×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bite Me
     

Bite Me

4.5 119
by Shelly Laurenston
 

See All Formats & Editions

“If you enjoy laughter, witty banter and unforgettable characters in your paranormal romance, you’ll be addicted to Laurenston’s Pride series.” –RT Book Reviews, TOP PICK

Livy Kowalski has no time for idiots. When you shapeshift into a honey badger, getting through life’s irritants is a finely honed skill. Until

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bite Me 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 119 reviews.
SacKizzie More than 1 year ago
I found this series when I asked J.R. Ward fans what I should read while waiting on the next installment of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. THIS AUTHOR AND BOOKS ARE IN NO WAY SIMILAR TO THE SERIES! That being said, I was kicked out of bed by my husband at two o'clock in the morning because I could not put the first book down and I could not stop laughing. The books read like your favorite episode of Wile E. Coyote and the roadrunner. Please...PLEASE... do not let that be a deterrent from reading this series and Shelley Laurentston's Magnus Pack, because you will be missing out. BIG TIME! There's action and adventure and suspense but who cares when the shenanigans of the characters are making you howl with laughter. I cannot wait until the full story is out. I'm currently re-reading the others now in preparation and yes, I still laugh aloud.
dsubsits More than 1 year ago
Bite Me (Pride, #9) by Shelly Laurenston Livy Kowalski is a honey badger shifter that comes from a family of felons.  Vic Barinov is a bear-tiger shifter hybrid whose parents help put many of Liz’s family behind bars.  The unlikely couple work together to bring the man who killed Livy’s father to justice – the shifter way.   I love Shelly Laurenston.  Every time I read her work, I laugh so hard I cry.  Seriously, how does she come up with this stuff?  Maybe it’s because I’m an animal lover, but I adore all the quirks the different shape shifters have and how they related to the actual animal groups. One evening I was reading the scene where Livy was jousting. I was laughing so hard I was afraid I was going to wake my family up.    Vic is one of the few people that gets Livy, especially her humor, which I love.  Livy like other honey badgers is just mean.  The two together are great, complementing each other well. I love that Laurenston continues to use characters from the previous books, and I enjoy all their goofy conversations.  I don’t think I will ever get enough of Dee-Ann Smith’s wolf and Cella Malone’s tiger antics.  Plus, the books would not be the same without Blayne, she just so, well, Blayne.  Then there are the male lions and their hair.  The list goes on.  I’m so glad I discovered Shelly Laurenston years ago.  She is one of those authors whose books I reread.  If you have never read her work, you have got to do so.  Especially if you enjoy laughing.   Complimentary copy provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love how the author includes the badger's animal instinct, to crawl into a burrow-like environment in the shifter's human form, to allow the human state to find emotional comfort at a depressing time in her life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate getting into a book to find out it doesn't fully come out for a few more months. I really enjoy Shelly's storytelling and always lose myself in her books. This is just the same. Which is why I don't normally do samples; I was ready to lose myself. But there was nowhere to go. I can't wait to get my hands on this one.
Sociologically More than 1 year ago
Since I have read the Pack series and the Magnus Pack series, this little excerpt was just a tease. I wish I would have known because I would have waited until the full edition came out. I am not saying that this little part was not enjoyable, because it was, I just can't wait until I can read the whole story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cant wait April is to far!! Love the series have read all books twice! So would recommend!! B
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love, love, LOVE this author and series so much, I have had to force myself to stop re-reading her books every month.  There is no other author that I've found that can compare to Shelly Laurenston's style, humor and script. Can not get enough! And might I just add on a final note, BADGER!
northamericanwordcat More than 1 year ago
Review   A Honey Badger Shifter Heroine!!!! Honey Badger Don't Care!   I loved Livy in the Book 8 of the Pride Series and she makes a lovely leading lady here. If by lovely, you mean to be feared and I do.    There is a great deal of fun to be had in what will be the last Pride Series book for a while. The world building is strong and almost the whole cast wanders in for a spotlight. Its a funny book and wraps up several mysteries.   The conflict in the bear/cat hybrid hero is good. I wish we had a bit more of the heroine and more couple time but overall  I enjoyed the love story as a long time fan of the series.   I will admit if this wasn't one of my favorite series already, it wouldn't have hooked me.    I am excited about Laurenston's new series which takes her Gathering Girls out West.    The ennui that Livy has at the start of this romance seems to mirror some of the feelings Laurenston is having about this series. I hope the new world refreshes her love of writing and that she will come back here to give that Bear Hybrid Girl and several others their HEA.    I was given this book for my honest review. So, there you have it. 
Judy-Ree More than 1 year ago
I have been a huge fan of Shelly Laurenston back to the days when she her writing her Magnus Pack series back in 2006. So needless to say when I saw an opportunity to get this book on Goodreads, I jumped on it. This is one of my Dead Tree Keeper Shelf series, so I will be purchasing it when it releases on March 25th. This is the story of Livy and Vic. Both characters that we met in the last Pride book, Wolf with Benefits. Livy was such an awesomely unique character. Its not every day that you run across a Honey Badger. I looked her animal up after encountering her in the last book, and can I just say, "Wowzers!" Honey Badgers are the kick your ass critter of the animal world. Any animal that can survive being bitten by a pit viper and basically sleeping it off it pretty awesome!  And that describes Livy right down to the bone. She has these amazing quirks that all the Laurenston characters are known for, just ramped up another notch.  Vic on the other had is half grizzly bear and half Siberian tiger. He is former military and is now working doing freelance jobs. Vic has strong ties to the Russian communities since his parents are Russian and very involved with Interpol.  Which makes things a bit difficult since both sides of Livy's family are known high end thieves. These two characters are so perfect for one another, they seem to slide effortlessly into this amazing relationship.  It looks like this might be the last book in the series for a while, as Ms. Laurenston has stated that she plans on working on a new series and a long running story arc concludes rather quietly in this book (exactly the way the shifters prefer things). This was a fabulous book and another wonderful addition to the series. I gave it 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought I would read the beginning before bed, but it was only fifteen pages. Disappointed.
Anonymous 25 days ago
Love this series! Eagerly awaiting more books!
Anonymous 5 months ago
Great continuation of the series! Can't wait for next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a fantastic addition to a hilarious series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good mix of humor, mayhem, and spicy bits
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read. Never disatisfied with this series. Cant wait for more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the whole series...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love your books! !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read, just like Laurenston's other books in the Pride Series .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny has me outright laughing had a couple morbid parts but it had a good story line to help it along now I'm just waiting to see if Marissa get her own story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shelly I hope you write about more of the honey badger clan, it was a fantastic read and extremely humorous I got in trouble reading it in bed but you can't control the laughter it only makes you snort....I mean worse. Please keep up the good work look foreword to seeing new works. P.S please write about the honey badgers even if its a break away series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The one liners and humour continue. Fantastic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
closkot More than 1 year ago
My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!! ***Received a copy of the ebook for an honest review, but I also bought the audiobook The cover is beautiful with the white tiger though I wish it would have looked more like a hybrid :) This is the 9th book in the Pride series. I have read most of the books in this series though before I started reviewing the books I read. I really love this series! It always has family drama, fighting, love, conflict, and the good guys win (well kind of good….lol) which is the way I like it. This is Livy and Victor’s story. Livy is a strong but scary woman….err honey badger. Victor is a hybrid, and he is interesting. I am not one for giving plot details away which makes my reviews hard to write especially when I love the book. Whether reading the book or listening to the audiobook, you cannot go wrong when it is written by Shelly Laurenston. She weaves fantastic stories that are complex, and her humor always has me laughing to the point of tears. I love her style and characters. I also love that even though each story is unique and features a new couple; she always brings those characters you already love back so you don’t have to miss them :) I am a huge fan of all of her shifter books. Time is my only limiting factor :) I highly recommend this story and series to any shifter lover because you will fall in love with her characters and humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love these books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Funny and entertaining, quirky characters, and romance -- can't wait to read more by Shelly Laurenston!