×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bitter Blood (Morganville Vampires Series #13)
     

Bitter Blood (Morganville Vampires Series #13)

4.5 89
by Rachel Caine
 

See All Formats & Editions

For years, the human and vampire residents of Morganville, Texas, have managed to co-exist in peace. But now that the threat to the vampires has been defeated, the human residents are learning that the gravest danger they face is the enemy within…

Thanks to the eradication of the parasitic creatures known as the draug, the vampires of Morganville have

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bitter Blood: The Morganville Vampires 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
beanieboo78 More than 1 year ago
I love this series. So much so that words cannot fully express how much. This book is told from several points of view including Myrnin’s which was a huge plus for me (I love Myrnin). This book, I felt, wasn’t as good as some of the others in the series but it was still great. It started out a little slow, but the pace soon picked up and we were greeted with some good old-fashioned Morganville violence, hatred and warfare and once again its down to Claire and her friends to help save the town from the vampires, save the vampires from the town and hope that every one gets out alive. I was not a fan of the ending, but that’s because I hate when a book that I am enjoying ends, especially when I have to wait 6 months for the next instalment.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
This one was good, not a favorite but still good. Has its moments though. And liked that we got a POV chapter with Myrnin. Two more books left in the series. Really good series.
lovelysheild More than 1 year ago
In the new Morganville book it starts off with Claire who isn't in a happy mood. She got a grade she didn't like and the professor isn't around. On her way to work with Myrnin, she nearly gets hit by a police car, and then is confused about the ID he asks for. Putting it aside she gets to work,  and finds that Myrnin is a mess again. His outfit choice is odd and he made a mess of the lab. Claire is only there for a short time before she leave for her home. Still in a bad mood she arrives finding that the mail hadn't been taken in and there is another note on the door. They have been getting notes from those who hate the marriage between Michael and Eve. At this point they just start throwing them out, nothing will break them two apart. In the kitchen she drops the mail and notices they all got mail from the founder. Probably the new ID's the cop was talking about. Everyone's is the same except for Michael's, his is gold. For Shane, Claire, and Eve, they have ID's with pictures, blood types, protector info, things in case something happens to them. Oh and it's chipped. Michael's however is gold, with a letter saying that the card entitles him into one free kill and any accidents that may follow. Angry Eve tells Michael and he say's that he won't do any of that, not to mention he tried to talk to Amelie about it. What happens is that shortly Claire and Shane head out to do something about it. When plan A doesn't work, Claire and Micheal visit the founder. That plan also didn't work, so they head home and talked about everything going on. Later that night Miranda comes into Claire's room and they talk. Miranda is the new live in ghost. She is only real at night, during the day she is a ghost. Tonight she and Claire talk about how lonely she is, the new movies shes been watching and that Michael and Eve are talking. They are talking about moving into their own place to feel like a real married couple. The girls talk into the late hours. The following morning, Shane comes in with some coffee, maybe start something but Eve quickly stops that. (Shane needs to close doors) Anyway they both leave to put up posters of Monica all over the town. After they finish, they go home. Being for for maybe a few minutes before Michael and Eve bring up the moving situation. They want to move to be a real couple, but so many things come up. It's his house, so Shane and Claire should maybe get their own place. They are stronger together, and not to mention Eve may be in even more danger. People are still not keen on their situation, especially the vamps. Then what really makes the night crazy, is when Micheal pretty much wants to leave because of Miranda. She over hears them and then decides she will just leave. However she CAN leave. When Michael was a ghost he coulsn't go past the doorway, but Miranda can. She made it all the way into the street without any problems. That however didn't last very long. Before they can get her into the house, Miranda just poofs. They all go back inside and just sit around. Eve and Michael soon go upstairs, while Claire and Shane fall asleep on the couch. Hours later they hear a blast sound. Shane goes to check then comes back running. The house is on fire. Claire goes to get Eve and Michael. The girls run out back while the guys go to the front of the house and try to put out the fire. Suddenly Claire is thrown on the ground and a vamp called Pennyfeather goes after Eve. Saying if Michael won't do his job as her husband then he will. Claire quickly helps Eve before the vamp can bit her. Claire then runs into the house and gets some of their equipment. Eve throws powder at the vamps face and he is quickly taken care of. The girls run back inside, the guys already got the fire put out with only damage to the entry part of the house. Michael comes running to Eve and once they tell the guys what happened, they rush after the vamp. Leaving the girls in the house....I'll stop there, but I must say the ending is so heartfelt. I need the next book right now, because Bitter Blood has to be my FAVORITE book of them all. This book get 5 stars
BranT12 More than 1 year ago
I love this series. I'm sad it close to ending. This book was great. enjoyed the plot. I'm excited to see what happens next.
funReader24 More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly surprised by this book. My interest in the series was waning, and this really did a great job of getting my interest peaked again. Now Im hooked for the next couple
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a great book for supernatural lovers. IT IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Who knew it would be so great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It always feels like I am visiting with old friends when I read a Rachel Caine book.
calgirlNY More than 1 year ago
While this is considered a young adult series, it has a great story line and even though its not geared towards adults I cant put them down. Love Myron!
CSchwartz More than 1 year ago
I LOVE Morganville and the gang. After defeating Bishop the series seem to slow down and then when the draug come into the 11th and 12th book the series picked up again and I loved them both. I was afraid to read this one because I thought maybe that it would slow down and not be as good but I LOVED how Rachel Caine gave us a twist towards the end with Michael and Claire. Ahhhhhh! I had to put down the book and just repeat in my head “Oh my gosh, oh my gosh…” I was crying and just really surprised! If you have read other Morganville books you should definitly read this one!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i loved it!!!!! best one yet! i just know im gonna cry when book 15 comes out. i really hope myrnin finds loves he is defiantly my favorite character.
sNevels More than 1 year ago
These books are amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much cant wait till the next one this book needs more than five stars
MyndiL More than 1 year ago
I wish I hadn't been so busy when I started this book so I could have read it faster, or at least more of it at a time. I think it would have flowed better if I could have read it all at once, or even over the course of a couple of days. That being said, I still loved it. My heart is breaking though, and I'm not sure how I'm going to manage to wait until I can read the next book. Claire and the others have managed to fix a problem in Morganville again, but with devastating side effects. The cliffhanger at the end of this edition is more "what will happen with Claire" than any of the rest have been so far. The villain in this book was so evil, that they trumped all previous "villains" in other volumes. Think how much Potterheads hate Umbridge more than Voldemort, that's how much I hated this villain. If you're a fan of Morganville, definitely pick up this book, but you might want to have tissues, and you definitely need to prepare yourself for being on the edge of your seat, holding your breath, and a broken heart!
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
     I wanted to read this one because I had to find out how things were going to change in Morganville. Honestly, was a little wary of the whole tv show angle, because I feel like we've been there before, but I have faith in Rachel.      As it turns out, the biggest issue in the beginning of the book was the changes in Amelie. She seems to have done a big turn around and there are some new and worrying laws and changes being passed. It feels like Claire is pretty hopeless at first, but she is already working on something with Myrnin that shows promise.      With Miranda being a ghost comes in the tv show angle, and that was something that I hadn't really considered. She has always been a little weird and not had many people that hung out with her, and you can see her loneliness especially trapped with two sets of happy couples.     If that storm wasn't enough, the marriage of Michael and Eve has given them new enemies, from both sides--human and vamp. Michael is one of the only vamps that are standing up to the changes which makes it harder for them to fight what's going on.      As usual, the plot and pacing is great. She spends just enough time to give details, set up the next scene, and develop our characters. The romance is great again, and I love Shane and Claire, their devotion to each other, their concern from them.      Monica is a new again player in this one. She is lonely since her brother's passing, and she is noticing the changes and not liking the direction of any of them. So they form an unlikely alliance with the Glass house.      There were a lot of things that went down at the end of the book that had me going wait, what? are you serious? No! Betrayals, mistrust, misunderstandings, new problems for Morganville, and some shake up. I can't wait for the next one and see where it all leads.  Bottom Line: Woah. The unexpected came in this one. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sits drinking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm in love with this series, its romantic and action pack it also keeps you guessing on some parts. My favorite characters are Eve, Clair, Michael, and Shane but my favorite vampire is Myrin ( he's so adorable)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago