×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Black House
     

Black House

4.0 342
by Stephen King, Peter Straub
 

See All Formats & Editions

Twenty years ago, a boy named Jack Sawyer travelled to a parallel universe called The Territories to save his mother and her Territories "twinner" from a premature and agonizing death that would have brought cataclysm to the other world. Now Jack is a retired Los Angeles homicide detective living in the nearly nonexistent hamlet of Tamarack, WI. He has no

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Black House 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 342 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're a fan of The Talisman and The Dark Tower series, this is the book for you. I agree with most of the people on here, it does start a little slow in the beginning, but if you continue past that then you are most definitely in for a treat. The plot is dense and gruesome, each twist and turn completely unexpected. By the time I finished I was unable to sleep with some terribly gruesome images spinning in my head. A great tale, possibly even better than The Talisman (which I absolutely adored).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wait til it is cheaper. Not worth 12 bucks. Not at all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can understand other people's thoughts (it's moving too slow and the jargon), but actually after the first chapter, which I had to urge myself to get through, it starts to pick up a litte. A lot of it is truly gruesome and this is the first book to hit me on such an emotional level. The Marshall wife's torment and the sinister Charles Burnside only start it off. Four stars only because of the extremely slow beginning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You're never going to go completely wrong when buying a book written by Stephen King, but this one isn't one of his better efforts. His collaboration with Peter Straub worked much better with The Talisman. Here, the voice of the narrator is so odd, it's off-putting.  I just couldn't lose myself in the story. It also takes quite awhile to get going, taking a very leisurely time setting up the characters and town. If you want to try King at his best, go with something like It, 'Salem's Lot, or The Stand instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is very slow at first and dare I say a tad boring but if you can get bast the first 100–150 pages it is well worth it.
greenjab More than 1 year ago
Well kind readers I'de just like to say that this Stephen King book is sub-par as far as I'm concerned....You start reading and you get to abut page 100 and you find yourself saying "WHERE IS HE GOING WITH THIS"....THE STYLE OF WRITING SEEMS TO BE IN THE 3RD PERSON ABOUT HALF THE TIME WHICH SEEMS A LITTLE MIXED UP TO ME....And I'm telling you by the time you get to around page 200 you may just put the book down for good....King and Straub may have had an idea where they were going but to me they were just writing plain old filler....I read a lot fokes and flat out this is not an easy read, you almost haft to write down on a piece of paper all the people they have in this book, just try to keep track of 25 people in this book and you will see what I mean....Oh well to each there own I guess.
DogsitterKA More than 1 year ago
I've told a few of my friends to get this book as it keeps you on the edge of your seat. I hated to put it down as I wanted to know what was going to happen next. Excellent reading!
Anonymous 6 months ago
I am an avid King reader and have recently gone back to read books I missed over the years. I read Talisman and was thrilled was Black House (Talisman #2). Both excellent. I won't rehash the story here. Read both, you'll be glad you did. I was hoping there is a Talisman #3. Enjoy!
Anonymous 9 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Answered so many questions from so many stories. I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Almost 4 bucks for a book with less than 60 pages? Would have been nice to know before I wasted my money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me reading it even as I could'nt keep my eyes open. Scared the bejeebas out of me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only 3/4 through it, but I find myself skipping a lot. Good story, but long. Normally love all of King's stuff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Connection to dark tower. I likey
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty twisted!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a great read! But read The Talisman first or you will have no idea what is going on! Lots of dark tower tie ins too! Perfect blend of murder mystery, fantasy, & stephen kings dark tower mythos! \m/-_-\m/ a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago