×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Black Boy
  • Alternative view 1 of Black Boy
  • Alternative view 2 of Black Boy
     

Black Boy

4.2 188
by Richard Wright, Edward P. Jones (Foreword by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

This incredible bestselling classic is Richard Wright's unforgettable and eloquent autobiography of growing up in the Jim Crow South.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Black Boy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 188 reviews.
Kathy-B More than 1 year ago
Want to know in depth detail about the life of a typical of an African American boy growing up in the 1920's? Well this is the book for you. "Black Boy" is an autobiography of author Richard Wright, and his life growing up. Read as he goes in full detail of his harsh life at home vs. his everyday life trying to keep up and cope with the society. Wright reveals the real action that would go on in a typical broken African American home. However, violence was not the only conflict he had to deal with. Because of his family's dedication to Religion, Wright had to assemble that in along with his behaviors-Wright always chose not to. From stealing to getting a new job every week, Wright makes sure the reader does not want to put the book down. A definitely must read!
Krzykrnkln More than 1 year ago
In America today, it would be insulting to say, "Hey you, black boy!" to call an African-American child. So when I first read the title of this book, I knew it was going to be about racism. And one of the book's main theme turned out to be about it. I read this book because it was my school requirement, and before I read it, I thought to myself, 'Ehh, just another book about racism.' Interestingly, this autobiography opened up my mind, changing my view drastically about the life of African-Americans during early 1900s. Before reading the book, I thought only rights, like voting, were denied to African-Americans. However, it was waaaaaaay more than that. Not only the rights were denied, the majority of white in America impacted African-Americans psychologically, discouraging them from rising up in status. Through out this book, the main character struggles through the segregated America to achieve what other few African-American tried during this period, equality. The author's diction is easier than I thought it would've been, and sometimes I stayed up till midnight reading this because it was simply attracting. I strongly recommend reading this autobiography to the young generation.
Ema_C_13 More than 1 year ago
A boy can only go through so much. Or can he? Black Boy is a compelling autobiography describing all the struggles and hardships of Richard Wright’s life. Richard deals with many issues (which are the main themes of the book) including racism, religious beliefs, choosing between right and wrong, and trust issues. From an early age Richard has struggled. At a young age, Wright set his house on fire, his father left his family helpless, and he and his brother were forced into an orphanage because their mother could no longer provide for them. This sets up his life of fighting to find enough money to support himself and all of his family- in a world full of racism. Richard has a passion for writing and reading-will it break him or make him? Richard must learn to deal with this chaos he calls life, but he trusts no one and will take help from nobody. I really enjoyed the autobiography Black Boy, but I thought it got slower towards the end. I would highly recommend this book to high schoolers, because it provides detailed insight into Richard’s life, and gives a clear understanding of his hardships including racism. It includes clear and crisp stories of his life, with very vivid imagery. The book will certainly keep them on their toes and keep them reading- what will happen to Richard next? I loved the fact that so many major events were packed into the book, but that minor events were also included to support overall ideas and provide further explanation into the significance of each event. Imagery was present in every page, and it felt as if you were living through the book with Richard himself, partaking in his journey. I found myself clinging to each word, undecidedly feeling that I did like Richard, then a couple pages later thinking about how I despised him. In the end, I liked him, and that maybe I just didn’t like some of his choices. Either way, there is certainly enough to read and understand about his life. However, I felt the book didn’t provide enough detail about some of the other characters (yes, I know, it was an autobiography, but still) such as Richard’s father, mother, and brother and at times felt confused when other family members were mentioned (aunts and uncles). Also, mentions of certain jobs felt unimportant and unnecessary, as they were briefly mentioned, and soon replaced by another job. Some parts got very religious as well, just as a forewarning. My overall rating of this book would be probably an 8.5/10. Like previously mentioned, it was a very good book that kept me reading and turning the page, but had a few issues that were quite bothersome (that is my own opinion). If you like this book, I would suggest checking out a few of Richard Wright’s other book such as Eight Men: Short Stories or Uncle Tom’s Children. Certainly consider reading Black Boy, I doubt you’ll regret it.
Rachel363 More than 1 year ago
When I got the list of books that I had to read for my upcoming school year Black Boy By Richard Wright was not one of the books that stuck out to me. When it came time in the year to start reading it I fell in love with this story of an astounding mans life. From the very first page you feel sympathetic for Richard and his younger brother, Alan. Immediately you see how their parents raise them with a strong fist. As Richard grows up he is forced to deal with harsh parents, grandparents, teachers and white bosses but that never discourages him. His will power to keep moving forward and learning is truly inspirational. Richard Wright writes in a non-exaggerated way that clearly shows the harassment and persecution this man had to endure his whole life. His describes his situation with the perfect amount of detail so you are aware of his surroundings but it is not overbearing. It forces you to go through an emotional rollercoaster that I would ride any day! For all you people who thinks this book would not apply to you, you could not be more wrong. I am a privileged white girl with caring parents and teachers and friend always there to help but I was still able to find more similarities to Richard than most would expect. During his childhood he struggled with fitting in when he changed from school to school, that is an emotion that anyone would feel. If they were going to a new school, job, or even a party. At his job he encounters abnormal coworkers, which any person can relate to. I guarantee that any person could pick up this book and find a least one commonality with their life. That is a huge reason it is such a great read! It also gives great topic discussions so it's perfect for a class, book club or simply bonding with a friend. Once you pick up this book you will not be able to put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Black Boy was interesting, but it seemed to me that Richard would keep going backwards even when it appeared he was moving forward. For this reason the plot, to me, seemed to be very repetitive but with different characters. It was fun noticing the differences between Richard the character and Wright the author, I wouldn't really recommend this book but I'm sure there's plenty of other people that would.