×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blackbird: A Childhood Lost and Found
     

Blackbird: A Childhood Lost and Found

4.7 19
by Jennifer Lauck
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this moving and engaging memoir, Jennifer Lauck tells the painful story of her life from age 5 to age 12. The story is thick with tragedy, mistreatment, flawed adults both loving and hateful, and the painful struggle with loneliness-and explores the unfathomable resources of a 10-year-old child forced to the limits of human emotional endurance.

In frank,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blackbird 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. Lauck is a wonderful author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was an amazing journey into Ms. Lauck's childhood. Hard to put down, it hooked me for the night and day it took to read it. BLACKBIRD may at times seem unbelievable,but there are more "lost kids"--then and now--than any of us care to believe. Her story is a powerful antidote to the existential angst so prevalent among the current middle and upper class (why CAN'T I get a tattoo?) Still, the author never allows self-pity or grandiosity. I was reminded of the film "Requiem for a Dream" as I read this book. Far too many people comfort themselves with the idea that such things couldn't happen in our community, but as a fellow survivor (of less harrowing but still awful circumstances), I can assure you, such things happened then and are still happening now. May her book make us as caring adults more sensitive to children who might need help, even when helping is difficult to do. Ms. Lauck is a gifted writer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When reading this, I could see the little girl, it is a wonderful book.I simply could not put this book down, I was gripped from page one! I read it in two days, much of it through blurred tears though many times laughing out at Jenny. I was outraged a child should have to endure all she did with no one there to help her and no one on her side. This is an extremely well-written, excellent and unforgettable book!! Thank you Ms. Lauck for sharing your story. You are truly a remarkable person. I cannot remember the last time I came across a book that has affected me so profoundly or one I have found myself thinking about so much long after it was finished. This and the story SECRETS IN THE NIGHT, are page turners.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one sitting. I felt that this book was one of the best books that i have come across in many years. It is so utterly sad and depressing. Hopefully the author was saved by her family in the end. My question is tho.. where were these aunts and uncles and grandarents when jennifer and b.j were being denied and abused by deb? This story will stay with me for a long time. It broke my heart. From the child being the nurse to the mom to the father dying and the cruel weird stepmother sending her to that home.. sadness permeated thru out i am loooking forward to the next book by this author
Guest More than 1 year ago
Blackbird was an incredible story. The reading was smooth and flowing, easy to follow, but difficult to put down. Jennifer's story of her childhood, the people she dealt with, and her experiences are unbelieveable. I've felt like I've met an amazing person and would like to know more about her.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really did enjoy this book...I loved her detail and the way she explained the book was very vivid. It was like I was right there with her. She defintely had some troubled times and I would have killed her step mother.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book takes you on a journey about alittle girl who starts out to be a child, but is a confused adolescent. This book captivates your mind and the suspense holds you to the end. You ask yourself, how can a bewildered girl keep her head above the waves that are tossed at her and still have smile to put into words.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I felt Jenny's pain, loneliness, fear, deep need to be able to give and receive love, and her determination to 'make it' in spite of circumstances she had no control over. I also had a difficult childhood. I could identify with her need to 'belong', and to have the love of a family. God bless you, Jennifer, and thank you for sharing your early life with us. You will never be able to put the past behind you completely, as who we are today is influenced by our past, but you can (I hope, do) have a good life in spite of it. Hang on to the wonderful memories you have of your Mother and your Father. I hope your relationship with your brother is a loving one now.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i got this book a week ago and could not put it down. the book has a little about almost everyones childhood. i gave the book to my mom to read and i hope everyone reads it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So many losses for this little girl to endure was hard to take. I could feel her heartache and wanted so desperately for someone to sooth and comfort her. So well written I felt as though I was by her side through the whole story. I can't wait for the sequel. This is the first book that we will discuss in our new book club.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I received this book as a Christmas gift after seeing it and talking about it to my husband. At the time I saw it I didn't want to spend the extra money because it was Christmas. This book is wonderful, I couldn't put it down. I truly devour books, and this book is in my top 3 of all time. I cannot wait until the sequel, there are some injustices that must be righted (the summer camp and the stepmother) Run, beg, borrow, this book, guarantee even the slowest reader will finish this book in days. I truly know the characters in this book and so will you, they are unforgettable. Loved the endearment 'your bursting with style'
Guest More than 1 year ago
through the eyes of the child, yet articulated through the mind of the adult child. I read this book in two days with a huge lump in my throat the entire time. I cannot wait until the sequel! A must read for everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was wonderful. I could not put it down. It is amazing how Lauck talks about the painful time she went through as a child.She is truly amazing. Adult women from all areas could relate well to this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One day I was watching Oprah and saw this book with the author. She explained about her life. I knew then I needed to read it! I went to my local library to find out it was to knew for them to have it. After 3 weeks they found the book. I read it in a week. I've never read anything more sad in all the books I've read. I felt like I could help her. I like how she describes everything like you're there in the room with her. This is also a very sad book. I can't wait till the sequel!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What an amazing spirit this little girl had...I couldn't put this book down. Thank you, Jennifer, for sharing your story. I have never written a book review before, but had to stress that this book simply must be read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read it originally because it was about a young girl who loses a mother and my mother had died at a young age. This book would appeal to anyone,however, not just someone who has lost a parent. It is a compelling story and one that really holds ones attention. It is a sad story, although not as sad as Angela's Ashes, and one that makes you feel a part of the book. After reading the book, I wanted to track down this girls stepmother and ask how she could have done this to this child.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Would find myself just crying as I read, unaware that I was even crying, just like Jenny. I wanted to grab her take her away and hug her, hold her on my lap and rock her. Why?? WHY was there no one there for her. Excellent read, hard to put down. Reads as if from the childs point of view,Wonderful job Jenny!
Guest More than 1 year ago
a real feel good
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. The detail was so vivid. I had trouble putting it down, I just kept wondering what was going to happen next. The end leaves you wondering about how this courageous little girl turned out. I look forward to her sequel.