×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Black White & Jewish
     

Black White & Jewish

4.5 23
by Rebecca Walker
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Civil Rights movement brought author Alice Walker and lawyer Mel Leventhal together, and in 1969 their daughter, Rebecca, was born. Some saw this unusual copper-colored girl as an outrage or an oddity; others viewed her as a symbol of harmony, a triumph of love over hate. But after her parents divorced, leaving her a lonely only child ferrying between two

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Black White & Jewish 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book, to me, was similar to The Color of Water because of the mere fact that people who are mixed are sometimes confused or lost on where and who they fit in society. That's why it's important to love yourself first, before loving someone else.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was amazed on how honestly Rebecca felt about living with both parents separately. Her dad who is Jewish, and masking herself as a conserved Jewish white girl. Then shifting gears and living with her mom an African American, feminist, civil rights author who felt Rebecca should be independent and treated her like a sister more than a daughter. When Rebecca was with her mother she tried to be tough, independent Rebecca but doesn't really feel she belongs. She gets the same feeling growing up with her dad and trying to be something she is only half. In her youth she never really felt complete. Rebecca's up and downs of going to schools as the black and white girl affect her tremindously and shaped her to being the person she is today.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so inspiring to me. I had no idea the kind of hardships that mixed people go through. The style in which she wrote this book was just amazing. I loved it so much. I just couldnt put it down until I finished it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although well written, this story is basically unappealing. Walker never comes across as someone who is really interesting in her own right. One rarely gets the feeling of her mixed "identities" as being in a creative tension, or as having a serious effect on the conduct of her life. Instead, she comes across as an indulged child of divorce, private schools and Yale - so what's new?
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed in this book. The author focused almost exclusively on the negative attributes of her youth. Yet you know all along she had an incredibly famous mother and she herself ended up at Yale! Something good must have happened to her! Her continual focus on sex, drugs and misbehaving as a young teen diminish her story. It often sounded to me like typical teen bragging. Why didn't she spend more time talking about the private school community that evidently provided the background of her success? Many young people are confused about their idenity, and divorce, mixed families, and traveling back and forth between families is a fact for many young people. I'd rather read what leads young people out of the quagmire and on to productivity, not about how badly they misbehaved before they grew up and accepted responsibility for themselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice warm fireplace with pojemon stadium rigged to hold beywheelz aand in the middle is b daman crosfire and beyraiderz wih tvs in the stadium and a playable wii u with mario kart eight and nintendo lannd.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You are awesome. You hate 1D and bustin jieber!!!" :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is at 'soldier' res 4
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name~ Savvy <p> Age~ 14 just turned 14 March 12 <p> Looks~ Grayblue eyes. Brown hair. Pale skin. Plump lips. Thin. 4'9. <p> Boyfriend~ Brice. <p> Family~ Brice, Anna 2 years old and Logan a day old our newest edition.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jewelia- Age: 16. Gender: Female. Appearance: Light brown long hair. Blue eyes. 5' 10". Personality: Fun, loving, caring, kind, different, exciting, fierce, and hard working. History: ask if you must. Tommy- Age: 17. Gender: Male. Appearance: light brown hair with green eyes. 6' 5". Personality: Fun, different, loyal, kind, and smart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi! I suppose I should get on with it now. Allons-y! <p> Name: Treble. I don't use my last name unless I have to. If you really must know, just ask. (And BTW, it is NOT Clef.) <br> Gender: I AM A GIRL. DON'T YOU DARE CALL ME A BOY OR I WILL DO THE HONORS OF BASHING YOUR FACE IN. <br> Age: 427. I appear to be somewhere around the age of 14. I'll probably rub it in all of your faces if its my birthday XD <br> Appearance: Brown-black hair, violet eyes (yes I look somewhat Ender-like, haters gonna hate), pale skin. Thin, ish. I usually wear the Doctor's fantastical trench coat (he gave it to me, looong story), a white shirt with a collar, black leggings, Converse, a dark purple bow tie, a fez and black-rimmed, rectangular glasses. If not, it's usually a t-shirt and or something. I carry a silver bow and arrows sometimes. <br> Personality: I'm not quite sure. I just regenerated, after all. Talk to me and we might just find out. <br> Likes: The Doctor, Doctor Who, Minecraft, Anime, Doctor Who, caramel, cookies, caramel cookies, Doctor Who, music, peace, fish fingers and custard, Doctor Who, Percy Jackson, Hunger Games, etc. <br> Dislikes: One Direction (eeeuuurgh), Justin Bieber, Justin Timerlake (I'm sorry, Timberlake fans), kiddie stuff, war, the Master, the Daleks, Cybermen, Weeping Angels, the Silence, Judoon, Sontarans (except Strax), Slitheen, Vashta Nerada and other various Doctor Who monsters, etc. <br> History: I am a Time Lord from the planet Gallifrey of the constellation Kasterborous. I am known to the Time Lords as the Musician, the Healer and the Archer. I fought in the Time War, then injured my leg and worked as the Healer. In the end, I fled with the Doctor. I regenerate when I am near death and change my appearance in the process, but I can only regenerate 12 times, which means 13 new faces. I am the Fifth Musician, the Fifth Healer, and the Fifth Archer. I travel time and space in my TARDIS, a living ship that is bigger on the inside. TARDIS stands for Time And Relative Dimension In Space. If you are confused, just ask. I don't mind, not really.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name:Zendaya Rose Andrews//age:16//Gender:female duh//hair:brow long curly//eyes:grees with fleks of blue//status:single//crush:none//likes:choclate,dancing,BOTDF,flowers,figure skateing//dislkies:one direction, justin bieber, snakes// anything else just ask:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful read. Walker is funny and descriptive in her childhood experiences. Her writing style allows me to drift back with her as she recounts the styles and songs of the 80's. Her depiction of numerous addresses gives insight to her strength, maturity, and intellegence. For me this memoir was an autobiography of a 'found' self.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I bought this book, my purchase was solely based on the cover. But after a boring friday night of no sleep I picked it up and entered the emotional world of an ethnically frustrated and socially confused woman. Rebecca Walker's story is not only unique but familiar to anyone who came across a time in their life when they needed to find out who they truely are. I would recommend this book to anyone, and in fact I have... I work at a bookstore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hon Approdite doesnt want any of her children Posiedon he cares about us .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If u wanna talk to her shes with me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
R u single?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Brice Age: 16 Birthday: June 28 Looks: reddish hair, brown eyes, 5' 11" Girlfriend: Savanah aka Savvy Family: Savvy, Anna 2 years old, Logan one day old