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book. Would read it over and over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating and horrifying look at racial prejudice in the 1920`s south told through the eyes of an unlikely eyewitness - a self-educated black intellectual. Wright`s stark depiction of the sordid and cruel worlds of both blacks and whites make riveting reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are interested in reading about what life was like for a black boy in the deep south in the 20's, then this book is a must read for you. I was surprised in his Communist connections later in his life while living in Chicago.
morgantrujillo More than 1 year ago
The Black Boy by Richard Wright is a powerful autobiography of Richard’s young life. He faces long and challenging areas in his life in the south with the Jim Crow Laws. Richard is the narrator of the entire book relating to his life as a young child. The perspective is from a small child’s point of view growing up in the world as a black boy. During this story Richard starts off living with his mother, grandmother and brother in a small house. The house is then caught on fire by Richard forcing the family to move to Jackson. While in Jackson Richard’s mom got ill and was near death. In the beginning Richard was not aware of much that was going on in the world around him and had not realized that there was a problem with racial problems between the blacks and the whites. In the book Richard began to selling papers not realizing what the papers had inside of them. The text explains how a black man showed what he had been selling in this quote, “Well, the paper you’re selling preaches the Ku Klux Klan doctrines,” (131). Richard, as a young boy had not yet realized that he had been working for the white’s against the blacks. Richard only knew small parts of what had been going on, and that was that white’s particularly did not care for the blacks unless for work. Richard’s family was never happy with him and his beliefs. Because of that he was always being beaten by his family. In the text he explains how his Uncle Tom was very angry with him trying to beat him, “This day I’m going to give you a whipping some ought to have given you long ago,” (157). Richard grew up in a very unsupportive household. Throughout the years Richard lands a few part time jobs trying to make enough money to make it on his own. By the time graduation comes along he stole money making his way to the north. Richard was horrified with his crime, but he had to do it to make his life better. Richard makes it to Memphis where he started his life. His life does not change much, but leads him to a better life. In the end Richard realizes that he still wants to be a writer and flees to Chicago making his life better.
eatea More than 1 year ago
Richard Wright can never dissapoint. This non-fiction novel is even better than Native Son even though it does not have such a thrilling story line. The way he writes captivates the reader in a way that one will not want to put the book down. Learning about the past in his perspective is enthralling and amusing to read about.
Avabell 4 months ago
Want to learn about the Struggles of Young African American and How he Lived through Racism in the 1920’s? This is your book. I really enjoyed Black Boy by Richard Wright. It’s a book about overcoming suffering and finding your true self in the process. Richard Wright grew up with a suffering family, moving place to place trying to survive. Richard was abused, starved, worked, and abandoned. Even in a world like his, he was a smart man who loved to write and he rarely gave in to racism and abuse. He faced many demoralizing racial encounters with whites and even had to abandon his morals to survive. But he never gave up on writing and knew it was his connection to the world.I liked the narration and how his specific memories connects to so many others out there who face racial discrimination and abuse in the 1920’s. I didn't like how he added his connection with the communist party, since that's a whole other topic he could have wrote a separate book about that experience. If you are someone who enjoys reading about overcoming segregation this is a good book for you. There are many themes and lessons to learn from this book, like overcoming hardships and finding beauty in a world full of ugliness and neglect. This memoir would make a great movie. There are so many movies about the 1800’s and slavery, but there need to be more about the later years of segregation and racism. This book taught me to find beauty in life, rise above suffering and don’t let anyone get in the way of what you want to do. I think this would make a great film.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you, Richard.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can someone plz lend this to me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blood. I-I would really like to be your alpha female. Please.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can join.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very good book i hope u enjoy it. Becuase my group enjoyed alot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OH MY GOD! WHY THE H*** WOULD YOU TAP? YOU ARE A DISOBEDIANT CHILD. JUST GO TO THE F***ING CORNER AND STAY THERE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could anyone lend it to me?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In class you have learned about the slavery and racial remarks during the Civil War, but have you ever learned about what happened afterwards.  In the extraordinary novel Black Boy by Richard Wright, the author attempts and succeeds in recalling the e vents in which his African American family had endured after the Civil War had ended.  In this book Richard is a young boy but ha trouble in school and in church.   The majority of the book consists of the life that Richard and his family had to live during the early 1900’s.  Most of their life consisting of racial slurs and the mistreating of the so called “Blacks.”  I enjoyed this great book because as a young African American boy, I enjoy reading about how my ancestors lived, and it reminds me that I am so blessed to live in a time where  blacks are treated the same as the Whites.  Another reason why I loved this book is because the author does an amazing job of retelling his families obstacles and barriers d during their time.  I would recommend this book to anyone who is strongly intrigued by the life of African Americans after the Civil War.  Preferably anyone who is a teenager or older should be able to handle the contents of this book.