×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Biting the Sun
     

Biting the Sun

4.7 15
by Tanith Lee
 

See All Formats & Editions

In a world dedicated to pleasure, one young rebel sets out on a forbidden quest—.

Published for the first time in a single volume, Tanith Lee's duet of novels set in a hedonistic Utopia are as riveting and revolutionary as they were when they first appeared two decades ago.

It's a perfect existence, a world in which no pleasure is off-limits, no risk is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Biting the Sun 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The service was ok, actually the speed of shipping was great the book arrived quickly by UPS which i'm happy about, the thing i'm NOT happy about is that the book isn't as said when I purchased it. First opened it looked great but once opened and browsed I see nothing but lines through 3/4 of the book! It looks like 15 college students went through that book at once and took a pen to it so i'm not to happy about that, whomever approved of sending that book after taking a look at it is nuts, I feel like they chose me just to get rid of one of their bad books. However it is still...mostly readable so i'll keep it and not make the hassle of returning it to get another one. Still...was fast shipping. I give them 3 stars in the end but wouldn't look to them for another book in the future.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't Bite the Sun was the first Tanith Lee book I ever read. When I found Drinking Sapphire Wine, I was ecstatic. I'm happy to see them released again for others to read. A marvelous pair of reads, funny, exasperating, sad, and finally uplifting. Drinking Sapphire Wine is Paradise Regained with a twist. The character is well-drawn and believably human.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Of all the Tanith Lee books I've read (and there are quite a few in my library) this is doubtless her greatest work. Not only does she create a vast and dazzling world in which the stories are set, but she also fleshes the characters out so much it feels a lot more like an actual autobiography. There is a great deal of realness, of visceral verisimilitude in the behavior of her characters and the world in which they live. It's probably as close to VR as a book may ever get. It is definitely a classic, although sadly underread. Considering the decade in which the component stories were written, the book was and is both timely and timeless. I've never gotten such pleasure out reading a book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Her imagination truly stretches the reader's mind. Any author who can create such a unique universe and imbue characters this far out with such deep emotion is an exquisite sapphire in a literary world over-run with zirconium baubles. I read a lot. Rarely have I loved two books as much. So what a bargain to get them both in one volume!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Omg, this book is a must have, so intricate and detailed, and yet so true to our own society.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderful, and it's fun to read. My friend thought "Biting the Sun" was better than "Drinking Sapphire Wine" but I disagree. The stories are very different, but they're equally good. I thought the main character (do they ever mention her name?) acted silly sometimes, but I adored her anyways.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is by far the most uniquely written and intelligent book I have had the pleasure of reading. I can't get enough of her world and the characters she has created. I recommend these two stories to anyone willing and who will appreciate this magnificent world Lee has created. Unlike any other I have read before.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read these books years ago as a teenager and loved them. I'm glad that they are being reprinted in a single volume because I have searched for years to find them!!! These books are GROSHING! (Read them to find out what this means.)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh my god! This book rocked my book club's minds. This book was a wonderful blend of adventure, fun, and romance. I would recommend this book to any one who loves to read and who loves sci fi mixed with fantasy.