×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Black Widow (Doc Ford Series #15)
     

Black Widow (Doc Ford Series #15)

4.1 37
by Randy Wayne White
 

See All Formats & Editions

A cult of death.
A weapon of apocalyptic horror.
Juan Cabrillo must stop them both.

THE ?FASCINATING?( BOOKLIST) NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Some women you love.
Some women you hate.
Some women you survive.

Doc Ford is drawn into a deadly battle when his goddaughter Shay is blackmailed. Someone filmed her at an

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Black Widow (Doc Ford Series #15) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars. This was my first RWW book, and I found it so thoroughly enjoyable, I read it in one day. Many works of fiction include fact based information, but Black Widow includes history, biology and geography lessons as well. RWW writing skills and imagination are showcased superbly with plot twists that are not all predictable. Don't pick this title up until you know you have several hours all to yourself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Black Widow' is another winner in Randy Wayne White's Doc Ford Series. Just before her marriage into a wealthy, socially prominent family, Ford's goddaughter Shay Money is targeted by blackmailers after a particularly wild bachelorette weekend where she may have been drugged and then taped doing shameful things. Ford is enlisted to deliver the hush money, but when he suspects that things won't end there, he takes a trip down to the Caribbean island of St Arc, scene of his goddaughter's unfortunate antics. There, he finds a voodoo priestess who is running the sophisticated blackmail ring that has put more than a few unsuspecting (and rich) women into compromising positions and then bled them of cash. In trying to free Shay from her predicament, Ford teams up with a rakish, older English gentleman who regards himself as a defender of the innocent, not to mention a descendent of the Knights Templar, and may be, like Ford himself, a former special-ops agent. Voodoo priestess? Templar Knights? Sounds hokey, but with White's interesting characters and fast-moving plot it's all great fun. Also recommended: 'A STRANGER LIES THERE' - this mystery won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story could happen to any female and no doubt was based on some similiar incident. White keeps you guessing and trying to stay ahead of the twists and turns. A great, quick read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was originally attracted to the Doc Ford series by such excellent titles as 'Ten Thousand Islands' and 'Shark River', with fast paced story lines that take place in 'Doc Ford country'. Later works tended to be a little over-the-top and/or included too much philosophizing in the narrative. This book is suspenseful, with a more involved story line and less self-analysis. And maybe a little over the top at times also. But a fast read with well drawn characters and a compelling storyline. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again Randy Wayne White has proven himself to be one of the finest writers. Black Widow is a terrific read and I enjoyed it. The Doc Ford Series just keeps getting better. My advice is to read them all and in the order they were written.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a good one to pass the time at an airport or at the beach. I wouldn't be looking for deep answers to the questions of life, but it was pretty entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dragged at times. The predictable happened.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LLSCA More than 1 year ago
Every Doc Ford book is great!
Andrew_of_Dunedin More than 1 year ago
This is the 15th novel in the Doc Ford series. If you've read any of the other 14, you know pretty much what to expect: A little hanging out in Dinkin's Bay, a little marine biology, a little ocean / Caribbean travel … and a little romance and a little understated sex (not necessarily the same thing) and a little understated mayhem and violence. If you like that, you'll like this. If you do not … fill in the blanks. Tomlinson does not play as large a role in this book as he does in most of the others. Instead, Ford is assisted in his mission on St. Joan of Arc's (shortened to St. Arcs) by “Sir James”, a retired British officer living on St. Lucia (with broad hints that he may be another British “Sir James” of literary espionage – and lots of movies – fame). I found this frustrating; it felt like the author simply didn't know where to take our favorite supporting character, so he simply decided to replace him with a polar opposite. (Better than killing him off, I suppose; there's always a chance he'll return to a more powerful role in the future.) I know what I like about Doc Ford novels, and this contained those aspects of the previous books in the series. I credit the author for attempting to keep things fresh by bringing in a new supporting character; I hope he'll grow on me in future books in the series. (After all, I have to admit that Tomlinson didn't exactly grab me when we first “met”, either.) Rating: 3 1/2 stars, rounded up to 4 stars where applicable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NICE READING FOR SOMETHING ELSE TO DO