1 year ago
Nothing is more daunting than to bring home the first baby and have no point of reference for what lies ahead. Nixon's book is a handy little tool with user-friendly pointers for all parents with little ones. From answering the simplest questions of a new mother to tackling toilet training and preparing your child for school, The Birth to Five Book offers quick answers and encouragement for any parent. Information is relayed in a quick readable and interesting manner with short chapters that don't require a lot of time (mom's have little)to glean the important material. What a great gift for the new parent or the one at wit's end with a toddler!
TrishBerg More than 1 year ago
Have little time to read a new book? Too many diapers to change, laundry to wash and someone pulling on your pant leg right now whining, "Mom, mom, mom, mom, mom..." a hundred times? The Birth to Five Book is perfect for you.

Author Brenda Nixon has created a great how to manual for busy moms with short, easy to read chapters that deal with all the questions moms want answered: how to handle clingy toddlers, potty training, thumb sucking, biting, fighting finicky eaters, and even how to get dad more involved in the parenting role.

As a busy mom of 4 myself, I know how chaotic life can be with preschoolers at home. I just launched my youngest into all day Kindergarten this past fall, and can hardly believe I survived those birth to five years four times over.

Boy, do I wish I had Brenda's book back then!

The Birth to Five Book is packed full of valuable information for moms of preschoolers, and would make a great baby shower gift, gift for you daughter or daughter-in-law, or for yourself if you have an ankle biter at home with you.

Don't stress, mom. Help is on the way. Let parenting expert Brenda Nixon help you figure out all the how-to's of mommy-hood.

Trish Berg
Author, Book Reviewer
www.TrishBerg.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought Brenda Nixon did a great job of disseminating important information to her readers in a concise and easy-to-read format. The chapters are short so it was easy for me to read in between my daughter's naps. She did an excellent job of giving advice in a way that I could appreciate. I would recommend this book to any new parent.
MommyPerks More than 1 year ago
I recently read and reviewed this book on the MommyPerks.com VIP Blog. We had 32 people enter to win with some great comments left. This book is terrific for both parents and teachers - packed full of common sense information, too often NOT practiced by parents or teachers today. I highly recommend this book. Even for great parents - we can all use a little reminder every now and then of the things we ought to be doing to help our children succeed!
Katylee More than 1 year ago
I had the privilege of interviewing Brenda on my podcast (NOT a paid advertising for the book. I was not paid to review her book.) Brenda is extremely gracious and gave me so much helpful information about raising children. You can listen to the podcast here: http://tinyurl.com/cgz9m5 I found this book extremely useful. Brenda covers all the topics that a parent face when the kids are little. Her advice is practical and to the point. The subtitle is "Confident Childrearing Right From the Start." This book does give parents confidence because it gives you advice to know how to handle dilemmas like how to help a child face loss, and what to do if your child is a biter. What I like also is the chapters are short. It's easy to read. You don't have to read it all at once. You can pick and choose which chapter is most relevant to you at the time and refer back to it often.
CathyBryant More than 1 year ago
As an educator and a parent, I was impressed with The Birth to Five Book by Brenda Nixon, who has an extensive background in childhood education. The book covers the challenges of parenting newborns, toddlers and preschoolers, and has a wealth of information that would be beneficial to parents with children in these age-groups. Here are a few of the nuggets of parenting wisdom found in this book: For Infants: ~Learning to be confident as the parent of a newborn. This section helps new parents know what to expect. ~Nursing. This chapter points out the pros and cons of breast-feeding, and also lets the parents know that the decision is a personal one. ~The love of reading. Children who are read to from a young age learn to enjoy reading. ~Finding adequate child care. This chapter lists all the things parents should consider before selecting child care for their infant. ~Separation anxiety. Every parent struggles with leaving a screaming child. This chapter offers helpful insight into separation anxiety and how a parent should handle it. For Toddlers: ~Understanding toddlers. Toddlers can be difficult to understand. This section lists the traits of toddlers, so parents know what to expect. ~Temper tantrums. If you've ever been around a toddler, you know how quickly temper tantrums can develop. This book will give you practical solutions for dealing with them. ~Weaning from the bottle. The process of weaning a child can prove to be a challenge. Understanding your toddler's need for security will make the process easier. ~Discipline. As an educator, I see the extreme value of disciplining children correctly. The word discipline actually means to teach, but many people view discipline as punishment. The author gives excellent advice on how to teach your toddler acceptable behavior. ~Paternal bonding. This chapter deals with the importance of fathers taking an active role in the parenting process. For Pre-Schoolers ~The importance of play. Play is not all about recreation. In fact, for pre-schoolers it is a way of learning about real life. Through this book you will learn ways to promote healthy play time. ~Choosing the right preschool. This can be a life-altering decision for parents and children. The author gives tips on choosing the right preschool in this section. ~Learning responsibility. Children need to learn responsibility from a very young age. To not follow through on this is to raise a child who is completely dependent on you as the parent. ~Preparing your child for school. How do you know when your child is ready for school? The author gives a list of criteria to help you in your decision. In another chapter, Brenda Nixon gives suggestions on helping your child love school. I would highly recommend The Birth to Five Book by Brenda Nixon for parents or soon-to-be parents. This book would also make a great gift.
dansmith43050 More than 1 year ago
Brenda Nixon's new book "The Birth to Five Book: Confident Childrearing Right from the Start" makes it clear to parents that it's the methods that matter. If you want childrearing techniques that help to create a successful child and a happy parent than this is the book for you. Brenda doesn't cram her pages with complicated methods that are too difficult for today's busy parents; instead the methods are clear cut and make sense from the start. She touches on not only the major issues concerning parents like development and spanking to how to choose a preschool and building social skills during the toddler years. Also, Brenda includes quick concise appendices that highlight on milestones of child development and age appropriate gifts for development and safety. As a soon-to-be new dad I found this book entertaining because Brenda has no fear in showing her own mistakes and successes in raising her two daughters. She puts you at ease and reassures you that you won't be perfect from the start, just keep trying and see what works best with your child. Childrearing should not be a daily challenge, but Nixon notes it is a journey where all parents learn to grow and become better parents. For more information and tips you can check out Brenda's website at www.brendanixon.com
SallyinAZ More than 1 year ago
Every child needs to be exposed to the finest experiences, and every parent should know how to provide them. In the Birth to Five Book Brenda provides valuable early parenting information to help you find out how to get your child off to the best start possible. Her easy-to-read style calms you as you learn to guide and support your child.