×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Black Cherry Blues (Dave Robicheaux Series #3)
     

Black Cherry Blues (Dave Robicheaux Series #3)

4.2 35
by James Lee Burke
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the Edgar award for best novel

Evil crept into Dave Robicheaux's bayou world one night and destroyed the woman he loved. Now it's threatening the life of his innocent child.

Framed for murder, the Cajun ex-cop is traveling far from his Louisiana home to clear his name, to help a friend, to save what remains of his family—seeking justice

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Black Cherry Blues (Dave Robicheaux Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A friend suggested I read Burke's books a few months ago, so I'm just 'new' to the Robicheaux series...I started with the first book of the series and I will read them all. Robicheaux can't help himself, he's so human, complex, devout in his faith, compassionate, but just don't mess with him - you have to like him. And in all the drama and chaos in Robicheaux's life Burke writes so beautifully and describes every minute detail, is so descriptive of the human element and nature's surroundings at the same time. When Burke describes the dreams of Robicheaux, the fishing camps, his past, the countryside - its the best I've ever read. I couldn't put the book down. Burke tells a good, suspensful drama.
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Lee Burke is by far one of the best authors I have ever read. His descriptive narrative is so wonderful that you can almost smell, see, and taste everything his characters experience. From this book I was hooked, and with each book, it only gets better!
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
This trade paperback reprint brings back an early Dave Robicheaux novel (first published in 1989) in which he travels from his native Louisiana to Montana to escape his guilt over the murder of his wife. Of course, the familiar territory is covered: his attendance at AA meetings, care for an adopted refugee girl from El Salvador, among other things. A land-hungry oil company is pitted against the interests of a Blackfoot reservation, and when two American Indian activists disappear, Dave’s investigation puts him squarely in the sights of mafia thugs and the oil interests. Also, he enters into a romance with Darlene American Horse, his ex-partner’s girlfriend. The broad sweep of the story helps Dave relieve the demons of his grief, loss, fear, rage and need for vengeance. And the author shows how graphically and wonderfully he can write about the broad vistas of Montana’s red cliffs and tree-line hills, as well as the accustomed bayous of Louisiana, and the multi-ethnic aspects of the United States. Recommended.
WaukeshaPhoenix More than 1 year ago
This man can really write. Can't tell you how many times I've been disappointed in books I've started, finding the writing amateurish, or the characters hollow. Mr. Burke PUTS you there, be it Louisiana, or in this one, Montana, with all the sights, smells, sounds, and sensations. His characters are fascinating, whether good guys or bad. This book is the best one so far, so I will be excited to start the next.
SamiO More than 1 year ago
If you have ever visited Louisiana, before or after Katrina and her tag along, this Author will keep you coming back for more and more and more. No where have descriptions caused me to buy so many books! He is a master of description and his characters are more than true to life. I salute you, James Lee Burke. My husband and I are planning a trip to New Orleans and most of the other places you speak of in you books. He lived there, I have visited many times. I wish I had read your books... too many years ago, to have done so... but I would really have enjoyed my visits more. Thank you. cm
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Burke's books are good, but SOOOO long!  And the angst!  Burke and Robert B Parker had to have a corner on soul-searching.   It's a good book, but my eyes have writers cramp, and the tedium of the self analysis almost overwhelms me at times.  I'll probably keep on reading these books, but I won't buy them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RichardSutton More than 1 year ago
<b>Ghosts, Flaws, Weakness and Gumbo. Enough to go around.</b> I began at the end of the series, and have finally gotten back to the beginning. For readers new to James Lee Burke, it's not an absolute necessity, but for this reader, it make the overall meal much tastier. If you like your Main Characters cut from whole human being cloth, you will not find many who do it better than Mr. Burke. Dave Robicheaux is so fully formed, you'll swear you shared a joke with him last week at the bait shop. The folks he loves, the ones he misses, the ones he wished he was missing, are all equally defined and equally annoying at times. They are all combating scores of personal, very understandable demons and have nevertheless gotten themselves into predictable, poor situations and relationships that serve them anyway but well. The writing is crisp and the plot carries the reader along on one absorbing journey after another. That's another consummate skill of this storyteller -- in a very few words, Burke can transport a reader into a setting so completely you can hear the crickets outside. If South Louisiana is a favorite destination for you, or also in this case, the Northern Rockies in Montana, you'll find few other writers who can capture the milieu more completely. As far as the characters who slide and do battle across these pages, you'll remember each and every one -- no toss-away people in these stories. Redemption is as redemption does. It comes for some and not for others, just like life. Reading Burke for me has become a vacation taken inexpensively, when necessary. Plan to visit yourself, soon, y'hear?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BECBEC61 More than 1 year ago
Loved It!!! Great Read!!!
Goofygirll More than 1 year ago
If you like this series I would recommend this one too. It is just as good as the rest have been. I am now one the 4th in the series and will continue reading them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago